We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chi-Chi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chi-Chi to your Saves list
Riad Chi-Chi
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb el Anboub 12 | El Baroudiyines, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Serenity in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Quiet, clean and friendly . Nothing better after a busy and hot day in the medina, to open the door of Riad Chi Chi and have Saleh ask how your day was, or have a quiet exellent dinner in the courtyard. Lovely rooms with a personal touch, beatiful bathrooms. We would definately return to and recommend Riad Chi Chi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad C, Owner at Riad Chi-Chi, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We do appreciate your feedback. Beryl, and all the team at Riad Chi Chi .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    36
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
26
115
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at Riad Chi-Chi for 5 nights, and the experience gets better by days. The Riad is decorated with simplicity and relaxation in mind, which is what we needed in the chaotic medina. I loved that sweet little water fountain in the courtyard, it helps to clam me down in a 38 degree heat and adds a little romantic feel in the evening.

We had lunch and dinner there a few times, the food was good and consistant, good portion too.The room we were in was called Aubergine, a good size room with air-conditioner, a bath and a couch. It's very quiet at night, but does get noisy sometimes in the afternoon when the kids are playing outside. The room is always spotless and so is the rest of the Riad.

The staff is the best part about this place. They are there no matter when we need them. They will walk you to the square if you fail to find it, and they even picked us up when we done!! All our questions were answered and all our needs were taken care of. By the end of our stay we felt like we were staying with family.

If there is anything to pick on then it would be there is no internet coverage on the second floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad C, Owner at Riad Chi-Chi, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We are extremely proud of our staff and the customer service they provide, so thank you.

I must point out that normally internet is excellent in Aubergine. As the owner I choose that room especially so that I can work during my stay. There is always good internet on the first floor Loggia. So by second floor I guess you mean the roof terrace? Sadly the signal does not reach there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I liked riad chi-chi a lot. The location is excellent, the interior extremely pleasant and the staff very friendly. The rooms were attractively furnished.

I would recommend the evening meal. I had a delicious lemon chicken tagine.

The staff dealt with a minor problem I had very effectively.

All in all I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad C, Owner at Riad Chi-Chi, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review. We really appreciate your feedback.

Beryl and all the team at Riad Chi Chi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week in Marrakech, Riad Chi Chi played a major role in this result. We booked the whole riad with friends and family, and it was like being at home in the middle of the medina. The riad manages to be stilish and homey at the same time, and the staff is fantastic, always ready to help. The food is wonderful, we thought we would go out for dinner a lot more, but we ended up eating in frequently as the food was as good as any restaurant and everything is spotlessly clean (one of our Group owns a restaurant in Rome, and she was impressed by the kitchen and food quality). Only one suggestion: a kettle and some teabags/instant coffee in the rooms would be nice for those of us that wake up early in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad C, Owner at Riad Chi-Chi, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Beryl and all the team at Riad Chi Chi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Our party booked the whole riad for a long weekend and had a truely wonderful stay. The 3 course dinners were fantastic cooked fresh by their amazing in house chef and the service was excellent - Saleh was always on hand for any questions, taxis and helpful recommendations.

It was such a pleasure to return here and relax on the terrace after a busy hectic day out and about in Marakesh, and the rooms were crisp and stylish especially the bathrooms (and no need to pack toiletries as their organic shower gel and shampoo was so lovely).

If You want authenticity but also appeciate luxury this is the riad for you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad C, Owner at Riad Chi-Chi, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
As always it is such a thrill to know that our efforts are appreciated. Thank you so much

Beryl, Brahim and all the team at Riad Chi Chi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The friendly and helpful staff made me feel at home. I was travelling with a young child, and they were wonderfully accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our time, learning about the history and culture of Marrakech. The Riad is very well situated to see all the museums and gorgeous architecture, as well as for shopping for beautiful pieces to take home. The soft-scented organic soaps and shampoos at the Riad were a nice touch, and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The rooftop terrace in Riad Chi-Chi was lovely in February, as was the reading area on the balcony. The food was the best in Marrakech, and the bed was pure comfort. I'd go again, and have been recommending this place to others ever since I got home. A holiday with my daughter that I'll cherish forever.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad C, Owner at Riad Chi-Chi, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for such a glowing review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Riad Chi Chi

Beryl, Brahim and all the team at Riad Chi Chi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful few days at Riad Chi-Chi. A great location for exploring the Medina and just a 10 minute walk to the square Jemaa El Fna. The Riad is beautifully decorated, authentic, simple yet elegant. it is very nice and quiet to return to after a day out in the hustle and bustle of the souks. Yvonne, Ibrahim and Saleh are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to make your stay warm and welcoming. They are happy to help with anything, and I cannot praise them highly enough. The food at Riad Chi-Chi was exceptional,and I would rate it as the best we ate in Marrakech. I loved the roof terrace, it was perfect at the end of the day to relax and unwind on as well as the great views of the Atlas mountains. we would definatley recommend Chi-Chi and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad C, Owner at Riad Chi-Chi, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for you lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Beryl, Yvonne and all the team at Riad Chi Chi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chi-Chi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chi-Chi

Address: Derb el Anboub 12 | El Baroudiyines, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chi-Chi 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Chi-Chi is a small, chic riad in a great locationIt is ideally situated in a quiet cul-de-sac in the centre of the Medina, close to the Musée de Marrakech and the Medersa Ben Youssef, only 1 minute from the entrance to the Souks and a short stroll through the Souks to the Square, Place Jemaa el Fna.It has 4 double bedrooms and 1 suite (max. occupancy 11), each with an en-suite bathroom. Its cool, simple and elegant lines create a calm and relaxing atmosphere. There are plenty of intimate sitting areas - roof terrace, courtyard with soothing fountain and Islamic pool, b’hou (Moroccan sitting area) and salon. Fabulous views over the Atlas Mountains from the roof terrace. In the evenings the riad is bathed in candlelight adding to the romantic feeling of this gorgeous riad. The relaxed and welcoming atmosphere means that staying at Riad Chi-Chi is more like visiting friends than staying in a hotel. The riad offers a whole range of services, such as being served mint tea with pastries on arrival, mineral water in your room on arrival, free internet access, use of a mobile phone during your stay. On top of that, the riad will be happy to arrange trips, recommend and organise restaurant bookings as well as beauty/massage treatments in the riad leaving you to relax and enjoy your stay in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Chi-Chi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chi-Chi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chi-Chi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.