We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Schanez

Save Saved
You added Riad Schanez to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Schanez
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Derb Chtouka 218 Derb Tadla, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #808 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Nürnberg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was the worst lodging experience ever, fortunately we only stayed here one night. Most incompetent, unfriendly staff ever. Woken up very, very early in the morning by staff with loud cleaning, long before breakfast was served. Then as I couldn't sleep with all of the banging noise, I escaped to the rooftop terrace. The cleaning lady/manager came up to the terrace and started cleaning here too and asked me to leave since she had to clean there (and gave me very unfriendly looks the whole time). Then I went down for breakfast, asked for black tea instead of the coffee which was already in ugly thermoses on the table. The breakfast lady had no idea what I was asking for since she spoke neither French nor English, then the manager came and started yelling at me, telling me that in the eleven years she has been managing the hotel nobody had ever asked for something as unusual as tea for breakfast. She informed me that this was not a hotel, but a Riad, where you are to eat and drink what is served. Never mind that I stayed in Riads and Casbahs during my whole two weeks in Morocco and never had problems getting tea elsewhere. Then immediately after breakfast she kicked us out, telling us that checkout was at 10, not at 12 like in a hotel. Again, all of the other Riads let us stay until 12. When I got angry at this so-called manager for treating us like dirt, she started crying. This is certainly not the kind of atmosphere one needs when staying in the Medina in Marrakech, which is extremely taxing to begin with. There is absolutely nothing about this hotel which I can recommend. Please avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warwick united kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked this holiday via teletext with Truly Tra vel. Plane delayed for an hour with tRyan Air. The Riad is in the heart of Marrekech (Kasbah area prounouced Kisbah) not a very affluent area but if you want to see the real Marrakech this is the area to stay. On arrival which was about 11pm greeted with mint tea and a bite to eat. Anna who runs the place really does make you feel at home with a generous breakfast in the morning. There is intermittent water supply when you need a shower but getting up early helps we only encountered this problem once when we got up a bit late.. Towels are provided but recommend you take your own also bed sheets not changed everyday, hence 4star bed very comfortable and would use this Riad again. No T.V or tea making facilities, however when you have lovely weather and so much to see who needs T.V and as for Tea facilities this is available in the numerous cafes on the way to the market mind you mainly mint tea beaware can be addictive. Anna also would advice on what to pay in the souks (markets ) for items. Good tip was giving to us by a couple just a day before we were leaving who adviced us next time we should go to the Artisan Ensemble to purchase items can be cheaper than the souks. If you have time visit the Atlas mountains and Ben Youseff Madressa pronouced (bin youseff Madressa). We managed to get around without a tour guide even thou it was our first time. If you want to stay in a 'No Frills Riad' this is the one to stay at home from home and a warm welcome. Most of the places we visited were within walking distance only to go to the Jardiners menara and Jardin Majorelle did we use a taxi. Took a leisurely walk back from the Jardiner menara to the souks. Would reccommend walking to place if you can, you get to see the place better and also see things you may have missed.

Room Tip: The Riad was in area which was in the heart of Marrakech and had A.C. No rooms with view but terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Riad Schanez, March 10-14.

Anna, who runs the place is extremely helpful in suggesting and arranging things to do while in Marrakech and will provide a traditionally cook Moroccan evening meal if you advise her at breakfast time.
The breakfasts are varied and substantial and more than enough to sustain you until evening. The walk to Jema el Fnaa is about 20 minutes but any of the frequent taxi's can be flagged down and for a 30 Dirham (£2.20) fixed fare will take you anywhere in the Kasbah.This fare is standard inside the Kasbah (Old Town) but more if you wish to go further. One tip is to state the 30 Dirham fare before getting into the taxi, if you leave it untill the end of the journey you will likely be asked for more.Similarly, getting a taxi from Jemma el Fnaa to the hotel, you will be quoted 50 dr. but if you let them know that you are aware of the price they will agree. Every taxi driver we had was polite and friendly.

A bargain way of seeing the city is the red Tourist Bus. For about £10 it circuits the whole city in about an hour and a half and the ticket lasts 24 hours, you can hop on and off at any time.Also, from stop no1 you can change from route 2 (Cultural Tour) to route 1 (The Outskirts) including the Majorel Gardens and Palmerie.
The red bus company also arrange excursions outside of Marrakech, 23 euro to Essouria and 35 euro to Ouarzazatte being two examples.

There are plenty of eateries on the Rue de la Kasbah which is the main street from the Riad to the Square. One that we used was the Casa Kasbah Pizza place close to the mosque. It was clean and cheap and the staff and owner were very nice here. A Pizza is 50 - 55 dirham, Spaghetti Bolognese 60dirham etc. Alcohol is not readily available in many restaurants other than the more up market ones closer to the square.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We have just returned from 3 nights at this riad-8 of us (4 couples).If you've never experienced this city-this is the place to stay.Anna who appears to run the riad is absolutely brilliant-she can arrange excursions for you at alot lower rate than you'll get here in the UK.We spent a day up in the Atlas mountains with our own local driver-excellent day arranged by Anna.Nothing is too much trouble for her. We were really lucky because we were the only ones staying here so it was like a home from home-we were made extremely welcome and would definately return.It was great to return after a long hot day and cool off in the plunge pool.Take a slow (and careful)-avoiding the mopeds,horses,donkeys and cars!!!! to the square-this will take about 15 minutes.At night the eating stalls in the square will remember you from the previous night-great food in unbelieveable surroundings. Hidden behind an ornate door down a side street-your escape from the craziness that is Marrakech-fabulous!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Clean, friendly, helpful staff, a selection of hot and colds breads for breakfast. The plunge pool is a god send. About 10 mins walk from the main square, so not for lazy folk. Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lothians
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Just arrived back this morning from this amazing place. The Riad is beautiful and gives you the chance to experience the real Marrakesh. The whole place is an experience and you'll either love it or hate it. We loved it and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We didn't have any problem with the locals and found the people so friendly (their english is also very good). The Riad is an easy ten minute walk to the main square and many other local sights. We were half board, the food was very good and there was always plenty of it to eat. The staff are excellent and nothing was any trouble (they kept you right about how much you should expect to pay e.g. taxis which are very cheap. If you do choose to visit in July be prepared for the heat, it is intense but fine if you like it that way. You can buy alcohol at the big Carrefour supermarket at Al Mazar shopping mall but not any cheaper than prices at home.
Go with an open mind and enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

What can i say it was lovely, Anne was great always had a smile and the rooms were beautiful. Roof terrace is a definate bonus too.
Its located in the Kasbah on the southern tip of the medina oinly a 10min walk away from the main square.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Schanez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Schanez

Also Known As:
Riad Schanez Hotel Marrakech
Riad Schanez Hotel
Address: Derb Chtouka 218 Derb Tadla, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #808 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Schanez 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Riad Schanez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Schanez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.