We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far From the Madding Crowd (and scooters)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ambre et Epices to your Saves list
Riad Ambre et Epices
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Far From the Madding Crowd (and scooters)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Approached through a maze of unpromising alleyways this Riad is a hidden gem. Beautifully designed and furnished with superior taste, Ambre et Epices is elegant, peaceful and welcoming. Outstanding service and customer care from Patrice and his staff, delightful food and comfortable beds combine to make this the perfect place to stay near the centre of Marrakech.

A tip - taxis have to drop you off some distance away (two hundred yards) so book a reputable transfer before travelling, so that you will be guided to the Riad. You won't find it on your own - no street names, numbers etc! And take some small change, either dhirams or euros. Money exchange at Airport not open when we arrived early evening.

Room Tip: Go for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Ok, so the surprise to this Riad is the long walk through the labyrinth of Marrakeches alleyways. You finally reach a rather scruffy dead end, feel almost dissappointed if not worried, you go in through a little door and suddenly, hey presto you are in a little palace. Beautifully designed, roof terrace, small dipping pool, hammam, courtyard, everything and more you would expect of your Marrakech Riad. Rooms again beautifully designed. Wi Fi. Great traditional Maroccan breakfasts. Excellent staff - friendly personal atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this to all. You won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have been made extremely welcome by Adil, Patrice and Abdul and cannot recommend this Riad highly enough. Everything is excellent!

A real oasis of calm from the hustle and bustle.

Just one tip - book an airport transfer to get you there - you will never find it without assistance the first time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanFTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

There are many Riads in Marrakech, and they aren't all that dissimilar. What sets this one apart is the location, tucked far back in the quiet residential streets of the medina, and the food. Our meal here was amongst the best we had in the country, and certainly in Marrakech. If you stay here, brush up on your French, as English is a challenge. But you should dust off your French anyways if going to Morocco.

Room Tip: Do not close the large wooden doors to your room when leaving for the night, as this is a sign you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent a magical week in Marrakech walking every day in the Medina getting a feel for the place and people. Both were above and beyond expectations as was the riad. Patrice and his staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful, the breakfasts were varied and tasty and the riad was SO pretty. I was particularly taken with the tadelakt walls, the elaborate decoration and the location in among the back streets near the Dar el Bacha palace. The riad is very handy for the souks, the square and the jardins Majorelle. Patrice was on hand to give us advice about the best daytrips, where to get more money (you will always want to spend more than you thought) and the price you should expect to pay for things. We have no hesitation about giving Ambre et Epices top marks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent five days in Marrakesh and in the Riad Ambre & Epices and we were absolutely delighted to have found this beautiful place and absolute oasis of peace in the middle of the medina. Coming back from a fascination but also noisy and chaotic day in Marrakesh, opening the massive wooden door and stepping into the cool and calm inyard with its little pool, the lounge chairs, quiet music and beautiful decoration was really like entering a different world. And after having had a traditional peppermint tea with some cookies, a chat with the super nice owner of the Riad and just some quiet moments we were refreshed and ready for the next adventure. The Riad is extremely beautiful - a traditional Moroccan house, nicely decorated and with everything you need for a relaxing and nice vacation - and the breakfast is just amazing. Everyday we had a little variation of sweets, fruit salad, bread - and what could be a better way to start your day than sitting on the roof top terrace in the shade and having a freshly squeezed orange juice while going over the possible plans for the day? All this beauty was absolutely perfected by the warm and extremely welcoming service we could enjoy during our stay. We always got good advice for nice places to eat, a perfect goal for a day trip or just had a little chat about the day. Finally I can only say: Travelers going to Marrakesh should absolutely not miss this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apoelchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This Riad is a gem - home away from home. From the minute we walked in to the moment we left we loved it here. The manager Patrice is really helpful and friendly and the rest of the staff is very welcoming. I even hurt my foot while I was swimming and Patrice immediately provided a bandaid. Patrice was able to arrange a massage for me on very short notice as well. Once given a map the Riad is easy to navigate and is about a 15 minute walk from Djemma el Fna and the souks. The rooms are elegantly decorated and the property is peaceful and relaxing. The pool is a great way to fight off the heat and the terrace was really nice as well. All in all we had a great stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#85 of 1,148 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Address: 89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the Dar El Bacha's old district and very close from the famous Souks, this former house, owned in the past by a big trader of spices, renovated in the respect of the art and moroccan traditions, will become your new address in Marrakesh. Riad Ambre et Epices is a place of interbreeding by its refinement inspired at the same time by the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic Marrakchi atmosphere. Turkish bath, massages, swimming pools / Jacuzzi, terraces and solariums will contribute to your well-being and your relaxation, before joining one of the 11 suites and rooms suggestively decorated by the most important steps of the spices route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing