We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home, in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chi-Chi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chi-Chi to your Saves list
Riad Chi-Chi
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb el Anboub 12 | El Baroudiyines, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off and free transfer
Ranked #354 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Home from home, in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights here and found it to be a very comfortable and friendly place to stay. The Riad is very simply decorated, but beautiful. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. We had dinner there our first night and lunch there on our final day. The food is as good as any we ate anywhere else in Marrakech and this includes some of the upmarket restaurants. But what makes this place really special is the care the staff devote to you. Saleh looked after us as if he was family, taking us to places we were unsure of finding, taking us shopping and making certain that we had everything we needed. The two ladies who work there were also very friendly and did their utmost to make sure that we were comfortable. The only slight downside to this Riad is that it is very difficult to find (don't even think of trying to find it on your own when you first arrive) and of course we were lost constantly more or less for the first 24 hours of our stay, but that is all part of the Marrakech experience! However the upside of the location is that it is very close to 2 excellent restaurants, Le Jardin and Le Fondouk, and also the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musee Marrakech.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are a bit more private as meals are served in courtyard, outside the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    36
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
27
119
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carcassonne, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

When deciding to take a few days break together in Marrakech, we were overwhelmed with the number of riads available. Therefore to choose the one which will make your all to precious long weekend a real pleasure, is to say the least confusing and difficult. We plumped for Riad Chi Chi and we haven't regretted that decision for a moment!

What drew my attention to Chi Chi were firstly the good reviews for the service and food that this riad has collected over the years. Then the style of decoration which is throughout the whole riad, clean, airy and elegant.

Our visit was organised from beginning to end with the services of an airport pick up to take you without stress to the riad and they even lend you a mobile telephone during your stay, to help avoid being lost whilst exploring the sights...which it all too easy to do on a first visit to the Medina!

The food and service was all it claimed to be and the staff, especially Saleh, couldn't be more helpful. We felt that we were being welcomed into their own family, such was the care taken to make sure that our stay was perfect.

We would certainly recommend Riad Chi Chi. We had a lovely time and would love to return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

If it's your first visit to the medina then getting dropped off at the outskirts of the souks and being escorted down the narrow passages, past stalls with owners pressing you to buy and experiencing the various smells along the way can be a shock. Then being directed down an even narrower alley to a simple door makes you wonder what you're letting yourself in for!

You need not worry, the Chi Chi is a little piece of tranquility within the hubbub of the medina. Greeted by Salah, who you'll soon realise is your best friend in Marrakech, you're given mint tea and taken to you room. Clean, crisp and very much part of the medina as opposed to staying outside in the usual city hotels. The pictures on the website are accurate and I won't repeat all the other points re the toiletries etc.

Take direction from Salah and his basic map to navigate yourself around the confusing alleys and you'll soon find yourself getting to know your way round. He happily walks you to recommended restaurants, bars and hammams. I did the cookery lesson there and recommend it and also took a trip to the Atlas mountains in a shared cab arranged by Salah.

Breakfast - breads, yoghurt, cream cheese, jams, boiled eggs/omelettes, local flat bread, tea, coffee.... all good.

This is a small place and the courtyard means everyone can hear everyone else but it has a lovely family feel and I could not have asked for more. You're in a muslim country so don't expect alcohol on the limited hotel menu (order in advance) but there are bars within 5 minutes walk.

Salah is the star of the show and could not do more for bemused and lost travellers.

Stay in the medina and at the Chi Chi..... it's a great experience.

Room Tip: A bit quieter upstairs and those on the ground floor open directly into the small courtyard where pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Arriving at night in the middle of the souk was a disconcerting experience but any fears were immediately allayed on meeting Salah - manager and concierge of Riad Chi Chi - who led us through the rabbit warren of passageways to the calm oasis of the riad. The riad is simple, clean and elegant, comprising of 5 comfortable rooms with en suite bathrooms, all stocked with gorgeous organic, handmade soap and shampoo. The riad is perfect - neatly tucked away amidst all the action of the souk, near some fantastic restaurants and the best place to retreat to when it all gets a bit much. You can have spa treatments at the riad, relax on the rooftop and even have cooking lessons with a trip to the market to buy the ingredients you need. Salah is really the star of the show - he couldn't be kinder and more patient. He'll make restaurant bookings, appointments at the hammam and book day trips for you. Crucially, he'll also make sure you are never lost - collecting you if you get stuck and making sure you get to where you're going (you can even borrow a mobile belonging to the road to call him if needed). We had a fantastic time at Riad Chi Chi and I couldn't recommend it more - I would happily return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Chi Chi is in the medina, so expect to navigate a maze of small allyways on foot to find it. It's easy to get lost so a porter is recommended. Our taxi did not drop us off where the website stated, so it was a longer and more difiicult walk in the dark through the busy little streets.
Once inside it's a peaceful haven. Beautiful calm white and grey tones, a little fountain, very clean rooms, and a rooftop that although not swish (doubles as a drying area for towels) it has a couple of sun loungers and a nice seating area.

