We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jaglia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jaglia to your Saves list
Riad Jaglia
Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #537 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
amsterdam,
Level Contributor
1 review
“Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We've spend one week at this lovely, clean and beautiful decorated Riad in the middle of the Medina. It's not easy to find but the owner, Jean Christophe, will wait for you and bring you to his Riad. The roof terrace is a great place to spend you're afternoon in the sun with a nice bottle of Moroccan wine after getting lost, lost and lost again in the small and little alleys in the Medina ;-)

Mina is a great cook and she knows how to make beautiful henna drawings!

Thank you Jean Christophe and Mina, you made our stay in Marrakech one the remember!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

A tranquil oasis after the bustle of the Medina. Jean-Christophe and Mina were really helpful and welcoming. The rooms are decorated beautifully and very clean.The roof terrace a great place to relax after getting lost over and over again in the little alleys in the Medina. There was even a chameleon which was definitely the master of disguise. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

STAYED here in March 2011
Nothing in this remarkable Riad in any way corresponds to what you might normally expect of a hotel in this price range. it was far beyond our expectations and we highly value the individual charme of the French couple who made this Riad to a Haven of Serenity.
We were welcomed warmly by Valerie with "thé a la menthe" and got the beautiful sights of the patio and the rooftop-terrace to know. Traveller will surely fall in love with the serenity and peaceful atmosphere of this outstanding Riad, where you can retire after an exhausting day spent in the souks: comfortable beds, original furniture with colourful and delightful pillows - bright sunlight from the sky dazzling into the patio....extraordinary and down-to-earth atmosphere.
Valérie has very good knowledge of each "quartiers" and good advice for shopping, visit to hammam...Every traveller should be aware that you are travelling in a Muslim hub and so you will sometimes hear the call of the Muezzin from a Minarett- depending on the sense of the wind...

we fell in love with tadelakt interior design, love to details - in architecture and cultural artscraft...
Starter in the Morning: " A table set in the patio" enjoy the best "crêpes" ever and home-made marmelades, fresh orange juice and a animating tea or hot coffee.

insights in the family life and the ups and downs of getting out and about as "frenchies" in marrakesh are also shared -for those who really are interested in it and I found it very enriching experience! I enjoyed is natural and at ease wherever she appears.

To put it in a nutshell: We had a great stay at Valerie's place, enjoyed being part of the family life in the Riad (with a charming dog and cat) and explored Marrakesh by foot and by bus.
we are now planning a second trip to Morocco - and surely start off with Marrakesh....
Chaleureuses salutations à Valérie et famille: Une "main de Fatima" orne le mur de l'entrée. elle protège les maisons marocaines du mauvais oeuil - et nous sommes ravi que vous êtes blessés. Bonjour de Stefanie et Florian - nous surement reviendrons!

advices:
visit "Majorelle Gardens" for a refresher and blue sights to the eyes...eat Merguez-sausages in the evening at a stall (No. 31/30) on the "Djemma el-Fna"...best tajine ever (in a local place) - made on charcoal-fire: "Restaurant Oscar Progrès", Rue BEn MArine (South to the Market).
try the hop-on and off-RED bus for a scenic drive to most of the sights (also Palmeraie) we also enjoyed the rooftop terrace for a sundowner of the "Café des Epices"

we had fun taking the bus to Essaouira and spending 2 days at the beach and white Medina, eating fresh fish and couscous...

Room Tip: first floor is comfortable in terms of silence and fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

What luck to have been dragged along to Riad Jaglia by some fellow passengers after our flight out of Marrakech was delayed. Our hosts were exceptionally welcoming, and made our extra night in Marrakech more of a treat than a pain. The rooms were cozy and clean, the service was excellent, and the rates were very reasonable.
I'm only sorry I didn't discover it sooner!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Deutschland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

A homebase in the hectic of the Medina!!!! This Riad is just to beautiful. When we entered the Riad and our room we felt "home". The view from our room the 1st floor on the patio was just gorgeous. Orange-, Mandarin- and even a banana trees made this place so relaxing. The room itself is decorated with love and very, very clean.
Valerie and Jean-Pierre have been the best hosts we could imagine. Furthermore the dog and the 3 cats made this stay unforgettable as we always felt so comfortable and welcome.
We really enjoyed the conversations with our hosts in the Patio with a good bottle of wine.
This was more like a visit of good friends than being in a hotel.
Thanks for everything!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

It is a very nice place in the middle of the Medina. It´s a small riad, with a very nice Marrochian style patio and clean and comfortable rooms. Very warm and cosy.
I recomend dinner to try excellent tagine and enjoy a really good food, simple and tasty.

The owner of the riad takes really good care of the guest, it is very helpful and considerate. He makes a big effort to make the stay special.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed here during our first trip to Marrakech and Morocco. I had scoured the internet trying to find a riad that was within our budget and had a good location. We lucked out here! Our room was wonderful. Valerie and Pierre were such great hosts. We loved the gorgeous terrace where we would start the day with a yummy breakfast and end the day lounging on the sofas drinking wine and thinking what a great country Morocco is. Not only was the riad romantic and clean, but our hosts had a ton of information about Marrakech and surrounding areas. We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#34 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Matham
Riad Matham
#31 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#145 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jaglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jaglia

Address: Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #537 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very nice riad located in the heart of the medina of marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Jaglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jaglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.