We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic start to Morocco holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar More

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar More to your Saves list
Riad Dar More
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   44 derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #426 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic start to Morocco holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a lovely Riad in the medina. We arranged pick up from the airport with the riad and were met witha man holding the hotel name on a board. The taxi could take us so far and we had a two minute walk t the riad down some lovely alleys in the medina. (The taxi passed out bags to a porter with a cart who then tried to charge us 5 euros for his assistance - refused this and the hotel paid the porter).

The room we had was lovely - very contemporary but with a definite Moroccan feel. Sheets and bathroom were spotless and bed comfortable.

5 minutes walk from djemma and we explored the whole of the city by foot very easily from here.

Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    49
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
117
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Dar More had excellent accommodations. It was more than adequate as far as room and board were concerned. It had a beautiful rooftop, was secure, and although you were very close to the action, it never sounded like it. The Riad was key-only entry, and tucked away into a back alley, where unless you were specifically looking for it, wouldn't find it.

We had two incredible dinners there. Really, those were hands down, the best two (out of four dinners in Marrakech) meals we ate. You will absolutely not be sorry if you eat dinner at this Riad. They were spectacular. The breakfasts varied between pancakes (AMAZING), and crepes. You had your option of eating up on the rooftop, or on the main floor. You might have had the option of breakfast in your room, realistically: we just never asked for it.

The two gals that work there speak Arabic and French, so if you are an English speaker, be prepared for a bit of charades. With that being said, they were both really lovely, and even with only communicating via my broken French, we could understand each other. If not, they were more than happy to call Said, the manager, and have him translate.

The only slight down sides I could see were the excursions. Said, as the only go-between and English speaker, should have done a more thorough job of booking, and explaining what to expect. For example, we had booked a day trip to Ourzazate, and were told the trip would depart at 7, but we waited around until half past, and then were picked up by a cab driver who spoke no English at all, who drove us to a bus (where the driver spoke no English at all). There we no seat belts in any conveyance, and we had no way to relay our concerns. We ended up not going on the excursion, due to my concerns over the safety and comfort of the trip, and I almost felt like we were given a hard time because we opted not to go.

The couple other things that I felt like we were putting them out on included another excursion to a hammam that we had some questions on, and also when asking to have a couple bottles of wine chilled for us, I felt like we were given a hard time. After purchasing a couple bottles of wine from the Riad, it should not be an issue for them to chill a couple store bought bottles for us. At any rate, management should never give the impression that things are too much of a bother.

Another point of slight contention was the transfer. We were told that a transfer from the airport to the Riad would cost €20. We were picked up from the airport, and then dumped out on a side street, where a man with a wheelbarrow picked up our luggage, and practically ran another 7 minutes to the Riad. We had no idea what was going on, just ran after him, trying to keep our bags in view. He led us to the door of our Riad, which I was thankful for, because we would have never found it otherwise, but then charged us another €5, plus tip, for getting us there. When quoted a price for a transfer, I expect that quote to include door-to-door transfer. If it does not, I expect to be informed of that in advance.

All in all, the experience at Dar More was pleasant, and I would recommend them as a nice accommodation in Marrakech. I think that doing a little research in advance, in order to know what to expect in Marrakech, and in general, and perhaps booking your own excursions, would go a long way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Riad dar more is a beautiful place to get away from the bustling city, staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and cool. The breakfast is carb heavy but really tasty and can be taken on the roof terrace. We arranged a transfer from the airport which worked out really well as the driver showed us straight the the front door of the riad, we would never have found it otherwise. We would definately recommend this riad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights in January. The location was very good - just a few minutes from the Medina + souks. We had no issues walking down the twisting alleys during the day and night although it did feel a little intimidating at night. The staff were very nice and accommodating. **Excellent** breakfasts in the lovely courtyard. The rooms were very clean and inviting. I loved the bathroom - cool stone sink and open/walk-in shower. The entire riad had a Moroccan-meets-French aesthetic which was beautiful ... lots of french greys and beiges. It didn't have the vibrant Moroccan colors and designs but I found the subtle colors extremely relaxing after the overwhelming chaos of the medina and souks. :)

Like some other people mentioned, we also ended up having to pay the porter {part of the airport transfer organized by the hotel} an additional 50 dirhams. It was taken off our final bill but we felt a bit guilty as the manager said "This would be coming out of his paycheck." It's unfortunate that this miscommunication has happened to more than one guest. While not a big deal, it would be good if they clarified the cost in the e-mails to avoid any more uncomfortable chats.

That aside, we had a great stay and I would definitely recommend this fab riad and I would certainly stay again if I ever were to return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in mid January and location-wise, it's within easy walking distance to the night market, souks, and attractions like Bahia Palace. It's located down a cobbled, dark alley and the smell of cat spray is quite prevalent in one section. Whilst we didn't feel threatened in the darkish alleys I can imagine it would put some people off. We had arranged a transfer from the airport via the owner but if anyone else does the same, you must ensure you have at least 40 dirhams handy to pay the bloke who pushes the cart with your bags from the taxi to the Riad! We ate dinner the first night which was ok and the breakfasts on the rooftop terrace (you can eat inside) were substantial and good. The room was tranquil, comfortable and clean and the shower was lovely and hot. It was nice to escape the madness of the Marrakech streets to the quietness of the Riad, and we relaxed on the rooftop terrace in the sun for a few hours. A nearby Mosque calls people to prayer as early as 5am but it does't last long and after a day, you hardly notice it. It's a calming contemporary setting from which to enjoy the full-on city life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here and wished we could have stayed longer!
The location was perfect, easy walking distance to the main square, souks and palaces.
The accommodation itself was beautiful. We had a gorgeous room and really lovely bathroom with a very powerful, hot shower - bliss after being in the desert!
The staff were all so friendly and very accommodating. We were offered tea on arrival and the breakfasts were fantastic.
Don't look further - book here!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much, with excellent, attentive service from the staff in this renovated riad. As is usual in the Medina, the entrance was around a dark corner and not easy to find at night, but everything was good inside, the welcome, the tranquillity, the room, and the views from the roof-top terrace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar More

Address: 44 derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar More 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar More Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.