We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil oasis in the heart of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Itrane

Save Saved
You added Riad Itrane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Itrane
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   113. Derb Jamaa Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #44 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tranquil oasis in the heart of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful Riad and would recommend it to anyone. The location is perfect only a 5 minute walk from the main square Jemaa el Fna and the craziness of the souks, yet the Riad itself is down a quiet alleyway. The pool and roof top terrace are lovely and the rooms perfectly comfortable. The breakfast provided each day was good, plenty of it and it varied each day. To be honest the staff made the stay for us, nothing was too much trouble. We were able to leave some luggage at the Riad while trekking in the Atlas mountains, and they prepared a traditional Morrocan dinner when we returned so we didn't have to go out. They made great recommendations for local places to eat that were incredibly cheap and great quality. The manager even personally drove to the airport after we'd checked out to deliver my diamond necklace I'd left in the safe of our room. Great service, always with a smile! Thanks Abdul, Muhammed and Abdel x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    46
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
325
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olvera, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights and were generally very happy. It has a great location in a quiet and narrow street used by pedestrians mainly with a few cyclists and the odd reckless motor cyclist - those who have been to Marrakesh will know what I am talking about. Staff were very helpful, particularly with our requests for a couple of early breakfasts. The day we left we were served breakfast at 5:30 am! Breakfasts were good, but we didn't try the dinner so can't comment on that. Our only complaints are that the bed was uncomfortable, and the bathroom not as clean as it might have been, especially as the water drained much slower than supplied from the taps in both the basin and the shower. We needed the air conditioning, which was fine. The presence of heaters suggests that it can get cold in winter. Still, I think we would recommend the Riad Itrane to others who are looking for a central location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just spent a long weekend at Riad Itrane, have to say it exceeded all expectations, in a great location, the Riad is lovely and clean, our room was quiet and had access to the roof verandas which had sun beds and chairs (nice to go back to after a long day walking round Marrakech), the staff were always helpful and cheerful with the hosts being especially so, always available and very pleasant company, we enjoyed a meal at the Riad (they only serve to guests), the food was excellent as was the special treatment we received.
If it's your first trip to Riad Itrane I would suggest taking advantage of the taxi service from the airport as it's not easy to find if you are not familiar with Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and could not have been more happy with our choice of accommodation. The riad is lovely, immaculately clean and in a perfect location minutes from the main square. Our room was lovely and so quiet and peaceful. We ate in the riad one night and the food was great as was the company provided by our hosts, Patrice and Charlotte. All of the staff seemed really happy there and there was always a smile and a pleasant "Bonjour" from all of them. The breakfasts were good with as much food as you wanted and lovely fruit juice and lots of coffee. Before travelling we emailed the riad to ask about transfers to and from the airport and these were provided at a reasonable cost - we would advise people to use this service as finding the riad on your own may be tricky for the first time. The taxi driver was waiting for us when we came through from the arrivals hall and when we got to the square a man with a cart lead us to the riad and transported our luggage.
In summary, we would highly recommend this riad for anyone visiting Marrakech for the first time like us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Really a good place to relax and rest in a cared atmosphere after a full day in the Medina!!
Very convenient near all the main spots! And walkable to all the nice restaurants in the medina!
It's a very nice Riad, with a good decoration and very welcoming staff. I really recommend.
They are specially helpful, both the staff and the owners- (more than they are suppose to!!) and they always find a solution for any request (eating or drinking even after-hours, finding an extra-room for one more night even being fully booked!!). It's really remarkable how easy they make things!! And all with a smile!
-The patio is charming and quiet. Breakfast is good: it was our first few days in Morocco and with its traditional food... good.
-The rooms are really nice - plus we had a small hall-reading room with views to the patio... I loved it! Clean bathroom!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a great stay here in April for 5 nights.
Were well looked after and this Riad is truly a calm oasis within the frenetic hustle and bustle of Marakesh!
Location......... Superb. 5 minutes walk from the central Jemaa El Fna square where it all happens both day and night! Also great location for walking around the souks, the school of koranic art as well as the simple sport of "wandering". I am truly good at that!

Staff.......... All helpful and polite. Both the lads (Ahmed and Abdul) were very friendly and courteous as were the girls who do the cooking and cleaning etc
Patrice and Charlotte very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Charlotte for the lend of a hat which saved my bald pate and sunburnt forehead.

Riad building......... well thought out accommodation, welcome pool ( I only sat my blistered feet in it!) great roof terrace and lovely public areas with little lounges etc

Food............ we ate here once and it was lovely. Breakfasts more than enough, simple fair but we specially enjoyed the poratha like pancakes and fresh orange juice.
Alcohol is not served openly in Marrakesh so it is welcoming that this Riad offers beer and wine.

Eating out....... Avoid the tourist restaurants around the square, food is average tourist fair.
Take your life in your hands and eat at one of the stalls at night in the main square, avoid stall 100 but go for stall 30. Best guide is to look for a food stall with plenty of local Moroccans sitting down. Avoid the ones with only tourists eating.
A very good but incredibly simple and basic restaurant catering for locals as well as tourists who know of the place is "Oskars" on rue de marine just down from the post office building off main square. Simple menu but great food at a good price! Look carefully, it can be easily walked by and missed!

What more can I say? The other reviews have said it all and this Riad lives up to all comments.

Great place, great stay!

Thank you to you all who made us so welcome.

Room Tip: Choose a suite rather than a room if you are staying more than 2 nights.Rooms are small but cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Myself and my husband have just returned from a 4 night break at this Riad, he chose this for us after some very complimentary Trip Advisor reviews.

This was our first trip out of Europe so we were a little apprehensive, however the team at the Riad made all the arrangements for us to be met at the airport. Getting through passport control took some time but the driver was waiting for us, greeted us with a smile and took our luggage to the taxi, he was English speaking which for us (both English) was great. He dropped us at the edge of the main square where we were greeted by a porter who took us direct to the Riad.

We arrived around 8pm but were served refreshing drinks and the staff took the time to sit with us and show us a map of the city and give us a contact number on a card should we get lost. We were given the option of doing this later that day or the next if we were tired, but were happy to do so.

Our room was beautiful, clean, A/C worked very well. Hot and cold water was always available and the room was spacious. We didn't have a suite, but there was a sofa to sit on if we wanted. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the pool, there was seating outside of our room if we wanted to sit and read out of the sun. The bed was firm, but not hard and was very comfortable, bedding was clean and the bed was made up every day. Clean towels were always supplied and we were greeted on arrival by towel 'animals' a cobra and a swan with rose petal decorations. Fantastic.

The Terrace was beautiful, there was a gazebo to sit under so even my pale skin could cope in the heat and it was beautiful to sit and listen to the call to prayer and relax. There were sunbeds available if you like to sunbathe.

The swimming pool was clean and a perfect temperature to cool off after a long day sightseeing. The staff were happy to put on the swim spar (endless pool current), I swam both with it and without. The pool is essentially an outdoor pool, although it is inside, the sun streams through from the top of the courtyard and it was lovely to swim and then enjoy the sun. I was occasionally joined by a swimming fly, but the staff cleaned the pool regularly and it wasn't an issue.

The first night my husband wanted to eat in the main square and we ran the gauntlet, the food was OK, but not exceptional, walking through the square is a fairly stressful experience for the English person! However, we ate at the Riad one night for a very reasonable amount, the food was truly wonderful (my Husband said good enough to turn him vegetarian!) I don't eat meat, but the Riad staff were happy to cater for me and we enjoyed a beautiful 3 course meal, so generous I could hardly move afterwards!

Breakfasts were so fresh and generous that there was no need for lunch, we just snacked during the day. Breakfast differed every day, pancakes, bread, eggs, omelette, crepes etc. There was always fresh juice, tea (Moroccan), English Tea or Coffee available. Children (and those of us who are children at heart) will love the special French Egg 'face' surprise that comes out of the kitchen fresh!

The staff went out of their way to help, to advise us on day trips out, to store pastries we bought in the cold cupboard, to offer towels after a swim. All the staff were happy to sit and talk with us and share their experiences, talk about their lives with us, even those who didn't speak good English were happy to meet us in the middle. The owners Patrice and Charlotte helped us in a friendly way with our limited French, our conversations were in English (our French is poor) but they would try to help us understand in a friendly manner.

We witnessed the owners interaction with the staff, they have a very good relationship with the staff. Patrice, sat with one staff member, Patrice has been playing the guitar (very well and very relaxing) and offered him tips on how to play. The staff moved efficiently and calmly at all times, there was no rush at any time and we were never made to feel a nuisance. My Husband headed out on his own a few times and I was quite happy to stay at the Riad on my own.

Upon returning to the Riad one evening after dinner we enjoyed some wine and beer and Charlotte and Patrice sat with us and relaxed and talked. The other guests were very friendly and where language barriers did not restrict we had some fantastic conversations.

Once we had checked out, we were still made to feel welcome, we were served Mint Tea and sat with Charlotte to talk. The staff were happy to keep our luggage until it was time to leave for the airport mid afternoon. When we returned to collect our luggage, we were served cold water to prepare us for the mid afternoon heat. The hotel staff arranged a porter and taxi for return and we were met by a porter once we left the taxi who helped us find our way to/through check in.

On the whole the people of Marrakech are exceptional people, yes you will be hassled somewhat in the Souks. We didn't find it an issue, keeping your sunglasses on helps...... The best food we had despite trying the food in the square and 2 restaurants was at the Riad.

The Riad is very close to the main square, 2 minutes walk, but is exceptionally peaceful.

My Husband has family in France who own a Gite and I can only say that staying at this Riad was just like staying with his family.

We asked when we checked out if we could tip the staff (including those you don't necessarily see), Charlotte and Patrice took us to the kitchen so we could do this personally. The staff have a pot where they share the money out, which we liked (meaning that not just the front of house staff got the tips).

In summary, we couldn't recommend this Riad more. If you visit we hope you have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Itrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Itrane

Address: 113. Derb Jamaa Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Itrane 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at only 2 minutes( 0,300m) on foot from the famous Place Jemâa El Fna, taxis and souks, this magical place combines the peace and quiet of a local side street and the busstling excitement of all types of interests in the heart of the picturesque medina and the centre of Guéliz, the modern city.This splendid Riad is the oldest neighborhood, it was completely restored in 2008 with elegance and modernity by Moroccan craftsmen in the respect for tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Riad Itrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Itrane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Itrane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.