We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite meal in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Ti Lee - CLOSED

Mama Ti Lee
13, derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 38 17 52
Improve this listing
Price range: $26 - $33
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favourite meal in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The best food I ate on my two-week trip to Morocco. There is a changing set menu with vegetarian options, with three courses coming to only around 20 euros. The food was delicious and carefully presented, with the menu mixing Moroccan, French and Asian influences on the day we visited. It was lovely to meet the restaurant's Parisian chef on our way out. A great find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    25
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, weird vibe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Food was absolutely delicious and great value at 230Dr for the set menu. The lamb spring rolls in particular were a triumph. The atmosphere is not great however as everything is grey and quiet. Slightly strange seating meant we ate while sat on a hard sofa with no back and awkward pillows.

The high grey walls mean there is no view from the roof terrace and these are not even decorated, they are simply prison-like grey walls!

The lack of liquor licence is also a problem as a glass of wine would have been perfect with dinner. Perhaps allowing customers to bring their own wine and charging corkage would be a good idea?

Having said this, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Mama Ti Lee and would recommend it to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely and refined menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Moroccan inspired restaurant was a great find. The space is modern and eclectic. the staff is excellent and speak both French and English. we loved every dish of the menu. The restaurant is a bit difficult to find. I suggest to ask the locals for directions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Definitely a lovely place. I had a very nice dinner at this restaurant. The tast of the dishes are very well balanced and subtile. I loved the coffee/ chocolate desert. And a good thing too is, it has a really friendly owner. I would go an other time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etterbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bland food, empty restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were a bit disappointed in our visit to this restaurant, considering the number of positive reviews it received. On a busy weekend in Marrakech, we were worried about getting a table, but were surprised to find ourselves as the only customers in the place.

The limited set menu was fine for us, but might be problematic for diners wanting a degree of choice. However, the food was rather bland -- not really worth the 20 EUR price being asked, considering the number of good restaurants we visited for much less during our trip.

The rooftop dining area was pleasant and the service adequate, but nothing more. There are better options in Marrakech.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Ti Lee also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Ti Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.