We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, charming and well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar More

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar More to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar More
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   44 derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #393 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elegant, charming and well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

This is the 2nd riad we stayed in Marrakech and we loved it because the service is basically done by women as opposed as other riads that have only men. The girls were super nice and helpful. The riad style is contemporary with a touch of Moroccan. The location is perfect if you don't want to walk to much to get to the square. Be aware it is right next to a mosque so you will be awaken by the 1st call early in the morning. Anyway, there are so many mosques that you will be awaken with any of them no matter where you stay. One high point of this riad is also the shower and the fact that you have hot water shower in the morning and in the evening. Overall I would recommend it 100%!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    46
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
113
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This charming Riad is very close to the centre of the Medina in Marrakech. Five elegantly decorated bedrooms look onto a cool atrium with a waterfall detail. The Roof terrace, where the guests can have breakfast, has breathtaking views to the Atlas Mountains, and Storks were nesting just 20 mtrs away on the tower of a Mosque.

Not the easiest place to find if you were on your own, but despite being at the end of a narrow street in the medina - we felt safe at all times.

The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, despite us not really speaking French or Arabic, Dominique Raby the french owner was also very welcoming and gave us some great tips. I would certainly recommend this place for its location, and quality of stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We are a Spanish Couple that went to Marrakech to spend New Year's Eve. We stayed at Riad Dar More 6 nigths and the second one, we already felt we were at home. The house is beautifull, warmly decorated with a morocan-french style.
The Ryad is situated in a quiet and secure street just 10 min. walking from the Place Djemma Fna.
Malika, the girl at the ryad and Monique, the owner always have time for us, and treated us perfect.
It was my 4th time in Marrakech but the 1st one in a Ryad, and the expierence was great.
We higthly recomend it and we are sure we will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile



We recently had the pleasure of staying at Riad Dar More during our first trip to Marrakech. The warm intimate setting of this Riad, located in the heart of the Medina, was perfect. The staff were friendly and courteous. They quickly made us feel that the Riad should be our home away from home during our visit. This sense of authenticity was clearly a tone set by the owner Dominque. One of the most stylish, warm , and genuine people you will meet in all of Marrakech. She takes great pride in having restored her Riad personally.  Dominque's local knowledge of Marrakech was invaluable. Yes, its near a Mosque and you will hear a call to prayer but it's the same everywhere in sMarrakech. If you are looking for a great location, intimate setting, delightful staff and truly engaging, owner consider Riad Dar More.
We look forward to returning.  

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My partner and I found this Riad on Airbnb-our favorite anti-hotel accommodations locator. It was in our budget, and looked to be comfortable so we booked it. When we arrived at the front door, what we found was well beyond our expectations. To our delight, the Riad was impeccably clean, stylishly decorated, and given the great gorgeous beaming smile from the host Mellica, we felt as though we should have paid double. Our four night stay was a highlight on a 5-week European vacation.
The Riad is a close walk to the central square, to the historic sights, palaces, and restaurants. Although, you need not leave early as a delicious breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace. In the evening I suggest recovering from the chaos of the square with mint tea in the salon, or just sit and listen to the gentle sounds of the indoor water feature bubble the stress of the day away.
In any case, and whatever you find yourself doing, you can be sure that a stay at Riad Dar More will be an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here recently for our wedding anniversary tour of Morocco and it was the little bit of luxury we'd allowed ourselves at the end of a week of touring and camel trekking.

It was certainly luxurious and beautifully, stylishly decorated. Our room was on the first floor, had a gorgeous taladkt en suite which had the best shower we had in Morocco (nb hot water better in the morning). The bed was large and comfortable and it was very nice to have a kettle and tea making facilities in the room. The place was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast, served on the terrace, was quite good. Usually it was bread, a couple of jams, Moroccan pancakes, some yoghurt, fruit and coffee.

It is very convenient for the city. The main square is only a 5 minute walk away, there are some good restaurants nearby and they can arrange airport transfers, which is handy.

Overall, it is a lovely place. We'd booked it largely because of all the nice reviews already on here and on i-escape. However, I'm not entirely sure we saw the place at its best. I have to say we were a teeny bit disappointed with our stay and thought it perhaps a tad expensive for what we got in the end.

We waited an hour and a half to get in to our room when we arrived (this would have been 90 mins outside in the heat had some other guests not arrived back and let us in to sit in the courtyard!). There was a 40-minute wait for breakfast on the first day (we were told it was served from 8.30) and I'm not good at waiting when I'm hungry!

We were pounced on for payment on the last evening too: then told the card machine (there is a surchage for such payments) hadn't been working for days and that we'd have to go and get cash if it didn't work. This would have been a bit inconvenient given the way we'd planned our Moroccan money, the fact that it was nighttime, dark and there is a limit on how much cash that can be withdrawn a day! It marred the last evening a bit and, with a bit of tact and forewarning, could have been handled so much better instead of making us feel an inconvenience and almost responsible for the machine not working.

I feel we missed out on a certain something which made the stay just nice rather than special.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We chosed Dar More under a recommendation of a previous guest. I took a long time searching for a Riad at the Medina, make other reservations, but at the end we cancelled the others and choosed Dar More. The are other places more fashion than this one with more luxury, but this one is very good located, far from the souks fuss, 5 minutes walk from Jeema El Fna and near taxi's. For the location, i would say 5 stars. Then the staff: they all treated us like friends willing to help us, giving sugestions for dinner, places to see and so on. I would give them 4 stars. Then the decoration: local decor, with cozzy places, 5 stars. They always had the atention not to repeat everyday's breakfast, at least besides the bread one other thing was different (the homemade yogurt was simply delicious), orange juice suberb. The terrace was a little bit disappointing, for not been so taken care as the rest os Dar. Our room was big and confortable, except for the matress which was so, but so hard that it seems like spleeping on the floor. We wake up around 0530 AM for the 2 minutes call for pray from the nearby mesquita. But it's normal, and on the other days we get used to it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar More

Address: 44 derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar More 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad Dar More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar More Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.