We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility within the bedlam of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Itrane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Itrane to your Saves list
Riad Itrane
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   113, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility within the bedlam of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 4 nights in the Riad Itrane which is perfectly situated close to the main square and the souks. Do not be dismayed initially when following your guide (and luggage) through the main square and down an alley to the front door, what is revealed behind it is beautiful and peaceful. The owners, Charlotte & Patrice, together with Abdou, Reda, Karima and Fatima were very friendly and welcoming and combined to make our stay a truly memorable experience. The clean and comfortable accommodation maintained the traditional Moroccan style. The food was delicious and we could have breakfast and dinner at our leisure. Although we had organized some of our own excursions in advance, Charlotte & Patrice were able to advise and book additional trips - nothing was too much trouble for them. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Riad Itrane. Diane E

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    50
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
100
363
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great little riad, just off the main square in Morocco. Spent about 6 days here and no one could have made us feel more welcome. We ate here on our first evening, and I can recommend it for a great taste of local food and friendly service. The breakfast was plentiful and kept coming and was more than enough to fuel up for a day of sightseeing.

Our room was clean and spacious and had a great view over the rest of the city, with a small outside area to chill out with a cold beer in the evening (helpfully provided!)

Abdel was kind enough to help us buy some tagines so that we didn't pay tourist prices.

I would recommend this to family and friends when they are headed to Marrakesh in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I spend 5 days in the Riad Itrane with my family.
The combination between the crowded city and the peaceful Riad was perfect. Always only a few streets away, the Riad Itrane is in the heart of the city. The day started with a great breakfast, fresh orange juice and pancakes. Patrice, Charlotte, Abdel and Reda, gave us a lot of tips where to go and what to do. They also organized a tour to the nearby mountains.The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful and comfortable. The pool was the perfect place to cool down after a long day outside in the heat. We also chose to have dinner at the Riad. On a wonderful decorated table delicious dinners were served. Any extra wishes were taken into consideration.
We also got the chance to meet a lot of international people and at the same time had the possibility to have our privacy as if there was no one else.
The Riad Itrane was the perfect place to stay for us and we will certainly come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The location, the owners, the place and the breakfast, was all first rate. The owners made sure we were comfortable on a daily basis and would look things up for us if needed. In true vacation spirit!

Room Tip: We only were in our room so we can't say anything about other rooms, however, we met people who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have recently returned from a 2-centre trip to Morocco and spent the first 4 days at the Riad Itrane.

This is a delightful residence close to the central square in Marrakech and the owners Patrice and Charlotte are particularly welcoming.

We were upgraded to a suite,which was very kind and enjoyed the hospitality offered by the team.

There is a lovely small pool on the ground floor and beautiful terraces on the top with spectacular views all over the city-great to spend an hour or so with a glass of wine!(They have stocks of wine and beer).

Breakfast(continental)is provided whenever you want-even as early as 6am !

We requested dinner one evening and had a wonderful meal right next to the pool-the staff went out of their way to ensure that my wife,who is vegetarian,was well catered for..

When you are first are'escorted'from the main square to the Riad down what looks like a back alley you may wonder what lies ahead-however once inside all your fears disappearI would recommend this Riad to all cuples young or old who are looking for a relaxing stay with peace and quiet but very close to the hustle and bustle of the central square area.

Dale and Hilary Heathcote

Room Tip: Book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This Riad was excellent. The breakfasts were lovely. The people -- Patrice and Charlotte and as well as Abdoo and the lovely cook are warm and welcoming and helpful. It was great to saok in the small beautiful pool after a hot day of walking everywhere in the Medina.
I miss them a lot.
Kiran

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you plan to spend most of your days out and exploring and are looking to be close to the action in the Medina but have somewhere tranquil to escape it then this is the place. Beautiful architecture, refreshing plunge pool, fantastic roof top terrace. Great location by the main square Djemma El Fna you can walk to all the main sights within the medina just be prepared to get a little lost in the souqs as you try to find your way (but thats all part of the fun!) also easy access to taxis or caleches (horse carriages) if you want to see things outside of the Medina.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. If you want to do some day trips out of Marrakech they have a driver Jellal that they arrange for excursions - he is great! Breakfasts were ok, the fresh squeezed orange juice was fantastic! Rooms were very nice, but beds are quite firm very similar to those you find all over European boutique inns. This Riad was an ok value we paid about €100/night for a suite.

In Marrakech EVERYTHING is a a haggle, always negotiate a better price before.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Itrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Itrane

Address: 113, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Itrane 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at only 2 minutes( 0,300m) on foot from the famous Place Jemaa El Fna, taxis and at the entry of the souk and close to the main monuments, Medersa Ben youssef, Palace Bahia and Baldi, and at the entry of the souks, this authentic and magical Moroccan guest house combines the peace and quiet of a local side street and the bustling excitement of all types of interests in the heart of the picturesque medina and close to the centre of "Gueliz", the modern city. This splendid Riad is the oldest neighborhood, it was completely restored in 2008 with elegance and modernity by Moroccan craftsmen in the respect for tradition. " Riad Itrane" provides three courtyards, with threes, flowers, a fountain, and a superb counter-current swimming pool pool, many terraceswith sun deck where you can enjoy a panoramic view of the Medina, the Atlas mountains and the koutoubia. Comfortable living rooms and a spacious dinning room equipped with fire places will offer you a combination of relaxation and delight. Within this unique setting, a particularly attentive team is at your disposal 24/24h to provide you the highest standard catering services which contribute to the excellent reputation of this guest house. French, English are fluently spoken here. Breakfasts are plentiful and varied, and our delicious lunches and dinners are on demand before 11h00 AM, and at a reasonable price. Special birthday dinner with a birthday cake made by the best pastry of Marrakech. " Riad Itrane" welcomes you in the heart of Marrakech to make your dreams come true within a peaceful and unforgettable setting..." " Itrane" means " star" in Berber language, this "star's guest house" will therefore make your life more radiant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Itrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Itrane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Itrane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.