We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to our expecations; a couple of glitches on departure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ambre et Epices to your Saves list
Riad Ambre et Epices
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 1,123 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manhattan Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lived up to our expecations; a couple of glitches on departure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights and the riad lived up to the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. The welcome tea and cookies were a nice touch, the staff very nice and helpful, lovely breakfasts, and the room comfortable. We were in the traditional riad, not the new, modern riad next door. We looked at both at were happy we chose traditional. It had a lot more character albeit fewer bells and whistles in the room. Our only complaint was about departure. The French gentleman at the front desk was out sick for the final two days of our stay. The young woman who replaced him was inexperienced. She twice gave us the wrong balance on our bill the day before departure. My husband went to the ATM the morning we left and as we were leaving she told us the balance was almost twice the amount she originally quoted. She admitted her mistake and it was fortunate we had euros and could use that to settle the bill. If not, I'm not sure how that would have worked as there was no time to run back to the ATM. The other problem was the hotel transportation back to the airport. A "bell man" walked us and our luggage several minutes out to a parking area for pickup. The car with the hotel's usual driver was 30 minutes late. We had already paid for the transport at the hotel but came close to jumping in a taxi. Either the woman at the front desk failed to book the correct time or the driver decided to hustle another fare before picking us up. We almost missed our flight. Unncecessary stress after such an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Second floor, not the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    80
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
282
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in the new part of the riad. We were two couples and had the two ground floor bedrooms, which were lovely, and use of the courtyard and a comfortable lounge with a log fire as it was quite chilly and rainy whilst we were there. The service was amazing - particularly Ibrahim who looked after us very well indeed. We booked a taxi from the airport through the Riad and were pleased we did as it is difficult to find initially. The location was good with some nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Breakfast was always excellent and we had one evening meal in the Riad and that was lovely too. We went on an excursion to the Atlas mountains organised through the Riad. Phillipe, our driver was very well informed and helpful and had we had a lovely day driving through the mountains and Berber villages.

Room Tip: Our room in the new part was quiet and very comfortable. the shower was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Wouldn't have picked any other Riad. Thanks to Tripadvisor comments we picked this Riad for our weekend trip and we were not disappoint. The Medina of Marrakech is very hard to navigate especially for those that have not been to this part of the world before. You can arrange for the Riad to collect you from the airport by special transfer service. You will then be dropped off as close as you can get to the Riad on foot where staff will collect you. If you haven't been here before do take this service as you won't be able to find it!

The alleys in the Medina all seem very "dodgy" and it's a huge surprise to see what lies behind the door of this building. You'll be welcomed with some local snacks and mint tea.

We were able to check into our room even though we were nearly 3 hours before check-in time. Great service!

The interior is modern but in authentic Moroccan design. We had the suite and particularly loved the gigantic bath tub :-) The WiFi service worked very well, the only downside of the room was the lack of wall sockets and no night lamps beside the bed.

Next day the breakfast was excellent as well, great selection. We were stuffed.

The staff was very friendly and helpful in explaining where to find things and also referred us to an excellent restaurant nearby.

We would loved to have stayed here longer and will definitely come back one day!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Hidden is the word . Ten minute walk from the taxi and you MUST have a guide to find the place. The interior is stunning and the staff friendly and helpful. Once you have you bearings it is easy to get around but it is a good 15 minute hike to the central square where most of the tourist sites are. We took half board and this was excellent value. They even serve quite drinkable wine.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

A lovely sanctuary from the hussle and bussle of Marrakech , the staff were excellent and the service they provided was first class , and the hotel has loads of the charm of Moroccan architecture and i would recommend any time

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed for one week from New Years Day, having booked a BA holiday. I can highly recommend this Riad because it's beautifully decorated throughout, the service is friendly and impeccable and it's location is great, right within the walls of the Medina. I would definitely advise that you book a transfer via the Riad from the airport because, as other reviewers have written, it's not easy to find on your own.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent 3 nights in a lovely standard room on the 1st floor at a reasonable price. It was a beautiful room with ornate wooden carvings and a very comfortable bed. A great location very central in the Medina and yet tucked away in an alley slightly off the beaten track. The riad had a very relaxing atmosphere and we had drinks on the roof terrace every night. It was beautiful on the roof terrace, especially at sunset and a great way to relax after a hectic day taking in the bustling city of Marrakech. The breakfast was delicious. The staff were all great and Patrice arranged a day trip to the Atlas mountains for us at a good price which was probably the best day of our trip! An excellent riad I would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Address: 89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 1,123 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the old district of Dar Elbacha and near the famous Souks, this old house, owned in the past to a large spice merchant, renovated with respect for the art and tradition of Morocco, will become your new address in Marrakech.Riad Ambre and Spices is a place of mixing to the refinement of its decoration inspired both of the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic atmosphere Marrakchi.Hammam, massage, swimming pool / jacuzzi, solarium and terrace . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ambre et Epices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.