We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience in beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Schanez

Save Saved
You added Riad Schanez to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Schanez
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Derb Chtouka 218 Derb Tadla, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #716 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
lothians
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Just arrived back this morning from this amazing place. The Riad is beautiful and gives you the chance to experience the real Marrakesh. The whole place is an experience and you'll either love it or hate it. We loved it and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We didn't have any problem with the locals and found the people so friendly (their english is also very good). The Riad is an easy ten minute walk to the main square and many other local sights. We were half board, the food was very good and there was always plenty of it to eat. The staff are excellent and nothing was any trouble (they kept you right about how much you should expect to pay e.g. taxis which are very cheap. If you do choose to visit in July be prepared for the heat, it is intense but fine if you like it that way. You can buy alcohol at the big Carrefour supermarket at Al Mazar shopping mall but not any cheaper than prices at home.
Go with an open mind and enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

What can i say it was lovely, Anne was great always had a smile and the rooms were beautiful. Roof terrace is a definate bonus too.
Its located in the Kasbah on the southern tip of the medina oinly a 10min walk away from the main square.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I don't get some of the reviews I have read about this riad - it was wonderful. A perfect peaceful retreat, clean, pretty, lovely staff. On a clear day you can see the snowy Atlas from the roof terrace.

The terrace bar is only open in summer (unless it's ramadan), but you can take your own drinks or get a refreshing mint tea anytime. The spa pool would be wonderful in summer, even in March a treat for hot tired feet. Breakfast was good, as veggies it was appreciated to be able to use the kitchen to prepare our own food from time to time. Lots of nice fresh fruit, veg and bread from the local shops plus a pizza takeaway round the corner.

The staff took us to local hammams, sorting it all out for us and leaving me in very caring, kind hands - do take up this offer, for a woman it is the only way to see and take part in the social life of Moroccan women.

I also don't get remarks about 'not the best part of town'. Sorry, if you stay in the Medina, the Kasbah is the best part of town. We felt at home very quickly, being greeted in the street etc. There are some cheeky kids but they are just trying it on - a bit of humour and admiring their football skills are enough. A few sweets or pens will make you friends!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorfie
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

This hotel is just as beautiful as the pictures - it really is lovely in every detail and gave us a really authentic experience of staying in a Riad which was just what we wanted.The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. Very good value for money.Even though we stayed in Feb and it was a bit wet at times the bedrooms were lovely and warm (air conditioner in room that you control) and the courtyard had enough shelter to eat in comfort.

We arranged a transfer with the hotel staff to pick us up at the airport which was a good idea as it is tucked down a side street and we were not sure that the taxis from the airport would know where it was. This was a bit more expensive than the normal taxi fare but well worth it as we arrived promptly and were able to orientate ourselves in daylight rather than late at night!

The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the main Kasbah road and the Saadian Tombs which are well worth a visit. There is a big Artisan complex on the Rue de Kasbah which is a fantastic place for shopping - 3 floors of delights and all at fixed prices if you don't fancy haggling in the Souks - they also take cards! The location gives you a real taste of life in the Kasbah - fantastic!

We were given a very good tip by some guest already staying there about heading out to the main road outside the Kasbah. There are lots of taxis there that youy can flag down for trips into the main Jemma el Fna square (we paid about 20 DH) or to other attractions such as the Majorelle gardens and la Menara. We found that this was the easiest way to get around. We did walk to the main square as well which took about 25 mins.

There was not a bar open at the hotel when we stayed and we did not see much evidence of bars/ alcohol anywhere in Marrakech - we were not expecting to be able to find drinks easily as we know that the country is a Muslim one and this really did not bother us. There are plenty of things to see and do and lovely things to eat and drink - I really enjoyed the mint tea!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk,sussex
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Very poor area of marrakech, lots of hassle from the children outside the riad, which drove us mad in the end. The staff were very helpfull and sweet.A good 20 minutes walk to the main square.Could'nt get a drink for love nor money in the kasbah area.had to get a taxi to the main shopping area, We felt we being ripped off the whole time..Would'nt go there again, I suppose you could call it an experience..We did have three lovely hot days which helped.Maybe 3 night would of been plenty....We paid between 2 and 5 dhs for a taxi to the shopping area, .You have to barter for everything...We found a bar with a nice roof terrace in the hotel nassim the chesterfield bar.We also went on the red bus tour, which was really good, the best thing we done....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Lovely traditional style accomodation, good value and friendly staff. Is located in the Kasbah area of the city, which is very local and quite a poor residential area... Quite an eye opener and would probably suit more down to earth well travelled types... this was actually a part that made our trip feel more unique! Schanez is a very relaxed place to stay but with little facilities available inside the Riad. i.e the bar is not open and drinks are not readily available which was disappointing, we had to ask for complimentary tea, which to our annoyance we had to pay for at the end of our stay. So you have to venture out into the city for ammenities, which wasn't a major problem about 20min walk. Overall we were pretty happy with the deal we got here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

This was our first experience of staying in a Riad so maybe we should not have been too suprised as we did not anything to compare it with. During our visit the night temperature was sometimes dropping to 2 deg C and since our bedroom door opened directly onto an open air courtyard the room got very cold. We asked for a heater but none were available. We were also unfortunate in having some wet weather, this had the effect of not only making the room feel damp but also the bed. There were sufficient blankets but some nights it took at least an hour to begin to get comfortable. Maybe the absence of an under blanket contributed to this. the bottom sheet was directly onto the matress..
We had half board and had to eat our meals in the courtyard. There was very little cover from the weather and on two occasions when it was raining hard we had to eat our meals with the rain pouring down just inches away. Needless to say we sat there in our thickest fleeces, also any hot food cooled down almost immediately and was certainly cold before finishing the meal.
We have no doubt that in the summer months the shade and the coolness of the courtyard and the bedrooms would be a relief from the summer temperatures.
A bar was advertised but we saw no sign of it and certainly no drinks were offered, but in fairness we did not ask since usually we just wanted to get back to our room.
This was our fourth visit to Marrakech at this time of year so next time it will back to a conventional hotel.
In one report we read it stated that it was a 7 minute walk to the Medina but a more accurate figure would be 25 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Schanez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Schanez

Address: Derb Chtouka 218 Derb Tadla, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #716 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Schanez 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad Schanez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Schanez Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Schanez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;