We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful haven in bustling Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Itrane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Itrane to your Saves list
Riad Itrane
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   113, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven in bustling Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed two nights in Riad Itrane with our teenage children and all four thoroughly enjoyed it.
The location is great, just inside the medina and off the bustling main square. I would not recommend trying to find it without assistance from hotel staff who picked us up from the airport and delivered us to what you might call a bell boy who escorted us the final few hundred meters.
Once inside, the Riad is tranquil and peaceful with two connecting courtyards, one with a small pool. One room was on the roof terrace and it's definitely worth asking for a room there as the views are great. The other room was smaller and darker with a window facing the open corridor. Both had airconditioning and were beautifully furnished.
The roof terraces are open to all guests with lounge chairs and sun loungers. The view over the roofs to the Atlas mountains is great.
Staff is softly spoken with limited English but good French.
Breakfast was good and plentiful.

Room Tip: Ask for room on roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    46
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
100
349
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I agree that the hotel is very charming and people are very polite with custommers. However the breakfast is very poor. And you cannot trust the hotel employees. We had an arrangement with a taxi driver to take us to Casablanca for 900 MAD, and the receptionist told me that he could provide the same service for 1.320 MAD with the very reliable hotel chaufeur, who speaks fluently english and french and has a black high quality Mercedes. I prefered the hotel chaufeur because I had a plane to catch at casablanca and did not want to run any risk. I was suprised when we got to the car because it was a Casablanca Taxi, that did not work at all with the hotel and could not speak english nor a decent french. He just arrived with a client from casablanca and was paid less than 600 MAD, for sure, because he was about to return empty to his working area. We were completedly fooled by the recepcionist.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chachalyon, Propriétaire at Riad Itrane, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We conducted our investigation, in fact, our driver at the last minute was not able to carry you, therefore, in urgency, he has called to one of his colleague, to assure your transport to Casablanca,however, he forget to inform the riad and the staff.
Our team is not dishonest and we regret this incident, it is the first time and we will take care for the future that it will not happens again.
Our breakfasts are composed by black tea or mint tea, black coffee or milk and chocolate, fresh orange juice, bread, homemade cake, pancakes made, five kinds of home cooked jams, honey, butter, cheese and eggs more fried or omelettes...
The quality of our breakfasts is confirmed by all our customers, this is one of our strengths.
We are pleased that you particularly liked the charm of our riad and politeness of our staff.
Thank you for your visit and your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The Riad is lovely, clean, tidy, wonderful. Food really nice and service perfect. All people have been really nice and available with us. Abdel, Abdo and Yusef gave us the smile and gentleness that a guest needs, with familiarity.
Thank you very much
M.V.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detmold, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Riad Itrane is an absolutely beautiful, clean and relaxing retreat from the hustle and bustle of the often hectic maze of the market square located in the centre of Medina. The room we stayed in (the Sirus suite a believe its called) had its own rooftop terrace, where we were able to relax and stargaze throughout the night.
They also serve a great breakfast every morning, with some of the best coffee I've drank in a long time! I would 100 percent recommend this hotel, it's absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: We stayed at the top in the sirus suite, very quite, with a beautiful rooftop with views across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Riad Itrane is a wonderful place to stay. All the staff are kind, friendly and helpful and it is in a great location. The room was very clean and we were offered towels for our trip to the beach in Essouria. Dinner was delicious and very reasonable priced. We enjoyed our stay there very much and we would highly recommend staying here if planning a trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A jewel of a find, in the heart of the medina. A tranquil haven and the staff, Yussef, Abdo and Abdel were really helpful and welcoming. We ate at the riad a couple of nights and the food was delicious. Jane and Paul

Room Tip: Ask for the extra wide bed. The room is on the second floor.. Book a trip to the Atlas Mountain fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived in the evening and were very pleased that we had arranged a transfer from the staion as the riad is down a small alley only a few minutes walk from the main square of Djemma El Fnaa.The whole place was very clean and well maintained and was a beautiful peaceful retreat from the bustle of Marrakech We had a spacious room with a balcony overlooking the pool and the included breakfast was plentiful.

However the rooms do not have keys but bolts both inside and out and during one siesta another guest tried to enter our room and then in their confusion bolted us in. Luckily we were soon released but a change to the door locking mechanisms would be a good idea! There is wifi - but it didn't work in the room; there is cable TV - but only one English channel. But who wants to watch TV or surf the net when there is all of Marrakech to explore just outside the front door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Itrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Itrane

Address: 113, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Itrane 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at only 2 minutes( 0,300m) on foot from the famous Place Jemaa El Fna, taxis and at the entry of the souk and close to the main monuments, Medersa Ben youssef, Palace Bahia and Baldi, and at the entry of the souks, this authentic and magical Moroccan guest house combines the peace and quiet of a local side street and the bustling excitement of all types of interests in the heart of the picturesque medina and close to the centre of "Gueliz", the modern city. This splendid Riad is the oldest neighborhood, it was completely restored in 2008 with elegance and modernity by Moroccan craftsmen in the respect for tradition. " Riad Itrane" provides three courtyards, with threes, flowers, a fountain, and a superb counter-current swimming pool pool, many terraceswith sun deck where you can enjoy a panoramic view of the Medina, the Atlas mountains and the koutoubia. Comfortable living rooms and a spacious dinning room equipped with fire places will offer you a combination of relaxation and delight. Within this unique setting, a particularly attentive team is at your disposal 24/24h to provide you the highest standard catering services which contribute to the excellent reputation of this guest house. French, English are fluently spoken here. Breakfasts are plentiful and varied, and our delicious lunches and dinners are on demand before 11h00 AM, and at a reasonable price. Special birthday dinner with a birthday cake made by the best pastry of Marrakech. " Riad Itrane" welcomes you in the heart of Marrakech to make your dreams come true within a peaceful and unforgettable setting..." " Itrane" means " star" in Berber language, this "star's guest house" will therefore make your life more radiant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Itrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Itrane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Itrane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.