We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful sanctuary in such a busy city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Save Saved
You added Riad Ambre et Epices to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Ambre et Epices
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #112 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a wonderful sanctuary in such a busy city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We cannot fault this hotel at all. We had booked a transfer from the airport through the hotel. The driver had waited 2 hours as the plane was delayed. Despite this he was extremely friendly , helpful and skilled at navigating his way through traffic that we had never seen the likes of before.
We were met by another lovely lad who carried our suitcases through the maze of streets as we tried to soak in the vibrant atmosphere .

Our warm welcome at the hotel was simply wonderful. Mint tea, fresh baked goodies and a tour of the riad helped us settle in very quickly.

Our room was on the first floor , looking down on the pool . The bed was large and so so comfortable. Fresh crisp quality bedding. Beautifully decorated in an understated and tasteful way. The bathroom was huge with a wonderful walk in shower. Lots of hot water, soft fluffy towels , soap , shampoo & shower gel. Nice soft toilet paper in plentiful supply.

The riad was so quiet at night... We heard no noise after 11 and got excellent rest. The shutters and large door retain privacy too. Sometimes the call to prayers could be heard and the tweeting of birds in the morning but these were beautiful noises and added to the atmosphere.

Breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace but we had the option to eat in various locations on the riad. Each day a different selection was served with wonderful orange juice.

In the evening , drinks could be ordered and there was no hurry for us to finish up.

Patrice the manager was very professional and was more than happy to help ; he had the perfect balance of being there for you without being imposing. He walked with us to a nearby restaurant (Comptoir) which was brilliant ( we went back again, ). He booked a private car to take us to Essouria for the day. Again , the driver was lovely, friendly and excellent at his job.

We felt assured of getting a high standard of service delivered from Patrice and his team both within the riad and with the people he has connections with .

Fresh flowers were placed throughout the riad each day.

Sweet incense filled the air in a most pleasant way and helped take away the smell of cigarette smoke ( although not many were smoking )

The highlight of the experience was when we dined at the riad to celebrate a birthday. Not only was the food incredible and the table strewn with gorgeous fresh rose petals but then Patrice arrived with a birthday cake which was truly wonderful and unexpected.

We would not hesitate in recommending this riad to others. It is an unpretentious beautiful place to escape into after a day in the souks. Excellent value for money .

Thank you Patrice and your wonderful team.

Room Tip: The first floor room we stayed in was perfect. Quiet, private , clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    66
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
225
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I would absolutely recommend this Riad to anyone who stays in Marrakech. It is located in the heart of the Medina and really provides a true Moroccan experience. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, they literally bent over backwards for us and provided a 5 star service. I cannot fault anything! The rooms were beautiful, a delicious breakfast on the roof terrace every morning (it almost pains me to write this I wish I was there right now!!) and the staff were just so accommodating. I would advise to book a transfer with the Riad on arrival as it is very difficult to find if you have not been before - once you know where you're going it's very easy to find. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. The first 3 were in a room in the 2nd floor, which had a shockingly disgusting sewage smell. When we told Patrice (the manager) he just shrugged and replied -shortly and with no remorse or concern- that it had been raining too much, as if we expected an explanation rather than a solution. This smell was also all around the first floor, where you had breakfast, which was pretty annoying.

Besides, our room didn’t have wi-fi! While they did have wi-fi at the riad, it didn’t reach all the rooms (it didn’t reach ours at least). We told Patrice and told us they had no technical problems, but when we asked Abdul he told us that indeed our room didn’t have connection, and told us precisely where should we stand (!) in order to reach it. It seemed so that they were perfectly aware of the problem, but Patrice the manager didn’t want to face it. The outcome of this was that we couldn’t do lots of things in our room, and had to spend much of the time downstairs, without our things and without privacy, which was very uncomfortable.

Additionally, the “free tea” during the afternoons was never to be seen, even when we were actually downstairs by that time.

We stayed a last night when returning from the desert, and this time they moved us to another much better room, for free, and without us asking. (No complaints on that one, we thank Patrice for the change). Nevertheless, the previous 3 nights were so lousy that in overall we didn’t enjoyed our time here at all. In fact, we were close to choosing another hotel for our last night.

Last but not least: the payment. PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS RIAD DOES NOT ACCEPT CREDIT CARDS, despite what internet says. Do not believe in booking.com, nor in their own website, in which the booking is done with a credit card (but for them to know of your booking, Patrice himself told us afterwards that they don’t have any means of actually charging you, not even in the case of you not showing up). Paying was then a huge problem because we had several credit cards, but very little cash. After arguing for a long time, and afraid of losing our flight, we finally were compelled to pay with the little cash we had and that we needed for another thing.
After one month of our stay, it is absolutely irresponsible from them (or is it intentional negligence perhaps?) not to state this issue at their website, and not having asked booking to stop showing false information.