In the summer months a pool would be great. We didn't expect it to be so warm early March and wished we had a pool. There was a small pool on the ground floor that was not filled during our stay, but isn't really in a place where we'd use it (ground floor eating area).

If you want to go to Bains De Marrakech book in advance. We were told we wouldn't to but when we tried to book a day aheard we were told we needed to book a week ahead. However the Hamman de la Rose was much less busy and really lovely.

The staff are very kind and felxible.
Saleh looks after most things, and he made our stay very relaxing. Always on hand to advise us, bring drinks or escort us through the streets, but never intrusive.

And Khadeeja's cooking was the best we had in a Marrakech. Fresh ingredients prepared on request, but best to tell them a day in advance. However they were more than happy to pop out and get us anything.

A fantastically run place that exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more prvacy and less noise, as they do not join the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Exceptionally clean with everything we needed. Staff were really helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We ate at the riad one night and would recommend it as the food was lovely and good value. Just the cool and quiet retreat we needed in this busy city.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited Marrakech as a group of five 40-something female friends to celebrate a big birthday for one of our group. We chose Riad Chi Chi on the basis of the photos and the reviews and we were not disappointed. You could not be better placed to visit the souk as the Riad is situated virtually in the middle of it but this does not mean that it is noisy. It is very tranquil and you would not know that it is all going on outside the main door! The Riad is situated down an alley which was initially intimidating but it was very well lit at night and the locals were all very friendly. The service throughout our stay was excellent from the moment of arrival at the airport. The Riad arranged for us to be met by a driver who transferred us to porters who took our luggage and us straight to the Riad. Throughout our stay Saleh who runs the riad could not have been more helpful. He always offered to escort us if we needed to find our way, he booked restaurants for us and even waited up every night to make sure we got safely home. We had a fantastic meal at the Riad one night and breakfast was always good and served at whatever time we surfaced. The Riad was spotlessly clean and the rooms very comfortable. There seem to be thousands of riads in Marrakech but we would recommend this riad to anyone. We do not think you could get better service anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two suites Aubergine and Ivory. As suites they were not particularly large so we p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chi-Chi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chi-Chi

Address: Derb el Anboub 12 | El Baroudiyines, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chi-Chi 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Chi-Chi is a small, chic riad in a great locationIt is ideally situated in a quiet cul-de-sac in the centre of the Medina, close to the Musée de Marrakech and the Medersa Ben Youssef, only 1 minute from the entrance to the Souks and a short stroll through the Souks to the Square, Place Jemaa el Fna.It has 4 double bedrooms and 1 suite (max. occupancy 11), each with an en-suite bathroom. Its cool, simple and elegant lines create a calm and relaxing atmosphere. There are plenty of intimate sitting areas - roof terrace, courtyard with soothing fountain and Islamic pool, b’hou (Moroccan sitting area) and salon. Fabulous views over the Atlas Mountains from the roof terrace. In the evenings the riad is bathed in candlelight adding to the romantic feeling of this gorgeous riad. The relaxed and welcoming atmosphere means that staying at Riad Chi-Chi is more like visiting friends than staying in a hotel. The riad offers a whole range of services, such as being served mint tea with pastries on arrival, mineral water in your room on arrival, free internet access, use of a mobile phone during your stay. On top of that, the riad will be happy to arrange trips, recommend and organise restaurant bookings as well as beauty/massage treatments in the riad leaving you to relax and enjoy your stay in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Chi-Chi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chi-Chi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chi-Chi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.