We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy little Riad with first class service!!1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Itrane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Itrane to your Saves list
Riad Itrane
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   113, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A happy little Riad with first class service!!1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night break and cannot praise this Riad enough. From the transport arranged by them from the airport to our departure was truly first class. We arrived around 7pm and no cars are allowed in the main square in the evening so we were then met by a local man who put our luggage in a little cart and we followed him through the lively square to our Riad which is about a 5 minute walk away. We were welcomed immediately by Mohammed who is a massive credit to the Manager Abdul. He poured us some tradtional mint tea and immediately made us feel welcome. The entrance was breathtaking and more than met our expectations. If you want an evening meal meal on arrival let them know in advance and you will be treated to a typical Moroccan treat. Mohammed is always at hand and never seems to go home and therefore is always available for tips on the best places to visit and how to haggle with the locals. Be aware of the Souks though, amazing experience but if you appear to look a little lost in there someone will tell you how to get out but they will expect paying!! Just politely so no thanks and you will eventually find your way out. Breakfast at the Riad was available in the mornings for whatever time you choose to arise. Again you were treated to the best pancakes, breads, sweet fried bread, jams and freshly squeezed orange juice. Eating out is also very cheap but ask Mohammed and he will recommend where to go. A trip in the horse and carriage is also a must, one of the best parts of our trip. Haggle with these too we paid 300 dirhams but he wanted 500! Taxis are cheap enough too, agree a price first and always go a bit cheaper than they ask. Overall we have had the best weekend ever and the best start to my 40th birthday! Once again thank you Mohammed for everything you done for us you are a true gentleman! Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    46
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
100
350
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Riad is pleasant and peaceful, and Mohammed on front of house was charming and helpful. Although some of the rooms looked lovely, travelling with my friend we wanted a twin and were disappointed that it was a very cramped room with no windows. The bathroom was very pretty, but hot water a bit sporadic. The location is excellent though, and the airport pick-up well-organised.
We had a lovely time, but for a cramped room the price seemed a bit steep.

Room Tip: The twin room is cramped and dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chachalyon, Propriétaire at Riad Itrane, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We thank this guest for the kind comment concerning our team, but for a correct and true information for all the users of Tripadvisor, we have to inform them that in contrary at this is written, all our rooms and suite have a large window. These windows can be open and they have all interior shutters to preserve intimity and darkness during the night. This guest has been in our room Galaxy with twin beds,or king size bed and the surface of this room is 24 m².
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Set just near square so perfect for souks and all sightseeing. Mohammed the front of house - is a star. Nothing too much trouble and charming to chat to. He taught us a Moroccan card game too. V quiet riad - we were not disturbed by anything. The ladies in the kitchen were smiley and friendly and cooked fab pancakes. Roof terrace was great to sit on and have a cold beer, listen to call to pray and watch sunset. Room was a little disappointing - bedroom quite cramped, no bedside table, v low lighting so hard to read.however bed was large and v comfy and shutters kept it dark so good nights sleep is easy. Sitting area lovely but again v poor lighting. Bathroom was ok - towels quite worn but v clean. V basic toiletries. Shower hot but weak. I loved staying here and feel with a few little tweaks/attention to detail it could be just perfect. This would be down to Owners to sort/implement not staff as they were brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We enjoyed a few days in Marrakech staying at this wonderful Riad. Based right within the heart of the Medina, ( just 100 yards from "The Big Square") this was not an easy location to find... but well worth tracking down!! Patrice and Charlotte, our hosts, could not have been more helpful. Their attention to detail was perfect, and nothing was too much trouble. Their staff were attentive but discreet, and we enjoyed excellant food and efficient service. Our room was tasteful (the Morrocan-style has got my vote), with a comfy bed, endless hot water, and privacy. Their advice about local prices was very helpful, and their dry sense of humour has me laughing
out-loud still! I recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Travellers to Marrakech looking for a safe haven away from the hustle and bustle of the Jemma el fn'a, this is it. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming, the Riad is very clean and comfortable. This was our first trip to the African continent and i have to say we were not dissapointed, the locals i must admit take a bit of getting used to as they are very passionate at what they do obviously (market traders). If you want a more european feel, head out of the Medina and make for the new part of the city where you will find traditional Cafes and Cafes with a european flavour. We had no complaints about this Riad at all and would recommend it to friends and familly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Riad Itrane. It was around the corner, then down 3 streets, then down an alley to reach from Jemma el Fn'a. We were able to wheel our bags down to the square for a taxi for the train station. You wouldn't be able to get a taxi that close in the evening as they stop allowing cars into the square after 2 (so I am told). But this did seem more like a small hotel. We only saw the manager a couple of times, but the young man who has a room there (Saiid?) was very sweet. My friend's husband kept trying to call her, and Saiid kept telling us whenever he saw us. He even allowed the husband to call on his personal cellphone and then he came up to our room with his phone. We had the Antares Suite, which had a little sitting area overlooking one of the courtyards. There was no a/c in the sitting room, although there was some in the sleeping area. So we did get pretty warm in the sitting area. There were some people eating in the courtyard on several nights, although we didn't try it. They were served wine with their meal, for which they were charged 150 MAD, even though we had purchased the same wine at the market for about 40 MAD, but that is usual for restaurants. The breakfast was juice, bread, cheese in foil, and some kind of pancake thing. And coffee. They were very nice to let us leave our luggage in our room when we left for an overnight visit to Essaouira, since they didn't have a reservation for that room. They didn't charge us for the night we weren't there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights in one of the 3 suites. The bedroom was quite small but we had our own sitting room/ lounge which we tended to use the most. The bed was very comfy, the suite was very clean and the air conditioner worked superbly. Breakfast was served up until lunch time and consisted of fresh orange juice, coffee or tea and breads and jams, this was perfectly adequate.
The riad is located 5 mins walk from Jeema El Fna ( the main square ) and the souks.
The staff were always available day or night to assit with any queries and were always very polite and helpful.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Itrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Itrane

Address: 113, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Itrane 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at only 2 minutes( 0,300m) on foot from the famous Place Jemaa El Fna, taxis and at the entry of the souk and close to the main monuments, Medersa Ben youssef, Palace Bahia and Baldi, and at the entry of the souks, this authentic and magical Moroccan guest house combines the peace and quiet of a local side street and the bustling excitement of all types of interests in the heart of the picturesque medina and close to the centre of "Gueliz", the modern city. This splendid Riad is the oldest neighborhood, it was completely restored in 2008 with elegance and modernity by Moroccan craftsmen in the respect for tradition. " Riad Itrane" provides three courtyards, with threes, flowers, a fountain, and a superb counter-current swimming pool pool, many terraceswith sun deck where you can enjoy a panoramic view of the Medina, the Atlas mountains and the koutoubia. Comfortable living rooms and a spacious dinning room equipped with fire places will offer you a combination of relaxation and delight. Within this unique setting, a particularly attentive team is at your disposal 24/24h to provide you the highest standard catering services which contribute to the excellent reputation of this guest house. French, English are fluently spoken here. Breakfasts are plentiful and varied, and our delicious lunches and dinners are on demand before 11h00 AM, and at a reasonable price. Special birthday dinner with a birthday cake made by the best pastry of Marrakech. " Riad Itrane" welcomes you in the heart of Marrakech to make your dreams come true within a peaceful and unforgettable setting..." " Itrane" means " star" in Berber language, this "star's guest house" will therefore make your life more radiant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Itrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Itrane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Itrane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.