We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad, location, food and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Argan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Argan to your Saves list
Riad Argan
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33, derb Zenka Dika | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great riad, location, food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in Riad Argan for the first four nights of our stay in Morocco. We took the offer of a taxi from the airport for 12euro and it was well worth it- it was a comfortable, modern car and the driver walked us straight to the door of the hostel which otherwise would have been very hard to find. We had a meal booked for the first night as we knew that we would be tired and didn't fancy trawling an unknown city for food. The food was wonderful. Francois and her husband, Bernard, were wonderful and so helpful. Francois organised a day out to a country club for us to escape the city for the day (it was eid and a celebration involving slaughtering sheep- I'm a veggie and a huge animal lover so as you can imagine, that's not really for me)- we had a lovely day. Francois and Bernard also recommended restaurants and helped with taxi's. The riad itself is beautiful and a very central location to the main square. We'd both like to thank all the staff at Riad Argan for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
267
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in Riad Argan for 6 nights during our first trip to Marrakech. It was a wonderful experience in a busy and very hectic city. The riad itself is beautifully decorated providing all essential facilities with traditional Moroccan look and feel. The riad was very quiet and peaceful and the room was clean and wonderfully decorated. Riad is located just 3 minutes away from the main square within the old Medina making it perfect to experience true Marrakech. The breakfast was excellent every morning and we also had a nice dinner in the riad. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodated all our requests.

Françoise was the most wonderful host and we cannot thank her enough for her personal service to help us tackle Marrakech. She not only provided us with a map and overview of the main places to visit but also walked with us to the main square and showed us where to exchange the money and provided some useful tips of how to haggle and stay safe. She also organised taxis to the airport, trips to Atlas Mountains and seaside town of Essaouira which all went very well.

Overall both I and my wife had a memorable week in Marrakech and it would not have been possible without Françoise and her staff and their very personal and special service which was above and beyond any 5 star hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in Sultane suite which was clean and beautifully decorated. Its on 1st floor and is furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay for four nights: a welcome oasis from the pollution and bustle of Marrakech, and just a short, 5 minute walk from the main square.

The room was decent size and, like the rest of the riad, beautifully decorated. The food was really top-notch, the best we had during a week in the city. Sure, it's more pricey than eating at one of Jemaa el-Fnaa's many stalls, but It really wouldn't be out of place in an much more expensive restaurant. Plus, they serve alcohol, which is a big bonus in Marrakech!

On top of all these other positives, it's the service that makes this riad so special. Francoise was always friendly and helpful when around, but she wisely puts her trust in Sofiene and the three sisters who take care of the day-to-day running and make your stay such a warm, personal experience. Always willing to help, always friendly and very hard working.

We even had the pleasure of wathcing one sister perform Berber dancing on our final night.

If I was ever to return to Morocco, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My second visit to the wonderful Riad Argan and like my last stay it was perfect in every way. Francois was as always the most beautiful and perfect host, helping us to make our trip perfect. Nothing is too much trouble, whether it be organising a trip to the Atlas mountains or helping us find the elusive boutique. Next trip will be in Easter and this time I will bring my family with me. Thank you Francois and Bernard. Monica and her friends x

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were greeted and made to feel at home by the owner Françoise. All five bedrooms are stylish and ours, "Ivoire", we found very comfortable.
Françoise was happy to arrange a trip for us to the Atlas Mountains all at very reasonable cost. Khadija cooked us delicious food.
We left with lots of great memories and kisses from all the staff.
I would definately recommend Riad Argan for anyone wanting to be right in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had high expectations for Riad Argan, based on all the other positive feedback it's received on this site, and those expectations were more than exceeded by Françoise, Bernard, and their team. It's clear that they enjoy what they do and they care about making you feel welcome and comfortable. From the moment we arrived, Françoise was full of ideas, suggestions, and tips for the city. The staff (Khadija, Mahassin, Habiba, and Soufiene) all were a joy to be around and they went out of their way to make sure we had an amazing stay. The chef, Khadija, served us the best meals we had in Morocco (by far!), and she was more than happy to share her recipes --- she even gave us a Moroccan cooking lesson! It was like having dinner at a good friend's house, and the good friend just happens to be a Top Chef. The Riad is well situated, walking distance to the main attractions in the Medina, and also easily within reach of the new town. (We walked to the Jardins Majorelle in about 40 min, and it's also easy to find a taxi around the Riad if you prefer.) Although it's near the action, it's tucked back in a residential area and is indeed peaceful. We won't hesitate to stay here the next time we're in town.

Room Tip: The Perle room is near the kitchen and main entrance. It's still very peaceful and quiet, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I must say, we were really amazed by the unique character of the riad. Designed in a very tasteful style full of charm and tranquility.
Our suite (the Sultane suite) was spacious and elegantly designed.
The owners, Françoise & Bernard and the team were marvellous, very kind and helpful.
For our birthday they treated us with flowers and wine !!
Françoise and Bernard take very good care of their guests, and make you feel like at home. We had a luxurious stay and can't wait to come again at Riad Argan !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Argan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Argan

Address: 33, derb Zenka Dika | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Argan 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Argan is situated in the heart of Marrakech one of Morocco's most important cultural centers, walking distance to the famous place Jemaa El Fna. Accommodation: Ground floor: 2 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms, dinning area, living area and dipping pool. Second floor: 3 bedrooms with 3 bathrooms Third floor: a beautiful spacious roof terrace which one can enjoy the evening breeze; Our cooker can prepare Moroccan dishes at your request. It's decoration and spirit will make you feel in harmony and a profound feeling of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Argan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Argan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Argan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.