We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calm treat near the bustle of the square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Itrane

Save Saved
You added Riad Itrane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Itrane
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   113. Derb Jamaa Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€90 (EUR)
Ranked #51 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A calm treat near the bustle of the square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Having taken a recommendation from The Flight Centre, I'm just back from a week's stay at the Riad Itrane, where a warm welcome from Hamid and Abdou established the friendly atmosphere of this delightful, beautifully appointed retreat in the heart of the Medina. My suite was exceptionally comfortable with an efficient air conditioning/ heating system, TV and wi-fi access, and I was aware of how much effort must have been made to furnish it and the rest of the building in such a high quality traditional fashion.
Throughout my stay the staff were solicitous and eager to help with directions, hints and, indeed, top up cups of coffee at breakfast.
I look forward to a return visit in 2014.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    46
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
86
313
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

As soon as we got there, after a very early flight, Patrice and Charlotte, the owners, they not only welcomed us warmly but they also offered us a breakfast; i have to say, that was so kind of them! And it was just the beginning of a very lovely stay: the riad is absolutely charming, very well decorated, and full of little areas to spend some time quietly, reading or chilling. The roof top with the view is quite nice to enjoy the sunset...Rooms are lovely, in a moroccan style and atmosphere. The riad is very closed to all commodities, and the place Jemaa el Fnaa is really just a few steps away. Also, they provide diner if we asked for in the morning. We had diner there one night, and the food cooked by Karima was the best of all we had in our stay! Quite useful when you don't feel like going out:)
But most of all, is the charm of the staff working there, Abdou to only say one, and of course, thanks to the owners, that this stay was memorable. Just go!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Located in a narrow little street within easy walking reach of all central sites, this peaceful and well-appointed Riad perfectly satisfied our requirements for a short break in Marrakech. Room was delightful, with easy access to roof terrace, staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, and breakfast varied a little each day. We would thoroughly recommend this Riad to anyone!

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room to have immediate access to terraces and roof view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr. Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Have just spent a week in this city centre idyll, initially recommended by our travel agent and further supported by the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. However no matter what you read prior to travelling, nothing can prepare you for the "Itrane" experience when you do eventually get there.Tucked away in a little alleyway about 3 minutes walk from the top end of the main square, this Riad is owned and run by Patrice and Charlotte Lebobe and their general manager Abdou. (Sadly Mohammed has now moved on last week to return to his first love of being a mountain guide) Bought in 2005 the initial two house redevelopment started in March 2006 and with the addition of a third house in 2008, eventually became what it is today on completion in 2010. This 7 standard room and 3 suite Riad is everything that you could imagine a Riad should be, from its quirky layout with 3 courtyards, one of which contains the swimming pool and a beautiful selection of roof terraces from where you can laze on a sunbed or read your book in the shade, under a gazebo canopy. At an average of 24 sq. mtrs you may at first glance, think that the standard rooms are a little on the small side with the suites coming in at 27 & 32 sq.mtrs respectively. Think again, this is a top quality Riad not a 4 or 5 star hotel at double or triple the price. Patrice Lebobe had the unrivalled opportunity to design this Riad from scratch, as the refurbishment project took the property back to bare external walls with every room and public space being built anew to the master plan. The project photos that were there to see by everyone, spoke volumes of the size and complexity of the project over its 4 year span. The end result is a masterpiece of peace and tranquility with only the occasional call to prayer from the mosques disturbing the quiet calm that pervades everywhere.

The in house service is first class, with Abdou or Patrice or Charlotte able and willing to cater for every little indulgence that you requested, from Camel riding to a Hamam experience or a recommendation for a top class restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble and without doubt magically enhanced our stay with all this local knowledge at our disposal. They even provide a dinner service, which if you don't feel like going out to eat, allows you the luxury of dining in the Riad with a meal of your choice, providing that you give prior warning of your dining intentions at breakfast time. The food quality is outstanding and belies the superior cooking skills of head cook Karima, who always seems to have a suggestion for an interesting or unusual dish.

