We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous traditional luxury riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ambre et Epices to your Saves list
Riad Ambre et Epices
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous traditional luxury riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, quiet bedroom, excellent discreet service, food very nice (we had breakfast only.) However
the recommended local restaurants were fantastic cuisine.
If you want to experience the old & new Marrakesh this location is perfect.
Take the tour bus, visit the Jardin Marjorelle or lunch at Hotel La Mamounia. Best of all the locals were a right friendly bunch.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    84
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
299
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at this riad for three days as it was our first visit to Marrakech we wanted to stay right in centre of old town close to all attractions and also wanted a traditional hotel. This Riad ticked all the conditions. This is a lovely clean Riad with friendly and helpful staff especially Hatim and Abdullah with their Manager Patrice.

This Riad is 15mins walk to Jama El Fana from there 5-15 mins walk to all the attractions- Majorelle Gardens are 20mins walk in opposite direction from the Riad.

We booked the whole package including transfers through BA and had no problems at all.

Our friends who stayed in modern hotel outside Madina were really repenting their decision after looking at our pics of the Riad.

I would highly recommend this Riad to any anyone who wants traditional hotel full of character.

I will go back in Nov. to explore more of Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a great hotel. The staff are excellent and very helpful as soon as we arrived someone was there to help us with our luggage, on arrival we had tea in the courtyard and given a map and a briefing about the area, followed by a tour of the hotel. Breakfast was perfect, well presented and always served with a simile. Couldn't fault this place - it's a must visit and in the perfect location to explore the city.

We stayed in Marrakech for 4 nights, and on one of the days we decided to visit the new town, where you'll find McDonald, Zara, KFC ect.. but after 2hours was bored and went back to the old city. When booking this holiday we couldn't decided weather or not to stay in the new or old city, after this visit we would definitely recommend the old city much more to see and do, and an amazing experience to be in the heart of the city.

Thank you to Ibrahim for consistently
providing excellent customer service.




  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in the new annexe of the riad for 4 nights and were well looked after by Ibrahim. The Riad is a cool peaceful oasis in the centre of the busy medina. The place was very clean and all the staff were very friendly. We booked a day trip to the Atlas mountains on the advice of Patrice and this was the highlight of our holiday. Patrice also arranged our airport transfer and Ibrahim escorted us to the pick up point and waited with us until the car arrived.On our first night Patrice booked us an excellent local restaurant and Ibrahim walked us round to it as we were unsure of the way.They couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Having visited Marrakesh before, we wanted to stay in more traditional accomodation and not a big hotel like we did last time. This riad is beautiful tucked away from the busy city. We would recommend asking the Riad to arrange airport transfer as it can be tricky to find if its your first time. Patrice and his team were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms we stayed in were very tastefully decorated, beds were comfortable, you can hear the call for pray and also the birds tweating. Some guests may have an issue with only a curtain seperating the bathroom and bed, but this didn't bother us. (We stayed on top floor. The overall ambience, deco and friendly staff by far outweigh the minor issues.

Once we were shown the map, it was very easy to get about. We casually walked in to the main square and to the souks, but if your not a fan of walking, taxis can be flagged down about a 3-5 min walk from the riad. The location of the Riad was perfect for us. They booked a private 4 x 4 to take us to the Altas mountains, which was perfect and definately a must do.

Only down side would be they didn't accept credit cards.

We would definately recommend this riad and hopefully we will return in the near future. Thank you Patrice, Hatchim and Abdul for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We cannot fault this hotel at all. We had booked a transfer from the airport through the hotel. The driver had waited 2 hours as the plane was delayed. Despite this he was extremely friendly , helpful and skilled at navigating his way through traffic that we had never seen the likes of before.
We were met by another lovely lad who carried our suitcases through the maze of streets as we tried to soak in the vibrant atmosphere .

Our warm welcome at the hotel was simply wonderful. Mint tea, fresh baked goodies and a tour of the riad helped us settle in very quickly.

Our room was on the first floor , looking down on the pool . The bed was large and so so comfortable. Fresh crisp quality bedding. Beautifully decorated in an understated and tasteful way. The bathroom was huge with a wonderful walk in shower. Lots of hot water, soft fluffy towels , soap , shampoo & shower gel. Nice soft toilet paper in plentiful supply.

The riad was so quiet at night... We heard no noise after 11 and got excellent rest. The shutters and large door retain privacy too. Sometimes the call to prayers could be heard and the tweeting of birds in the morning but these were beautiful noises and added to the atmosphere.

Breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace but we had the option to eat in various locations on the riad. Each day a different selection was served with wonderful orange juice.

In the evening , drinks could be ordered and there was no hurry for us to finish up.

Patrice the manager was very professional and was more than happy to help ; he had the perfect balance of being there for you without being imposing. He walked with us to a nearby restaurant (Comptoir) which was brilliant ( we went back again, ). He booked a private car to take us to Essouria for the day. Again , the driver was lovely, friendly and excellent at his job.

We felt assured of getting a high standard of service delivered from Patrice and his team both within the riad and with the people he has connections with .

Fresh flowers were placed throughout the riad each day.

Sweet incense filled the air in a most pleasant way and helped take away the smell of cigarette smoke ( although not many were smoking )

The highlight of the experience was when we dined at the riad to celebrate a birthday. Not only was the food incredible and the table strewn with gorgeous fresh rose petals but then Patrice arrived with a birthday cake which was truly wonderful and unexpected.

We would not hesitate in recommending this riad to others. It is an unpretentious beautiful place to escape into after a day in the souks. Excellent value for money .

Thank you Patrice and your wonderful team.

Room Tip: The first floor room we stayed in was perfect. Quiet, private , clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I would absolutely recommend this Riad to anyone who stays in Marrakech. It is located in the heart of the Medina and really provides a true Moroccan experience. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, they literally bent over backwards for us and provided a 5 star service. I cannot fault anything! The rooms were beautiful, a delicious breakfast on the roof terrace every morning (it almost pains me to write this I wish I was there right now!!) and the staff were just so accommodating. I would advise to book a transfer with the Riad on arrival as it is very difficult to find if you have not been before - once you know where you're going it's very easy to find. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Moullaoud
Riad Moullaoud
#296 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Address: 89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the Dar El Bacha's old district and very close from the famous Souks, this former house, owned in the past by a big trader of spices, renovated in the respect of the art and moroccan traditions, will become your new address in Marrakesh. Riad Ambre et Epices is a place of interbreeding by its refinement inspired at the same time by the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic Marrakchi atmosphere. Turkish bath, massages, swimming pools / Jacuzzi, terraces and solariums will contribute to your well-being and your relaxation, before joining one of the 11 suites and rooms suggestively decorated by the most important steps of the spices route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ambre et Epices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.