We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Riad in superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Itrane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Itrane to your Saves list
Riad Itrane
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   113. Derb Jamaa Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #38 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super Riad in superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a great Riad, minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the Souk and the main square, but down a little alley meaning it was very quiet unless on the roof. It is difficult to imagine a better location.

The rooms were fine - we had a nice one with en-suite on the top floor. No lift, but that was no problem, the staff were eager to help carry luggage if required (but not pushy). I personally found the bed a little hard for myself, but the wife found it very comfortable.

Common areas were nice too, Breakfast/dinner could be had in the dining room (I guess) or outside (which we always chose).

We ate there the first night - it was an entirely acceptable meal (with reasonably priced wine), but to my view the food in Marrakesh as a whole was nothing to write home about.
It was a safe place to eat on our first night, but I probably wouldn't eat in again. The food may be considered a bit overpriced compared to what is available off the streets, but I suspect it was not overpriced compared to other hotel meals.

Riad Itrane is not a 5 * hotel, but much more intimate and enjoyable.Tipping was done at the end of the stay, all tips being put into a pot for distribution amongst the staff - this I liked.

Of course, there is a lot of hassle on the streets, but that is Marrakesh - but if you can't cope with that, you shouldn't be thinking of going to the city in the first place. But if you do go there, you should not be disappointed with this Riad.

I have no hesitation recommending this Riad to friends, family, and to Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    46
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
99
344
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This raid is perfectly situated only minutes from the square. The owners and staff were delightful and very accommodating. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the views from the terraces, over the Medina with the snow covered Atlas in the background were the best!

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was the first place we stayed in Marrakech and its in a great easy to get to location. The people were friendly when we first arrived and the room was clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the sunset. This place could improve on its service though, we arrived around 5pm and there was no food available at the riad even though they have a working kitchen. Okay I understand but then I wanted to call and make a reservation for a restaurant they acted like they were bending over backwards for me to use their land line.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here with a friend last week. We were only there one night and chose the riad based on TripAdvisor reviews.

The riad is in a great location, very close to the souk but the street it is in is very quiet. It is really nicely decorated and is very pretty.

The room was nice and well-looked-after, as was the riad in general. However, the hot water in the shower didn't last long and the shower ended up being cold.

The roof terrace was beautiful, we spent a morning sunbathing there before heading out of Marrakech to Essaouira.

Breakfast was pretty standard - bread, pancakes, orange juice etc. Nothing too spectacular, but nice and included in the price (as was the case with all the places we stayed).

Overall, I liked the place, mainly for the location and how well-maintained it is. However, having stayed at several other places during my trip, I am not sure the price, which was considerably higher than everywhere else we stayed, was entirely justified.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We were delighted with this Riad in Marrakech. Arriving at the end of March for two nights, after a week of trekking in the Sahara, we were pleased to find this Riad, quiet, clean and very welcoming. The staff were polite, efficient and helpful. the room was spacious and bright. Bathroom was well fitted and all amenities were in working order. The sun terrace was beautiful. I would recommend this to any traveller wishing to stay within the Medina.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose the Riad Itrane based on Tripadvisor reviews, and have been very happy with the result. The hotel is located down a narrow corridor off the souk near the main square. This means it has the great combination of being convenient to all the action, but far enough away not to be noisy. The rooms feel "authentic" but still have all amenities including very fast Wi-Fi (useful as we didn't arrange for an international data plan for our phones). A small confusion over how to swipe our American style credit card resulted in immediate attention by Patrice, the owner, even though he was away in France (and a very kind compensation for my trouble). The staff were all friendly and helpful; always smiling.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Myself and my friend had an enjoyable stay in this riad. The riad is very nice with beautiful decor. It is situated in a peaceful alley. Once you go out from this alley it gets very hectic. The location is very safe but overall I felt that all of Marrakesh is quite safe. The staff were very friendly and gave us tips on what to visit. Although breakfast starts at 8am, on three occasions we had to leave the hotel earlier and they still prepared us the breakfast which is also very rich, diverse and abundant. The terrace of the hotel is also lovely and offers nice views over the city, especially at sunset. The only downside is that we could easily hear noises coming from the adjacent room so one must keep very quiet but overall the stay was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Itrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Itrane

Address: 113. Derb Jamaa Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Itrane 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at only 2 minutes( 0,300m) on foot from the famous Place Jemâa El Fna, taxis and souks, this magical place combines the peace and quiet of a local side street and the busstling excitement of all types of interests in the heart of the picturesque medina and the centre of Guéliz, the modern city.This splendid Riad is the oldest neighborhood, it was completely restored in 2008 with elegance and modernity by Moroccan craftsmen in the respect for tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Itrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Itrane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Itrane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.