We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland food, empty restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Ti Lee

Mama Ti Lee
13, derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 38 17 52
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $33
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Etterbeek, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bland food, empty restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were a bit disappointed in our visit to this restaurant, considering the number of positive reviews it received. On a busy weekend in Marrakech, we were worried about getting a table, but were surprised to find ourselves as the only customers in the place.

The limited set menu was fine for us, but might be problematic for diners wanting a degree of choice. However, the food was rather bland -- not really worth the 20 EUR price being asked, considering the number of good restaurants we visited for much less during our trip.

The rooftop dining area was pleasant and the service adequate, but nothing more. There are better options in Marrakech.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    81
    23
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and refined food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Refined, Moroccan-inspired food was a delicious find at this hidden-away dinner-only restaurant. The space is modern and eclectic, and the wait staff very on top of things. We loved every dish, but especially the chocolate/coffee parfait that ended the meal. We could have licked the dish clean, it was that good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Not enough staff meant the service was slow and a little slap dash. The food was just ok, with the fish dish over cooked. But the idea was right. Its a little out of the way so all in all im not sure i'd make the effort to go again. Didn't live up to expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Albany, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the better places to eat in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Found this through one of our guide books. I was a little skeptical about a guide book recommendation, but searching the internet and Trip Advisor wasn't producing much else. We actually tried going before, but it turns out they were closed on Tuesday (our riad manager tells us that many restaurants in Marrakech are closed on Tuesdays, something the guide books fail to mention). I left a message on the answering machine, not realizing that the machine said they were closed (it was in French, which I do not speak). So, we called back on Wed to make a reservation on Fri. Tip: it is really helpful to speak French, because whoever answers the phone does not speak English. The food was very good; they use fresh ingredients and determine the menu based on what is available. Perfect for a couple: my wife and I ordered one of each item so we got to try everything they had available that night (set menu, 2 choices per course). Ambience was relaxing and modern. Great value! (We went to Bo-Zin the following night, which was not worth it -- see my review).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Delicious .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We didn't reserve a table but were welcomed to one of the two remaining when we arrived about 9pm. With two choices for each course of the 230dh menu we opted to try them all between the two of us. All delicious - perfecly cooked and presented. The service was attentive and polite. The night (March 22nd) was cool but we were warm in this minimalist riad. It is a bit out of the way down an alleyway signposted to (and past) Palais Gharnata, mid way between Dar Tiskiwin and Musee Dar Si Said. Well worth seeking out

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Ti Lee also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Mama Ti Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Ti Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.