We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing haven to enjoy Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ambre et Epices to your Saves list
Riad Ambre et Epices
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A relaxing haven to enjoy Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Marrakech to celebrate TB's birthday and booked Ambre et Epices and after a few emails with Patrice, requested the Trésor de Chine room, on the first floor.

We had a great time staying here, it's small enough to feel like a real guest home, but there is plenty of space to spread out and relax in the sun. Patrice and the rest of the staff are very welcoming and attentive - helping us to make restaurant bookings, helpful hints on attractions, and providing some champagne for a special birthday breakfast treat (there was even some singing!) If you want a chilled night without leaving the Riad, the team can also prepare a delicious traditional Moroccan meal for you, finished off with a glass of wine by the fire.

Like most buildings in the city, all the rooms face into the centre of the riad, meaning no exterior view. Heavy wooden doors are closed at night ensure that you're not woken to early by light, however in Marrakech, you're more likely to be woken by the early calls to prayer - this is unavoidable in the city centre, so pack earplugs if you're worried about getting a full night's sleep. The rooms are also individually decorated, so you can pick the one that best suits your taste.

If you're bad with directions, make sure you take detailed notes on how to find Ambre et Epices... you get the hang of it after a while, but it's not the easiest place to find.

Room Tip: The Tresor de Chine room is on the first floor and has an extra-long bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    70
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
242
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have recently returned from a five night stay in this riad. As other travelers have stated it would be impossible to find on your own but we were met by Abdul who escorted us Up the small alleyways to the riad. Once inside the door we were greeted by Patrice who along with all the other staff Abdul, Fatima and the girl who cleans the rooms works extremely hard to make sure your every need is catered for. The riad itself is an oasis of peace and tranquility! Much appreciated after the madness, hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It is tastefully decorated in cool colors, each bedroom being individually designed, I would liken it to a small boutique hotel. We stayed half board, breakfast was served on the roof terrace and was different every day, being a mixture of either delicious fresh yogourt or fresh strawberries or eggs along with delicious breads and pastries. Evening meals were three course and we had home made soup, or Moroccan salad to start (highly recommended) followed by a different tagine either chicken or beef, desert was usually light, either poached pears or oranges or creme caramel, all freshly prepared. Patrice is extremely knowledgable and helpful about navigating around Marrakech and even arranged our return pick up to the airport. All in all a little gem, highly recommended and if I were to return to Marrakech I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We chose this Riad on the basis of all the great reviews and were not disappointed.
We took the hotel arranged taxi transfer (included in the price) and were very happy that we did as we would never have found it without the guide. If you book 3 or more nights direct with the Riad then the return airport taxi is also included, otherwise it costs euro20. Our room on the ground floor was good with a comfy bed. Breakfast each day varied slightly with fruit salad one day, an omelet another and fried eggs on a third.
Patrice is very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: You can see the rooms (which all have names) on the website so can choose which one you would like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Ambre et Epices and had an amazing time.

Patrice and staff were extremely friendly, helpful and went out their way to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. We asked them to arrange taxi transfer to and from the airport which was well organised and took the hassle out of this part of the journey. I'd recommend this as the Riad would be very difficult to find unguided!

The Riad itself is perfectly formed and the roof terrace was a lovely place to relax in the afternoon heat. Our room was a little small, more due to the fact that we'd got an online deal than anything else and can't be held against the Riad (in future I think I'll book direct).

The location is excellent, just a 5-10 minute walk to the souks and 15 minutes to the new town. There are a wealth of good restaurants close by. We ate in the Riad one night and also had lunch on our last day - the food was excellent and I would highly recommend it. The breakfast was also very good with something slightly different every day.

Very happy that we chose this as our place to stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this Riad and it lived up to our expectations after reading the comments from other guests.
Proprietor Patrice was a wonderful friendly host and takes great attention to detail and looks after you throughout your stay.
We took advantage of the Riad's organised taxi service from the airport, where we were met, greeted and efficiently transferred to the Riad.
Abdul guided us to the Riad and was always on hand, helpful, very friendly and attentive throughout our stay.
We ate at the Riad twice, which was a very relaxing respite from the hustle and bustle of the City, we definitely recommend the food and the local wines.
After a busy day sightseeing we walked back around 5pm, ordered a bottle of local Moroccan wine and sat up on the roof terrace to chill.
Overall, a great place to stay... P and N

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our first trip to Marrakech and it is certainly one we will not forget. This Riad is inside the old city walls in a residential area. Even going to and from the Riad was an experience.

Patrice and his staff were excellent and the room we had was amazing. My partner especially enjoyed the sunken bath at the end of each day. The bed was also really good.

On our second night we ate at the Riad to celebrate Amanda's birthday and it was wonderful. I cannot thank the Riad enough for making it such a lovely evening.

This Riad has 5 or six rooms. There is a seating area in the court yard with a plunge pool and a small sitting room with a real open fire.

Breakfast was served each morning on the roof and it was gorgeous. They always offered something a little different each day. There is spectacular views of the city from the roof and on a clear day the atlas mountains.

We enjoyed our stay but would most probably try a different Riad on our next visit, just for some variety.

I would strongly recommend that you ask the Riad to arrange collection from the airport and ask them to meet you at the taxi. It takes some time to get your bearings. It is like a maze.

Room Tip: We had the Racines Suite and it is excellent. Lovely bed and a great sunken bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is an amazing place in the centre of the Medina - the owner Patrice is very helpful and so friendly along with his friend Abdul, he sent us a very good map of how to get exactly to the Riad through the wiggly streets which was very helpful on our arrival. We were greeted with mint tea and biscuits and a very helpful talk from Patrice about how to get to places etc. The location is perfect: 10 minutes walk to the main square, 5 minutes walk to the souks and 20 mins walk to the new town.

The breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely: freshly squeezed orange juice, pastries, eggs and coffee. We had supper in the Riad one night which was brilliant - Fatima made some delicious food (have the Moroccan Salad!) and we had the whole area to ourselves next to the pool. So different to eating in the centre of Marrakech!!

We were staying in the small room at the top which is a room with a bathroom separated by a curtain which was really lovely even though it was quite small - really relaxing. The communal area downstairs is really peaceful with light music, comfy sofas and a pool which was quite cold so we didn't use it but it looked really nice.

Would definitely recommend this Riad - we looked at hundreds before visiting and very very happy we chose this one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Address: 89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the old district of Dar Elbacha and near the famous Souks, this old house, owned in the past to a large spice merchant, renovated with respect for the art and tradition of Morocco, will become your new address in Marrakech.Riad Ambre and Spices is a place of mixing to the refinement of its decoration inspired both of the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic atmosphere Marrakchi.Hammam, massage, swimming pool / jacuzzi, solarium and terrace . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ambre et Epices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.