We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem, great riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ambre et Epices to your Saves list
Riad Ambre et Epices
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, great riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay at in Marrakech.
Patrice answered emails promptly whenever we had questions.
We arranged a taxi with the riad to pick us up from the airport on our arrival. The riad had a member of staff meet us at the taxi rank to show us the way through the alleys to the riad.
Check in went smoothly, we were greeted with fresh mint tea and biscuits. Patrice talked us through the map on how to locate the riad on our own, which we found easy once we did it ourselves.  
It was a short walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa and the souks.
We felt safe in the area when walking at any time. The riad was very quiet inside, you only heard the morning prayers so bring some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
We were in the Racine room which was very nice. It had a comfortable UK king size bed. Plus a seating area with two chairs and table.
The bathroom was spacious with a shower over the bath, there was always hot water.
The communal areas were very nice, an internal courtyard with a water fountain where meals were served. There was also a roof terrace that you could go up to and have breakfast if the weather was good.
Breakfast was pastries, breads, marmalade, fried egg, yoghurt, coffee, teas etc.
Patrice offered dinner in the riad for our first night. The food was delicious. They also arranged for some musicians to sing and play typical music during the meal which added to a great atmosphere for all the guests.
All staff were very friendly and efficient. They spoke Arabic, French and English so it was easy to communicate.
We booked a hamman through the riad as they have a spa room where you can do this which was a nice facility to have. The hamman was able to do the two of us (male and female) at the same time so you could experience it together - it was great!
If we visit Marrakech again we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    70
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
242
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Riad was just so perfect, secluded and peaceful with soft modern chill out Jazz playing throughout the waking hours, which added to the ambience. We had the small double on the top, which was just right as we were up and about everyday so the larger rooms would have been wasted. Fatima cooks wonderfully, the food is out of this world. The decor is tastefully married up, nothing is too much service and the lady that cleans the rooms is never really seen, but she tidies up in a way that is really appreciated, Patrice & Abdu an amusing Double Act! If you want a true experince that is personal.. visit this Riad... missing my sunshine breakfast :(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smallfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Patrice, the owner, sent a delightful young man by the name of Abdu to meet us from our taxi and guide us down several little alley ways to this lovely riad. It really is a little haven of peace and tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Patrice who is so very helpful and friendly made us very welcome and we found our room to be spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Our breakfasts served on the roof terrace were excellent and we had a very good evening meal prepared by Fatima. I highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Islas Baleares, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Riad is simply great! The owner Patrice is a very kind guy, very patient to tell you all the best tips where to eat in Marrakech! The Hotel is beautiful, the staff very friendly and it is super clean everywhere. A beautiful romantic oasis in the middle of the Medina. We will come back! Daniela&Shane

Room Tip: All rooms are great! We had a tour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Went away to this riad for my 1year anniversary. At 1st I wasnt sure of the alley ways that lead to this beautiful gem at the end of the road. Definitely an oasis!!

Worried that at night it won't be safe but to my disappointment it was the safest walk down a alley way I have ever taken (alley ways are roads to residential areas so please don't be alarmed, the locals are very nice and helpful).

Away from the hustle and bustle and busy roads this is the perfect place to relax and chill out.

Breakfast was always great. The staff were definitely the extra cherry on top o everything positive about the riad. Patrice was brilliant always helpful af at your service.

The main square only 15mins walk or 5mins by taxi. Be sure to stay at this riad the best experience iv ever had.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I bought this holiday for my partner for Christmas and the hotel was one of the best parts. It was an excellent place to stay - tucked away, calm and the ultimate retreat from the crowded streets. Food was also superb, both breakfast and dinner! And the wine was not a bad price either!


Many thanks once again for a great time including all the small touches!

p.s. look out for the sunsets on the roof terrace - it was breathtaking with a mosque either side and mountains in the background!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Super riad tuckud away in medina, just behind kings palace and 10 minutes walk from koutobia mosque. Patrice is an excellent host from minute one. One of the definitiive places to stay in Marrakech. Kind regards from Sal and sadia

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Address: 89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the old district of Dar Elbacha and near the famous Souks, this old house, owned in the past to a large spice merchant, renovated with respect for the art and tradition of Morocco, will become your new address in Marrakech.Riad Ambre and Spices is a place of mixing to the refinement of its decoration inspired both of the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic atmosphere Marrakchi.Hammam, massage, swimming pool / jacuzzi, solarium and terrace . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ambre et Epices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.