We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Itrane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Itrane to your Saves list
Riad Itrane
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   113, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“welcoming and cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Travellers to Marrakech looking for a safe haven away from the hustle and bustle of the Jemma el fn'a, this is it. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming, the Riad is very clean and comfortable. This was our first trip to the African continent and i have to say we were not dissapointed, the locals i must admit take a bit of getting used to as they are very passionate at what they do obviously (market traders). If you want a more european feel, head out of the Medina and make for the new part of the city where you will find traditional Cafes and Cafes with a european flavour. We had no complaints about this Riad at all and would recommend it to friends and familly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    55
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
108
423
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Riad Itrane. It was around the corner, then down 3 streets, then down an alley to reach from Jemma el Fn'a. We were able to wheel our bags down to the square for a taxi for the train station. You wouldn't be able to get a taxi that close in the evening as they stop allowing cars into the square after 2 (so I am told). But this did seem more like a small hotel. We only saw the manager a couple of times, but the young man who has a room there (Saiid?) was very sweet. My friend's husband kept trying to call her, and Saiid kept telling us whenever he saw us. He even allowed the husband to call on his personal cellphone and then he came up to our room with his phone. We had the Antares Suite, which had a little sitting area overlooking one of the courtyards. There was no a/c in the sitting room, although there was some in the sleeping area. So we did get pretty warm in the sitting area. There were some people eating in the courtyard on several nights, although we didn't try it. They were served wine with their meal, for which they were charged 150 MAD, even though we had purchased the same wine at the market for about 40 MAD, but that is usual for restaurants. The breakfast was juice, bread, cheese in foil, and some kind of pancake thing. And coffee. They were very nice to let us leave our luggage in our room when we left for an overnight visit to Essaouira, since they didn't have a reservation for that room. They didn't charge us for the night we weren't there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in one of the 3 suites. The bedroom was quite small but we had our own sitting room/ lounge which we tended to use the most. The bed was very comfy, the suite was very clean and the air conditioner worked superbly. Breakfast was served up until lunch time and consisted of fresh orange juice, coffee or tea and breads and jams, this was perfectly adequate.
The riad is located 5 mins walk from Jeema El Fna ( the main square ) and the souks.
The staff were always available day or night to assit with any queries and were always very polite and helpful.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I can't say enough wonderful things about the Riad Itrane in Marrakesh and about its owners and staff. We recently spent 4 nights in this lovely "home away from home". Amidst the noise and chaos of the main square and souks sits this beautiful oasis. Although the walk through the square and down the alleyways was a little daunting, once we entered this lovely riad we felt safe and secure and marveled at the tranquility. Patrice and Charlotte made us feel more like family than just visitors and the entire staff (Abdou, Reda, Karima and Fatima) were there to take care of our every need. For two women traveling alone in a strange land, we could not have felt more safe. The food was always delicious and fresh and the staff helped us with tours and the local customs. You always expect your accommodations to be comfortable and clean (and ours definitely were) but the service and friendliness went far beyond our expectations. I would highly recommend Riad Itrane to anyone who is planning a trip to Marrakech. You will be doing yourself a favor by staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Riad Itrane is the perfect recluse; it truly is paradise within the crazy walls of the Marrakesh medina. It is tranquil, exotic, beautifully decorated, very clean, and the pool provides a great way to cool off after a long day of exploring. The staff are kind and so attentive, especially Reda (one of the hotel managers and perhaps one of the kindest human beings we've ever met). The staff always go the extra mile to help you feel taken care of and special; they offered to shine our teapots that we bought in the market, prepared personal breakfasts for us whenever we woke up, and always offered us fresh tea. Best of all, when we came back to our room one day, the word 'LOVE' decorating our bed in real flowers. Reda and Abdou (the other hotel manager) will help you plan your day trips, too - just be very specific about what you're looking for. The location is also fantastic - a five minute walk to the Main Square. The one thing we'd advise against is ordering the Riad dinners - they're very, very pricey. The food is delicious, true, but you can find the same mouth-watering delicacies within the city itself (for much cheaper). Stay here!

Room Tip: Stay in the Ophelia room, if you can! Stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 4 nights in the Riad Itrane which is perfectly situated close to the main square and the souks. Do not be dismayed initially when following your guide (and luggage) through the main square and down an alley to the front door, what is revealed behind it is beautiful and peaceful. The owners, Charlotte & Patrice, together with Abdou, Reda, Karima and Fatima were very friendly and welcoming and combined to make our stay a truly memorable experience. The clean and comfortable accommodation maintained the traditional Moroccan style. The food was delicious and we could have breakfast and dinner at our leisure. Although we had organized some of our own excursions in advance, Charlotte & Patrice were able to advise and book additional trips - nothing was too much trouble for them. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Riad Itrane. Diane E

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great little riad, just off the main square in Morocco. Spent about 6 days here and no one could have made us feel more welcome. We ate here on our first evening, and I can recommend it for a great taste of local food and friendly service. The breakfast was plentiful and kept coming and was more than enough to fuel up for a day of sightseeing.

Our room was clean and spacious and had a great view over the rest of the city, with a small outside area to chill out with a cold beer in the evening (helpfully provided!)

Abdel was kind enough to help us buy some tagines so that we didn't pay tourist prices.

I would recommend this to family and friends when they are headed to Marrakesh in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#14 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
#10 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#7 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#2 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#28 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Itrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Itrane

Address: 113, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Itrane 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at only 2 minutes( 0,300m) on foot from the famous Place Jemaa El Fna, taxis and at the entry of the souk and close to the main monuments, Medersa Ben youssef, Palace Bahia and Baldi, and at the entry of the souks, this authentic and magical Moroccan guest house combines the peace and quiet of a local side street and the bustling excitement of all types of interests in the heart of the picturesque medina and close to the centre of "Gueliz", the modern city. This splendid Riad is the oldest neighborhood, it was completely restored in 2008 with elegance and modernity by Moroccan craftsmen in the respect for tradition. " Riad Itrane" provides three courtyards, with threes, flowers, a fountain, and a superb counter-current swimming pool pool, many terraceswith sun deck where you can enjoy a panoramic view of the Medina, the Atlas mountains and the koutoubia. Comfortable living rooms and a spacious dinning room equipped with fire places will offer you a combination of relaxation and delight. Within this unique setting, a particularly attentive team is at your disposal 24/24h to provide you the highest standard catering services which contribute to the excellent reputation of this guest house. French, English are fluently spoken here. Breakfasts are plentiful and varied, and our delicious lunches and dinners are on demand before 11h00 AM, and at a reasonable price. Special birthday dinner with a birthday cake made by the best pastry of Marrakech. " Riad Itrane" welcomes you in the heart of Marrakech to make your dreams come true within a peaceful and unforgettable setting..." " Itrane" means " star" in Berber language, this "star's guest house" will therefore make your life more radiant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Itrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Itrane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Itrane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.