We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Save Saved
You added Riad Ambre et Epices to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Ambre et Epices
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #107 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We chose this Riad on the basis of all the great reviews and were not disappointed.
We took the hotel arranged taxi transfer (included in the price) and were very happy that we did as we would never have found it without the guide. If you book 3 or more nights direct with the Riad then the return airport taxi is also included, otherwise it costs euro20. Our room on the ground floor was good with a comfy bed. Breakfast each day varied slightly with fruit salad one day, an omelet another and fried eggs on a third.
Patrice is very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: You can see the rooms (which all have names) on the website so can choose which one you would like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    62
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
221
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Ambre et Epices and had an amazing time.

Patrice and staff were extremely friendly, helpful and went out their way to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. We asked them to arrange taxi transfer to and from the airport which was well organised and took the hassle out of this part of the journey. I'd recommend this as the Riad would be very difficult to find unguided!

The Riad itself is perfectly formed and the roof terrace was a lovely place to relax in the afternoon heat. Our room was a little small, more due to the fact that we'd got an online deal than anything else and can't be held against the Riad (in future I think I'll book direct).

The location is excellent, just a 5-10 minute walk to the souks and 15 minutes to the new town. There are a wealth of good restaurants close by. We ate in the Riad one night and also had lunch on our last day - the food was excellent and I would highly recommend it. The breakfast was also very good with something slightly different every day.

Very happy that we chose this as our place to stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this Riad and it lived up to our expectations after reading the comments from other guests.
Proprietor Patrice was a wonderful friendly host and takes great attention to detail and looks after you throughout your stay.
We took advantage of the Riad's organised taxi service from the airport, where we were met, greeted and efficiently transferred to the Riad.
Abdul guided us to the Riad and was always on hand, helpful, very friendly and attentive throughout our stay.
We ate at the Riad twice, which was a very relaxing respite from the hustle and bustle of the City, we definitely recommend the food and the local wines.
After a busy day sightseeing we walked back around 5pm, ordered a bottle of local Moroccan wine and sat up on the roof terrace to chill.
Overall, a great place to stay... P and N

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our first trip to Marrakech and it is certainly one we will not forget. This Riad is inside the old city walls in a residential area. Even going to and from the Riad was an experience.

Patrice and his staff were excellent and the room we had was amazing. My partner especially enjoyed the sunken bath at the end of each day. The bed was also really good.

On our second night we ate at the Riad to celebrate Amanda's birthday and it was wonderful. I cannot thank the Riad enough for making it such a lovely evening.

This Riad has 5 or six rooms. There is a seating area in the court yard with a plunge pool and a small sitting room with a real open fire.

Breakfast was served each morning on the roof and it was gorgeous. They always offered something a little different each day. There is spectacular views of the city from the roof and on a clear day the atlas mountains.

We enjoyed our stay but would most probably try a different Riad on our next visit, just for some variety.

I would strongly recommend that you ask the Riad to arrange collection from the airport and ask them to meet you at the taxi. It takes some time to get your bearings. It is like a maze.

Room Tip: We had the Racines Suite and it is excellent. Lovely bed and a great sunken bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is an amazing place in the centre of the Medina - the owner Patrice is very helpful and so friendly along with his friend Abdul, he sent us a very good map of how to get exactly to the Riad through the wiggly streets which was very helpful on our arrival. We were greeted with mint tea and biscuits and a very helpful talk from Patrice about how to get to places etc. The location is perfect: 10 minutes walk to the main square, 5 minutes walk to the souks and 20 mins walk to the new town.

The breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely: freshly squeezed orange juice, pastries, eggs and coffee. We had supper in the Riad one night which was brilliant - Fatima made some delicious food (have the Moroccan Salad!) and we had the whole area to ourselves next to the pool. So different to eating in the centre of Marrakech!!

We were staying in the small room at the top which is a room with a bathroom separated by a curtain which was really lovely even though it was quite small - really relaxing. The communal area downstairs is really peaceful with light music, comfy sofas and a pool which was quite cold so we didn't use it but it looked really nice.

Would definitely recommend this Riad - we looked at hundreds before visiting and very very happy we chose this one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have just returned from my trip and, confirm, this riad is a very good place to stay, be fascinated and tempted to come back.
Patrice and Abdul have made my stay wonderful. I had quite a few fears, as this was my first trip to Marakech.
Booking was direct with the riad, in order to get the room I was interested in, Tresor de Chine. Very pleased with the choice! Clean, comfortable and artistic.
We had transfer from the airport, a good idea, as mentioned by others, because it would be very difficult to find the place without a guide.
Once explained and explored, it was easy to walk through Medina, and had no problems in finding the way, day or night.
Breakfast was a fantastic experience; it was served on a terrace, on the roof, in shade or taking advantage of morning sun.
We had a traditional dinner in the riad, in front of an open fire. I was pleased to discover there was a selection of local wine, on offer at reasonable prices.
Patrice is very friendly and dedicated to make everybody's stay a wonderful experience. It was great and hope to return, one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay at in Marrakech.
Patrice answered emails promptly whenever we had questions.
We arranged a taxi with the riad to pick us up from the airport on our arrival. The riad had a member of staff meet us at the taxi rank to show us the way through the alleys to the riad.
Check in went smoothly, we were greeted with fresh mint tea and biscuits. Patrice talked us through the map on how to locate the riad on our own, which we found easy once we did it ourselves.  
It was a short walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa and the souks.
We felt safe in the area when walking at any time. The riad was very quiet inside, you only heard the morning prayers so bring some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
We were in the Racine room which was very nice. It had a comfortable UK king size bed. Plus a seating area with two chairs and table.
The bathroom was spacious with a shower over the bath, there was always hot water.
The communal areas were very nice, an internal courtyard with a water fountain where meals were served. There was also a roof terrace that you could go up to and have breakfast if the weather was good.
Breakfast was pastries, breads, marmalade, fried egg, yoghurt, coffee, teas etc.
Patrice offered dinner in the riad for our first night. The food was delicious. They also arranged for some musicians to sing and play typical music during the meal which added to a great atmosphere for all the guests.
All staff were very friendly and efficient. They spoke Arabic, French and English so it was easy to communicate.
We booked a hamman through the riad as they have a spa room where you can do this which was a nice facility to have. The hamman was able to do the two of us (male and female) at the same time so you could experience it together - it was great!
If we visit Marrakech again we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Address: 89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the old district of Dar Elbacha and near the famous Souks, this old house, owned in the past to a large spice merchant, renovated with respect for the art and tradition of Morocco, will become your new address in Marrakech.Riad Ambre and Spices is a place of mixing to the refinement of its decoration inspired both of the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic atmosphere Marrakchi.Hammam, massage, swimming pool / jacuzzi, solarium and terrace . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ambre et Epices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.