We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegent. Modern comfort inside the old city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Save Saved
You added Riad Ambre et Epices to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Ambre et Epices
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Elegent. Modern comfort inside the old city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed in the Trésor de Chine room for two nights and loved it! The room is not that big, but we liked the color and the simple, modern decor. The most important thing is that the bed and the bathroom are nice and clean! It has the western-standard amenities. I was thrilled to see that there was a hair dryer in the room, which was not available in most of the riads we stayed in Morocco.

Room Tip: The Trésor de Chine room is on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    53
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
202
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stunning interior and warm welcome from Patrice. Great aircon and the best bed we've stayed in for a long while - so very comfortable with silky sheets (very high thread count!). We stayed in the Suite Racines. Abdul was incredibly helpful and showed us to the square on the first night. Lovely breakfasts, with the main ingredient changing each day so there was a variety of things to try. Roof terrace was sunny and relaxing and we enjoyed our complimentary mint tea and pastries there most afternoons. Treated myself to the private hammam and it was awesome! Just wish my French was a little better so that I could have told Abdul and the Hammam lady how good I thought they were. Patrice has a good level of English. This was the first place we stayed during our trip to Morocco (February), and was far and away the best place we stayed.

Room Tip: Suite Racines was lovely - private, great bed and with a stylish bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Hidden spot in Marrakesh. Very comfortable, high class, excellent breakfast, super nice rooms, service and hospitality. Patrice, the owner made us feel as if we where home. The best of the attentions, great tips to move around Marrakesh. Mint tea and three course dinner to die for. The decor is all about details. Splendid!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms is an excellent choice. The ones on the first floor have a great view of the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I cannot rate this Riad highly enough! We were greeted warmly with delicious mint tea and traditional biscuits by the owner, Patrice who, along with the rest of his staff, ensured our entire stay was relaxing and unique. The Riad is finished to a beautiful standard with stunning views and a sense of tranquillity I have never experienced before. Our room was lovely, with a wonderfully quirky shower in the centre of the room adding to its authentic charm! Although slightly off the beaten track it is well worth finding! I hope to go back in the future and already have friends set up to go upon my recommendation!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This Riad is truly a hidden gem. Situated away from the hustle of the main square, it is perfectly located to access the majority of sites. I cannot find fault in the service and attention to detail that Patrice puts into the Riad - the rooms are comforable, the terrace boasts fantastic views and the offers the oppurtunity to soak up some sun and the main courtyard is wonderfully decorated.
The breakfasts each morning are delicious and the 3 course evening meal is an absolute must!

I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: The higher floors offer a great view over the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

What a great riad tucked away from it all. From arriving to leaving Patrice and his staff made us feel so welcome, excellent service. Excellent breakfast with attention to detail ( something different everyday ) . Had a three course evening meal which was lush. Would recommend this riad and Marrakech for a lovely relaxing break !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

This Riad is a hidden gem, and for it's guests nothing is too much trouble, so just sit back and enjoy Marrakech in Style.

Heaven on Earth...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech
Address: 89 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the old district of Dar Elbacha and near the famous Souks, this old house, owned in the past to a large spice merchant, renovated with respect for the art and tradition of Morocco, will become your new address in Marrakech.Riad Ambre and Spices is a place of mixing to the refinement of its decoration inspired both of the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic atmosphere Marrakchi.Hammam, massage, swimming pool / jacuzzi, solarium and terrace . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ambre et Epices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.