We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm... less than 5 min away from frentic Jema el Fna square!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Itrane

Save Saved
You added Riad Itrane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Itrane
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   113. Derb Jamaa Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€25 off room rate
Ranked #44 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Calm... less than 5 min away from frentic Jema el Fna square!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Really a good place to relax and rest in a cared atmosphere after a full day in the Medina!!
Very convenient near all the main spots! And walkable to all the nice restaurants in the medina!
It's a very nice Riad, with a good decoration and very welcoming staff. I really recommend.
They are specially helpful, both the staff and the owners- (more than they are suppose to!!) and they always find a solution for any request (eating or drinking even after-hours, finding an extra-room for one more night even being fully booked!!). It's really remarkable how easy they make things!! And all with a smile!
-The patio is charming and quiet. Breakfast is good: it was our first few days in Morocco and with its traditional food... good.
-The rooms are really nice - plus we had a small hall-reading room with views to the patio... I loved it! Clean bathroom!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    46
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
322
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a great stay here in April for 5 nights.
Were well looked after and this Riad is truly a calm oasis within the frenetic hustle and bustle of Marakesh!
Location......... Superb. 5 minutes walk from the central Jemaa El Fna square where it all happens both day and night! Also great location for walking around the souks, the school of koranic art as well as the simple sport of "wandering". I am truly good at that!

Staff.......... All helpful and polite. Both the lads (Ahmed and Abdul) were very friendly and courteous as were the girls who do the cooking and cleaning etc
Patrice and Charlotte very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Charlotte for the lend of a hat which saved my bald pate and sunburnt forehead.

Riad building......... well thought out accommodation, welcome pool ( I only sat my blistered feet in it!) great roof terrace and lovely public areas with little lounges etc

Food............ we ate here once and it was lovely. Breakfasts more than enough, simple fair but we specially enjoyed the poratha like pancakes and fresh orange juice.
Alcohol is not served openly in Marrakesh so it is welcoming that this Riad offers beer and wine.

Eating out....... Avoid the tourist restaurants around the square, food is average tourist fair.
Take your life in your hands and eat at one of the stalls at night in the main square, avoid stall 100 but go for stall 30. Best guide is to look for a food stall with plenty of local Moroccans sitting down. Avoid the ones with only tourists eating.
A very good but incredibly simple and basic restaurant catering for locals as well as tourists who know of the place is "Oskars" on rue de marine just down from the post office building off main square. Simple menu but great food at a good price! Look carefully, it can be easily walked by and missed!

What more can I say? The other reviews have said it all and this Riad lives up to all comments.

Great place, great stay!

Thank you to you all who made us so welcome.

Room Tip: Choose a suite rather than a room if you are staying more than 2 nights.Rooms are small but cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Myself and my husband have just returned from a 4 night break at this Riad, he chose this for us after some very complimentary Trip Advisor reviews.

This was our first trip out of Europe so we were a little apprehensive, however the team at the Riad made all the arrangements for us to be met at the airport. Getting through passport control took some time but the driver was waiting for us, greeted us with a smile and took our luggage to the taxi, he was English speaking which for us (both English) was great. He dropped us at the edge of the main square where we were greeted by a porter who took us direct to the Riad.

We arrived around 8pm but were served refreshing drinks and the staff took the time to sit with us and show us a map of the city and give us a contact number on a card should we get lost. We were given the option of doing this later that day or the next if we were tired, but were happy to do so.

Our room was beautiful, clean, A/C worked very well. Hot and cold water was always available and the room was spacious. We didn't have a suite, but there was a sofa to sit on if we wanted. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the pool, there was seating outside of our room if we wanted to sit and read out of the sun. The bed was firm, but not hard and was very comfortable, bedding was clean and the bed was made up every day. Clean towels were always supplied and we were greeted on arrival by towel 'animals' a cobra and a swan with rose petal decorations. Fantastic.

The Terrace was beautiful, there was a gazebo to sit under so even my pale skin could cope in the heat and it was beautiful to sit and listen to the call to prayer and relax. There were sunbeds available if you like to sunbathe.

The swimming pool was clean and a perfect temperature to cool off after a long day sightseeing. The staff were happy to put on the swim spar (endless pool current), I swam both with it and without. The pool is essentially an outdoor pool, although it is inside, the sun streams through from the top of the courtyard and it was lovely to swim and then enjoy the sun. I was occasionally joined by a swimming fly, but the staff cleaned the pool regularly and it wasn't an issue.

The first night my husband wanted to eat in the main square and we ran the gauntlet, the food was OK, but not exceptional, walking through the square is a fairly stressful experience for the English person! However, we ate at the Riad one night for a very reasonable amount, the food was truly wonderful (my Husband said good enough to turn him vegetarian!) I don't eat meat, but the Riad staff were happy to cater for me and we enjoyed a beautiful 3 course meal, so generous I could hardly move afterwards!

Breakfasts were so fresh and generous that there was no need for lunch, we just snacked during the day. Breakfast differed every day, pancakes, bread, eggs, omelette, crepes etc. There was always fresh juice, tea (Moroccan), English Tea or Coffee available. Children (and those of us who are children at heart) will love the special French Egg 'face' surprise that comes out of the kitchen fresh!

The staff went out of their way to help, to advise us on day trips out, to store pastries we bought in the cold cupboard, to offer towels after a swim. All the staff were happy to sit and talk with us and share their experiences, talk about their lives with us, even those who didn't speak good English were happy to meet us in the middle. The owners Patrice and Charlotte helped us in a friendly way with our limited French, our conversations were in English (our French is poor) but they would try to help us understand in a friendly manner.