All in all a holiday to remember, made more wonderful by the "Riad Itrane" team, who really do go the extra mile to make their guests feel extra special. As in all good movies, we shall return, to savour lots more special moments in this magical city and be accommodated in this little oasis of tranquility.

Room Tip: For a little bit extra, indulge yourself by booking a suite. (We did) They come with a lovely sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night break and cannot praise this Riad enough. From the transport arranged by them from the airport to our departure was truly first class. We arrived around 7pm and no cars are allowed in the main square in the evening so we were then met by a local man who put our luggage in a little cart and we followed him through the lively square to our Riad which is about a 5 minute walk away. We were welcomed immediately by Mohammed who is a massive credit to the Manager Abdul. He poured us some tradtional mint tea and immediately made us feel welcome. The entrance was breathtaking and more than met our expectations. If you want an evening meal meal on arrival let them know in advance and you will be treated to a typical Moroccan treat. Mohammed is always at hand and never seems to go home and therefore is always available for tips on the best places to visit and how to haggle with the locals. Be aware of the Souks though, amazing experience but if you appear to look a little lost in there someone will tell you how to get out but they will expect paying!! Just politely so no thanks and you will eventually find your way out. Breakfast at the Riad was available in the mornings for whatever time you choose to arise. Again you were treated to the best pancakes, breads, sweet fried bread, jams and freshly squeezed orange juice. Eating out is also very cheap but ask Mohammed and he will recommend where to go. A trip in the horse and carriage is also a must, one of the best parts of our trip. Haggle with these too we paid 300 dirhams but he wanted 500! Taxis are cheap enough too, agree a price first and always go a bit cheaper than they ask. Overall we have had the best weekend ever and the best start to my 40th birthday! Once again thank you Mohammed for everything you done for us you are a true gentleman! Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Riad is pleasant and peaceful, and Mohammed on front of house was charming and helpful. Although some of the rooms looked lovely, travelling with my friend we wanted a twin and were disappointed that it was a very cramped room with no windows. The bathroom was very pretty, but hot water a bit sporadic. The location is excellent though, and the airport pick-up well-organised.
We had a lovely time, but for a cramped room the price seemed a bit steep.

Room Tip: The twin room is cramped and dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chachalyon, Propriétaire at Riad Itrane, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We thank this guest for the kind comment concerning our team, but for a correct and true information for all the users of Tripadvisor, we have to inform them that in contrary at this is written, all our rooms and suite have a large window. These windows can be open and they have all interior shutters to preserve intimity and darkness during the night. This guest has been in our room Galaxy with twin beds,or king size bed and the surface of this room is 24 m².
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Set just near square so perfect for souks and all sightseeing. Mohammed the front of house - is a star. Nothing too much trouble and charming to chat to. He taught us a Moroccan card game too. V quiet riad - we were not disturbed by anything. The ladies in the kitchen were smiley and friendly and cooked fab pancakes. Roof terrace was great to sit on and have a cold beer, listen to call to pray and watch sunset. Room was a little disappointing - bedroom quite cramped, no bedside table, v low lighting so hard to read.however bed was large and v comfy and shutters kept it dark so good nights sleep is easy. Sitting area lovely but again v poor lighting. Bathroom was ok - towels quite worn but v clean. V basic toiletries. Shower hot but weak. I loved staying here and feel with a few little tweaks/attention to detail it could be just perfect. This would be down to Owners to sort/implement not staff as they were brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Itrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Itrane

Address: 113. Derb Jamaa Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Itrane 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at only 2 minutes( 0,300m) on foot from the famous Place Jemâa El Fna, taxis and souks, this magical place combines the peace and quiet of a local side street and the busstling excitement of all types of interests in the heart of the picturesque medina and the centre of Guéliz, the modern city.This splendid Riad is the oldest neighborhood, it was completely restored in 2008 with elegance and modernity by Moroccan craftsmen in the respect for tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Itrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Itrane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Itrane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.