Positive: to be entirely honest I must yet point out the –relatively few- nice things of this riad. First of all, the architecture and ambience is stunningly beautiful (except for the smell, of course). Second, the music they play constantly all around the riad is very charming, and of a very good taste. Third, this was the only riad during our trip that contacted us prior to our arrival to send us a taxi to the airport/train station.

All in all, we wouldn’t think it twice: we would NOT return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilo3110, Propriétaire at Riad Ambre et Epices, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hello Ms and Mr.
I'm Stéphane the owner of the Riad. We have studied this bad review with Patrice and we have to recognize a lot of mistakes.
You stayed on the room "Cascade d'Orchidées" which is on the roof and it was in february, there was a lot of rain and we have water infiltration issue. That's the reason of the odour and photos. That was the first mistake because we would have to close the room and offer an alternative to another riad.
The room has been closed just after your departure and we repair the walls and fix the problem. I know that it is not a compensation for you.
Secondly, the wifi of the second floor was out of services and Patrice has made the mistake to not verify it. It's a serious one. We can just apologize for it and say that the other reviews show that Patrice is not used to it.
For the credit card, it is really difficult because there is a lot of network problem with bank, but we think that we have find a solution for the future.
Again, we can just apologize for all of these mistakes and we need to improve to avoid such bad (but deserved) reviews.
Kindly regards.
Stéphane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A big thank you to Patrice, Abdul and the rest of the Riad team.
We've had a wonderful stay over the last four nights and thank you for your professional, attentive but not intrusive service.
Thank you for lighting the log fire to warm us on our arrival on Friday night and copious amounts of mint tea ... It was lovely .
The Riad was a delight and we have just arrived back to Worcestershire England and are missing it already - it's a credit to all your hard work.
Just one thing I would recommend and that would be a couple of alternatives for breakfasts for people who have gluten free diets. However overall we found that you very accommodating and hope you enjoy reading our words because you all deserve it.

Room Tip: The new part is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our first trip to Marrakech. On our arrival the Hotel transfer was there to meet us and chatted all the way. Definitely recommend the Riad's transfer as not the easiest place to find. We were greeted by Patrice and shown to our quirky room in the original Riad. It was so different, very clean and well laid out. The map Patrice gave us was great and in no time we were out and about and never once got lost in the amazingly clean alleyways.
Breakfast on the roof was a real pleasure and Ibrahim was always happy to see you and serve coffee , pastries and great .fresh orange.
Could not fault any part of our stay, we were shown the new accommodation that opened in December and again these were of high standard with old and new cleverly mixed together.
Patrice had organised a private tour for us and it was the highlight of our stay, snow in the high Mountains, off road villages, lunch with the locals and off road crazy driving in the rocky Desert.
the sun trap on the roof was very welcome after 3 days of intense sightseeing and much walking and drinks were brought up 3 flights of stairs with the usual smile.
Have already recommended to friends and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: all very different , new rooms are slightly more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

A wonderful stay at the beautiful Riad Ambre et Epices. I travelled with two other female friends, I booked a double room and it was fine for me, but might have been cramped for a couple. My companions shared a suite and I would recommend this for a stay of more than a few nights. Having said this, my room was delightful and I slept very well. Patrice and his team couldn't do enough for us, we had a lovely meal on the second evening and breakfast was always superb. The Riad was an oasis of calm after the bustle of the streets and the not to be missed Jemaa el Fna. And I would urge everyone staying at Ambre et Epices to try the inhouse hamman experience, you'll never be so clean or relaxed again! I have visited Marrakech before, but stayed at a large hotel, I much preferred the riad for the service and atmosphere.

Room Tip: double room a little cramped. upgrade to a suite for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our first trip to Marrakech so we had no expectations but high hopes for something different from our everyday experience in the UK. The Riad Ambre et Epices did not disappoint. It's situated well off the beaten path yet close to the souks and Place Jemaa el Fna. Patrice's map is excellent. Don't bother purchasing one because the streets do not have name signs! Our room was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. The bath was larger than a bedroom in our home and my 6'4" husband fit quite nicely in the large bathtub. The service was excellent. Patrice and Abdul were attentive and helpful at all times. We truly felt special and hope to return someday. Only reason I rated sleep quality slightly lower is because you can hear music and conversation from those having a late dinner. Suggestions: bring ear plugs and your own toiletries such as shampoo and body wash/soap.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Address: 89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the old district of Dar Elbacha and near the famous Souks, this old house, owned in the past to a large spice merchant, renovated with respect for the art and tradition of Morocco, will become your new address in Marrakech.Riad Ambre and Spices is a place of mixing to the refinement of its decoration inspired both of the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic atmosphere Marrakchi.Hammam, massage, swimming pool / jacuzzi, solarium and terrace . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ambre et Epices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.