We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THEFT and poor service from management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chi-Chi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chi-Chi to your Saves list
Riad Chi-Chi
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb el Anboub 12 | El Baroudiyines, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“THEFT and poor service from management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Although I am negatively reviewing this hotel, I would like say that most staff are excellent and the Riad is beautiful. However, during our stay, we had money stolen from our safe and poor treatment from management.
We had brought euros solely to pay for our hotel room, as advised by the bookings manager. This money never left our safe and we knew exactly how much we had. When we discovered it had been taken from the safe, we reported the theft to the staff and asked to speak to the manager.
After being told that the manager, would be with us shortly, we were kept waiting for four hours. Hungry and thirsty, we gave up and went to buy dinner. We returned to find two women, casually dressed, who we first thought were guests. One of them then introduced herself as the manager and point blank told me that she trusted the staff not to take money and that was pretty much it. I was shocked that she didn’t ask us anything about what had happened or even ask to look at our room/safe. She had the discussion with us in front of all the staff and her friend which we found unprofessional and embarrassing (as if reporting the theft wasn’t a horrible enough experience). She also smelt like she had been drinking and had obviously been out to dinner whilst we had been waiting in the riad. The next day she claimed that she had never received our emails or phone calls!
Throughout the conversation she made us feel like it was our fault. She implied that we must have accidently spent the money/ lost it. I assured her we had searched the room completely and explained we knew exactly how much was in there and had receipts to show this. We would not make an accusation of theft without being 100% sure. I am training to be a doctor and my boyfriend is an engineer. We are honest people. However, the hotel manager made us feel like we were just trying to get a free dinner or something.
She then told us to report it to the police and we obliged. This involved us walking over an hour across Marrakesh in the night to find the police station. One member of staff came with us. He was brilliant and we would have been lost without him. We then spent the night in a Marrakesh police station being questioned and going back and forth with the police to the Riad. The police were very professional although it was an unpleasant experience. We arrived back at the hotel around 1am. The manager was nowhere to be seen throughout this.
The next morning she was standing outside our hotel door. We had just woken up after a late night at the police station and were on our way to breakfast. We ended up having a similar discussion as the night before on the staircase. Some other guests arrived at which point she said she would speak to us later. She chose to speak to us at inappropriate moments.
Overall, we felt that she lied frequently throughout the whole experience. For example, she told us the hotel only had three staff when we know it had five (including a new member of staff); she told us initially that hotels in Morocco don’t have insurance and later told us that the Riad did have insurance but it wasn’t for guests; she told us that only one member of staff could access the safes, which seems ridiculous. How could a hotel run with only one member of staff which could do that unless he was there 24/7 365 days of the year? She also told us personal details about herself and the staff (such as health conditions) which made us feel uncomfortable.
Despite the help of some staff, we could not access a declaration and therefore could not claim any money back from our travel insurance. The hotel refused to compensate us, which we felt was unreasonable. They even had the cheek to charge us interest because we had to pay for the hotel using a debit card as our euros had been stolen! In terms of goodwill at least, this should have been refunded to us.
Overall, it spoilt over half of our holiday, and ruined what should have been a relaxing, enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VonReid, Owner at Riad Chi-Chi, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are very sad and shocked that this guest has chosen to put yet a second review for the same incident. She is in fact the partner of Gabriel S and we have already responded to his review . However we must respond to a number of discrepancies . One of which, is that she stayed at the same time as her partner Gabriel S and not in July. We can absoulutely confirm we have 4 members of staff in the riad. The manager, cook, cleaner and guardien. It was the manager , Saleh, who guided this couple through this incident and accompanied them through the police process. In our numerous email communications with this guest we assured her we of course have insurance but this does not cover this type of incident. Incidents of this nature are covered by the guests travel insurance. The reservations manager was in Marrakech at the time and happened to be staying at the riad the evening of the report. She arrived at the riad with no knowledge of the incident as it was her night off and she was having dinner there with her friend. She tried to advise the couple purely as a kindness and did offer them dinner in the riad to cheer them up, but this was refused. The incident was reported on the penultamate evening of their stay, and as previously stated they went on a day trip to the atlas, without reporting the incident untill their return. Thus losing valuable time and potential evidence. We insisted that the police were involved as this is standard protocol. . We have never had an incident of this kind before, in all the years we have been operating and all our day staff have been with us since the day we opened, so it was shocking for everyone. Our staff conducted this whole incident with professionalism and compassion . All the wonderful reviews on here are testament to the service and care we show our guests and we shall continue to give excellent customer service to all our future guests. Cyrille Belamy , Yvonne Reid and all the team at Riad Chi Chi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    36
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
26
115
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My brother and I stayed in the twin room of this very intimate Riad in Marrakech. Saleh made our stay very comfortable. He was attentive, spoke English well and organized our trips and driver. There was no request that was not attended to. I highly recommend Riad Chi Chi. We will definitely come back and stay here.

Room Tip: the double room upstairs is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 4 days and 3 nights at Riad Chi Chi over Easter and loved every minute!
the riad was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the breakfast and mint tea was delicious and the staff were so kind and knowledgeable, helping with everything from transfers, to restaurant reservations, tips for places to eat and maps to get around.
We stayed in ivory room which had a stunning bedroom and bathroom, the roof terrace was also a lovely place to sit and relax.
We cannot wait to return to Marrakech and Riad Chi Chi in the future!

