We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem worth discovering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Ti Lee - CLOSED

Mama Ti Lee
13, derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 38 17 52
Improve this listing
Price range: $26 - $33
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem worth discovering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We found MT in our guide book and as it was not too far from our riad we decided to try it out. We had an awful job to find it in the maze of narrow alleyways in the Medina and in the end paid a few dirhams to some young enterprising boys who took us there! An unassuming door in the wall would easily have been overlooked. We were early but were welcomed in and showed to a table. We explained that we might not have enough cash on us to pay the bill (no cards) so our waiter said he would send someone with us to take payment back at our riad when we were ready to leave after we had eaten - problem solved, The restaurant is modern with cool minimalist decor in contrast to heavily ornate Moroccan style which set the scene for food that was up several notches from the other establishments we had dined in the previous two evenings, although the feel was casual and relaxed rather than stuffy and formal. There were only two choices for each course, but that is for me an indication of food that is truly freshly made. For the price we paid we feel that the interesting and imaginative courses we were served represented good value in Marrakesh, where it seems good quality (and often mediocre) food comes with inflated prices. The portions were not large, but very tasty and well thought out in terms of flavours and textures. This was our favourite meal in the three days we visited Marrakesh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    25
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice memory!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I went there for dinner few days ago, when I traveled to Marrakesh, just few minutes walking distance from the famous main squaire, and frankly speaking the food was delicious, the service was more than excellent it is much better than the service that we find in the 5 stars hotels. Thanks chef again for taking care of us! Richard&Patricia

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nouvelle cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We came to this restaurant due to reviews in Lonely Planet. It wasn't easy to find, even following directions. We had a choice of 2 for each course, and it was all presented beautifully. We had red snapper on a bed of banannas and salsa, which didn't sound right, but actually tasted very nice, although the portions were small. They do not have a drinks license so we drank water, which was fine. If you are very hungry and have a big appetite, this is not the place to come. If however you are after nouvelle cuisine this is the place for you. This was probably the most expensive meal we had in Marrakesh.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went to this place last night mainly as a result of lonely planet review. It was actually pretty close to our riad and to one of the sites we saw the day before so after asking directions from one passer by we got there pretty easily.

The food was really very good. Classic food with a morroccan twist. For eg, for starters my partner had pumpkin soup and i had a vegetable stack in between some pieces of filo pastry (it was called something else which I am not doing justice to). Sounds a bit plain but actually both were really very very good. Very subtle flavours - quite beautifully constructed.

I eat out a lot at some pretty nice places around the world but this has something a bit different. You get the feeling that the owner is talented and is out the back whipping up something thoughtful just for you. Sometimes it doesn't quite come off but for most of the dishes we had they did.

I can see why the occasional review is not good - I don't think the decor does the place justice - a bit 90s really. You might say minimalist but I would say more 90s....and I could see that the food might occasionally not work or perhaps more likely that people just don't get it. It sort of requires and deserves a bit more attention. We thought it was great.

Service here was excellent - we had a really nice friendly waiter. We had two toddlers with us and they gave us some tasters for the kids for free. They also sent an escort with us (for directions, not safety) to get us back to the main road.

Would highly recommend this place. Good value too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Fantastic french food with a moroccan twist. Very quiet when we went on a wednesday night - almost had the place to ourselves. Decor not very special with little atmosphere as we were alone, but the food was to die for. Very reasonable at 230 dirhams for a 3 course set menu (choice of 2 per course). Go - if you can find it.....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Ti Lee also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Ti Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.