We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Schanez

Save Saved
You added Riad Schanez to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Schanez
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Derb Chtouka 218 Derb Tadla, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #808 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really nice Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Riad Schanez, March 10-14.

Anna, who runs the place is extremely helpful in suggesting and arranging things to do while in Marrakech and will provide a traditionally cook Moroccan evening meal if you advise her at breakfast time.
The breakfasts are varied and substantial and more than enough to sustain you until evening. The walk to Jema el Fnaa is about 20 minutes but any of the frequent taxi's can be flagged down and for a 30 Dirham (£2.20) fixed fare will take you anywhere in the Kasbah.This fare is standard inside the Kasbah (Old Town) but more if you wish to go further. One tip is to state the 30 Dirham fare before getting into the taxi, if you leave it untill the end of the journey you will likely be asked for more.Similarly, getting a taxi from Jemma el Fnaa to the hotel, you will be quoted 50 dr. but if you let them know that you are aware of the price they will agree. Every taxi driver we had was polite and friendly.

A bargain way of seeing the city is the red Tourist Bus. For about £10 it circuits the whole city in about an hour and a half and the ticket lasts 24 hours, you can hop on and off at any time.Also, from stop no1 you can change from route 2 (Cultural Tour) to route 1 (The Outskirts) including the Majorel Gardens and Palmerie.
The red bus company also arrange excursions outside of Marrakech, 23 euro to Essouria and 35 euro to Ouarzazatte being two examples.

There are plenty of eateries on the Rue de la Kasbah which is the main street from the Riad to the Square. One that we used was the Casa Kasbah Pizza place close to the mosque. It was clean and cheap and the staff and owner were very nice here. A Pizza is 50 - 55 dirham, Spaghetti Bolognese 60dirham etc. Alcohol is not readily available in many restaurants other than the more up market ones closer to the square.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We have just returned from 3 nights at this riad-8 of us (4 couples).If you've never experienced this city-this is the place to stay.Anna who appears to run the riad is absolutely brilliant-she can arrange excursions for you at alot lower rate than you'll get here in the UK.We spent a day up in the Atlas mountains with our own local driver-excellent day arranged by Anna.Nothing is too much trouble for her. We were really lucky because we were the only ones staying here so it was like a home from home-we were made extremely welcome and would definately return.It was great to return after a long hot day and cool off in the plunge pool.Take a slow (and careful)-avoiding the mopeds,horses,donkeys and cars!!!! to the square-this will take about 15 minutes.At night the eating stalls in the square will remember you from the previous night-great food in unbelieveable surroundings. Hidden behind an ornate door down a side street-your escape from the craziness that is Marrakech-fabulous!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Clean, friendly, helpful staff, a selection of hot and colds breads for breakfast. The plunge pool is a god send. About 10 mins walk from the main square, so not for lazy folk. Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lothians
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Just arrived back this morning from this amazing place. The Riad is beautiful and gives you the chance to experience the real Marrakesh. The whole place is an experience and you'll either love it or hate it. We loved it and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We didn't have any problem with the locals and found the people so friendly (their english is also very good). The Riad is an easy ten minute walk to the main square and many other local sights. We were half board, the food was very good and there was always plenty of it to eat. The staff are excellent and nothing was any trouble (they kept you right about how much you should expect to pay e.g. taxis which are very cheap. If you do choose to visit in July be prepared for the heat, it is intense but fine if you like it that way. You can buy alcohol at the big Carrefour supermarket at Al Mazar shopping mall but not any cheaper than prices at home.
Go with an open mind and enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

What can i say it was lovely, Anne was great always had a smile and the rooms were beautiful. Roof terrace is a definate bonus too.
Its located in the Kasbah on the southern tip of the medina oinly a 10min walk away from the main square.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I don't get some of the reviews I have read about this riad - it was wonderful. A perfect peaceful retreat, clean, pretty, lovely staff. On a clear day you can see the snowy Atlas from the roof terrace.

The terrace bar is only open in summer (unless it's ramadan), but you can take your own drinks or get a refreshing mint tea anytime. The spa pool would be wonderful in summer, even in March a treat for hot tired feet. Breakfast was good, as veggies it was appreciated to be able to use the kitchen to prepare our own food from time to time. Lots of nice fresh fruit, veg and bread from the local shops plus a pizza takeaway round the corner.

The staff took us to local hammams, sorting it all out for us and leaving me in very caring, kind hands - do take up this offer, for a woman it is the only way to see and take part in the social life of Moroccan women.

I also don't get remarks about 'not the best part of town'. Sorry, if you stay in the Medina, the Kasbah is the best part of town. We felt at home very quickly, being greeted in the street etc. There are some cheeky kids but they are just trying it on - a bit of humour and admiring their football skills are enough. A few sweets or pens will make you friends!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorfie
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

This hotel is just as beautiful as the pictures - it really is lovely in every detail and gave us a really authentic experience of staying in a Riad which was just what we wanted.The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. Very good value for money.Even though we stayed in Feb and it was a bit wet at times the bedrooms were lovely and warm (air conditioner in room that you control) and the courtyard had enough shelter to eat in comfort.

We arranged a transfer with the hotel staff to pick us up at the airport which was a good idea as it is tucked down a side street and we were not sure that the taxis from the airport would know where it was. This was a bit more expensive than the normal taxi fare but well worth it as we arrived promptly and were able to orientate ourselves in daylight rather than late at night!

The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the main Kasbah road and the Saadian Tombs which are well worth a visit. There is a big Artisan complex on the Rue de Kasbah which is a fantastic place for shopping - 3 floors of delights and all at fixed prices if you don't fancy haggling in the Souks - they also take cards! The location gives you a real taste of life in the Kasbah - fantastic!

We were given a very good tip by some guest already staying there about heading out to the main road outside the Kasbah. There are lots of taxis there that youy can flag down for trips into the main Jemma el Fna square (we paid about 20 DH) or to other attractions such as the Majorelle gardens and la Menara. We found that this was the easiest way to get around. We did walk to the main square as well which took about 25 mins.

There was not a bar open at the hotel when we stayed and we did not see much evidence of bars/ alcohol anywhere in Marrakech - we were not expecting to be able to find drinks easily as we know that the country is a Muslim one and this really did not bother us. There are plenty of things to see and do and lovely things to eat and drink - I really enjoyed the mint tea!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Schanez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Schanez

Also Known As:
Riad Schanez Hotel Marrakech
Riad Schanez Hotel
Address: Derb Chtouka 218 Derb Tadla, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #808 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Schanez 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Riad Schanez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Schanez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.