Room Tip: Ivory was spacious and on the first floor so therefore had added privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights here and found it to be a very comfortable and friendly place to stay. The Riad is very simply decorated, but beautiful. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. We had dinner there our first night and lunch there on our final day. The food is as good as any we ate anywhere else in Marrakech and this includes some of the upmarket restaurants. But what makes this place really special is the care the staff devote to you. Saleh looked after us as if he was family, taking us to places we were unsure of finding, taking us shopping and making certain that we had everything we needed. The two ladies who work there were also very friendly and did their utmost to make sure that we were comfortable. The only slight downside to this Riad is that it is very difficult to find (don't even think of trying to find it on your own when you first arrive) and of course we were lost constantly more or less for the first 24 hours of our stay, but that is all part of the Marrakech experience! However the upside of the location is that it is very close to 2 excellent restaurants, Le Jardin and Le Fondouk, and also the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musee Marrakech.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are a bit more private as meals are served in courtyard, outside the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

When deciding to take a few days break together in Marrakech, we were overwhelmed with the number of riads available. Therefore to choose the one which will make your all to precious long weekend a real pleasure, is to say the least confusing and difficult. We plumped for Riad Chi Chi and we haven't regretted that decision for a moment!

What drew my attention to Chi Chi were firstly the good reviews for the service and food that this riad has collected over the years. Then the style of decoration which is throughout the whole riad, clean, airy and elegant.

Our visit was organised from beginning to end with the services of an airport pick up to take you without stress to the riad and they even lend you a mobile telephone during your stay, to help avoid being lost whilst exploring the sights...which it all too easy to do on a first visit to the Medina!

The food and service was all it claimed to be and the staff, especially Saleh, couldn't be more helpful. We felt that we were being welcomed into their own family, such was the care taken to make sure that our stay was perfect.

We would certainly recommend Riad Chi Chi. We had a lovely time and would love to return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

If it's your first visit to the medina then getting dropped off at the outskirts of the souks and being escorted down the narrow passages, past stalls with owners pressing you to buy and experiencing the various smells along the way can be a shock. Then being directed down an even narrower alley to a simple door makes you wonder what you're letting yourself in for!

You need not worry, the Chi Chi is a little piece of tranquility within the hubbub of the medina. Greeted by Salah, who you'll soon realise is your best friend in Marrakech, you're given mint tea and taken to you room. Clean, crisp and very much part of the medina as opposed to staying outside in the usual city hotels. The pictures on the website are accurate and I won't repeat all the other points re the toiletries etc.

Take direction from Salah and his basic map to navigate yourself around the confusing alleys and you'll soon find yourself getting to know your way round. He happily walks you to recommended restaurants, bars and hammams. I did the cookery lesson there and recommend it and also took a trip to the Atlas mountains in a shared cab arranged by Salah.

Breakfast - breads, yoghurt, cream cheese, jams, boiled eggs/omelettes, local flat bread, tea, coffee.... all good.

This is a small place and the courtyard means everyone can hear everyone else but it has a lovely family feel and I could not have asked for more. You're in a muslim country so don't expect alcohol on the limited hotel menu (order in advance) but there are bars within 5 minutes walk.

Salah is the star of the show and could not do more for bemused and lost travellers.

Stay in the medina and at the Chi Chi..... it's a great experience.

Room Tip: A bit quieter upstairs and those on the ground floor open directly into the small courtyard where pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Arriving at night in the middle of the souk was a disconcerting experience but any fears were immediately allayed on meeting Salah - manager and concierge of Riad Chi Chi - who led us through the rabbit warren of passageways to the calm oasis of the riad. The riad is simple, clean and elegant, comprising of 5 comfortable rooms with en suite bathrooms, all stocked with gorgeous organic, handmade soap and shampoo. The riad is perfect - neatly tucked away amidst all the action of the souk, near some fantastic restaurants and the best place to retreat to when it all gets a bit much. You can have spa treatments at the riad, relax on the rooftop and even have cooking lessons with a trip to the market to buy the ingredients you need. Salah is really the star of the show - he couldn't be kinder and more patient. He'll make restaurant bookings, appointments at the hammam and book day trips for you. Crucially, he'll also make sure you are never lost - collecting you if you get stuck and making sure you get to where you're going (you can even borrow a mobile belonging to the road to call him if needed). We had a fantastic time at Riad Chi Chi and I couldn't recommend it more - I would happily return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chi-Chi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chi-Chi

Address: Derb el Anboub 12 | El Baroudiyines, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chi-Chi 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Chi-Chi is a small, chic riad in a great locationIt is ideally situated in a quiet cul-de-sac in the centre of the Medina, close to the Musée de Marrakech and the Medersa Ben Youssef, only 1 minute from the entrance to the Souks and a short stroll through the Souks to the Square, Place Jemaa el Fna.It has 4 double bedrooms and 1 suite (max. occupancy 11), each with an en-suite bathroom. Its cool, simple and elegant lines create a calm and relaxing atmosphere. There are plenty of intimate sitting areas - roof terrace, courtyard with soothing fountain and Islamic pool, b’hou (Moroccan sitting area) and salon. Fabulous views over the Atlas Mountains from the roof terrace. In the evenings the riad is bathed in candlelight adding to the romantic feeling of this gorgeous riad. The relaxed and welcoming atmosphere means that staying at Riad Chi-Chi is more like visiting friends than staying in a hotel. The riad offers a whole range of services, such as being served mint tea with pastries on arrival, mineral water in your room on arrival, free internet access, use of a mobile phone during your stay. On top of that, the riad will be happy to arrange trips, recommend and organise restaurant bookings as well as beauty/massage treatments in the riad leaving you to relax and enjoy your stay in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Chi-Chi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chi-Chi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chi-Chi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.