We witnessed the owners interaction with the staff, they have a very good relationship with the staff. Patrice, sat with one staff member, Patrice has been playing the guitar (very well and very relaxing) and offered him tips on how to play. The staff moved efficiently and calmly at all times, there was no rush at any time and we were never made to feel a nuisance. My Husband headed out on his own a few times and I was quite happy to stay at the Riad on my own.

Upon returning to the Riad one evening after dinner we enjoyed some wine and beer and Charlotte and Patrice sat with us and relaxed and talked. The other guests were very friendly and where language barriers did not restrict we had some fantastic conversations.

Once we had checked out, we were still made to feel welcome, we were served Mint Tea and sat with Charlotte to talk. The staff were happy to keep our luggage until it was time to leave for the airport mid afternoon. When we returned to collect our luggage, we were served cold water to prepare us for the mid afternoon heat. The hotel staff arranged a porter and taxi for return and we were met by a porter once we left the taxi who helped us find our way to/through check in.

On the whole the people of Marrakech are exceptional people, yes you will be hassled somewhat in the Souks. We didn't find it an issue, keeping your sunglasses on helps...... The best food we had despite trying the food in the square and 2 restaurants was at the Riad.

The Riad is very close to the main square, 2 minutes walk, but is exceptionally peaceful.

My Husband has family in France who own a Gite and I can only say that staying at this Riad was just like staying with his family.

We asked when we checked out if we could tip the staff (including those you don't necessarily see), Charlotte and Patrice took us to the kitchen so we could do this personally. The staff have a pot where they share the money out, which we liked (meaning that not just the front of house staff got the tips).

In summary, we couldn't recommend this Riad more. If you visit we hope you have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This Riad is, simply, perfect! Before we had even arrived the customer service we received was excellent. We stayed here for 4 nights whilst on our honeymoon in Marrakech. The owners, Charlotte & Patrice are extremely friendly and hospitable, as are Abdul, Ahmed and the rest of the team. Nothing was too much trouble and they even made a special effort to decorate our room with rose petals for our arrival. The riad is a place of calm and quiet in a very busy city, and a dip in the pool was very refreshing after a day of walking round in the heat. It has been restored to a very high quality with lots of attention to keeping it looking 'traditional'. The Riad is very close to the Jemaa El Fna Square and Souks, and the main tourist attractions are all within easy walking distance The team organised our transfers to and from the airport, which included the baggage carriage to the Riad, which is only accessable on foot. They also organise excursions to some of the further out attractions for around €75-100. We chose to eat at the Riad after a day in the Atlas mountains for €20 each it was one of the best meals we ate and they do serve wine and beer. We will definitely return and would recommend this Rad to anyone visiting Marrakesh.

Room Tip: There is a ground floor room if stairs are a problem. We stayed in a Sirius room which is on the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole Dorset
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at this amazing Riad, we were welcomed by Patrice & Charlotte who made us feel very welcome, our accommodation was immaculate and every room was unique with access to a lovely terrace. When we returned from a days sightseeing Charlotte would make us some Moroccan tea and sit and have a chat with us, they also offer a lovely evening meal at a very reasonable price. We could not fault this Riad and would recommend it to friends and family. It is very close to the Souks and the square and the Riad is a haven of tranquility in a very vibrant city.

Room Tip: This Riad has 10 rooms and they are all extremely clean and each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 day break in Marrakech,with my husband and daughter, staying at Riad Itrane. The Riad had been recommended to us so I knew it was going to be good, but I can honestly say it exceeded our expectations. As soon as you walked through the door there was a feeling of calm and tranquility amid'st all of the hustle and bustle of the Jemaa El-Fna square which was just around the corner.From the minute we arrived Abdul and Ahmed couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them, so too were Charlotte and Patrice,the owners,we can't thank them enough for making our stay such an enjoyable one.The rooms very typically Moroccan were spotless.. Our room had private access to the rooftop terrace,which was lovely especially at night time. Breakfast was a delight, with plenty to eat. Lovely pancakes and freshly squeezed orange juice and plenty of English breakfast tea. I read lots of reviews prior to our trip, and I am glad to say every one was right. Riad Itrane is a little gem.

Room Tip: our room on the first floor, had access to the roof top terrace. My daughter's was just as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at Riad Itrane for 3 nights from the 10th to 13th of April. It is situated just off the Jemaa El Fna and so you are couple of minutes walk from the bustling souks and the the square. It was amazing to leave the beating of drums, the snake charmers, dancers, teeth, poultry,fish and spice sellers to step inside this tranquil oasis. There is a small pool and an orange tree in the centre of the Riad. There are lots of nooks and crannies with books, Moroccan carpets and tiled fountains. Breakfast was a continental breakfast with pancakes and the coffee was lovely. Everything was clean with plenty of hot water. The roof terrace was lovely to sit on and listen to the call to prayer. The staff were helpful and welcoming. Anyone can stay in a large hotel but if you are looking to stay in a traditional Riad I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Itrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Itrane

Address: 113. Derb Jamaa Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Itrane 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at only 2 minutes( 0,300m) on foot from the famous Place Jemâa El Fna, taxis and souks, this magical place combines the peace and quiet of a local side street and the busstling excitement of all types of interests in the heart of the picturesque medina and the centre of Guéliz, the modern city.This splendid Riad is the oldest neighborhood, it was completely restored in 2008 with elegance and modernity by Moroccan craftsmen in the respect for tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Itrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Itrane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Itrane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.