We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice memory!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Ti Lee

Mama Ti Lee
13, derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 38 17 52
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $33
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice memory!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I went there for dinner few days ago, when I traveled to Marrakesh, just few minutes walking distance from the famous main squaire, and frankly speaking the food was delicious, the service was more than excellent it is much better than the service that we find in the 5 stars hotels. Thanks chef again for taking care of us! Richard&Patricia

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    81
    23
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nouvelle cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We came to this restaurant due to reviews in Lonely Planet. It wasn't easy to find, even following directions. We had a choice of 2 for each course, and it was all presented beautifully. We had red snapper on a bed of banannas and salsa, which didn't sound right, but actually tasted very nice, although the portions were small. They do not have a drinks license so we drank water, which was fine. If you are very hungry and have a big appetite, this is not the place to come. If however you are after nouvelle cuisine this is the place for you. This was probably the most expensive meal we had in Marrakesh.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went to this place last night mainly as a result of lonely planet review. It was actually pretty close to our riad and to one of the sites we saw the day before so after asking directions from one passer by we got there pretty easily.

The food was really very good. Classic food with a morroccan twist. For eg, for starters my partner had pumpkin soup and i had a vegetable stack in between some pieces of filo pastry (it was called something else which I am not doing justice to). Sounds a bit plain but actually both were really very very good. Very subtle flavours - quite beautifully constructed.

I eat out a lot at some pretty nice places around the world but this has something a bit different. You get the feeling that the owner is talented and is out the back whipping up something thoughtful just for you. Sometimes it doesn't quite come off but for most of the dishes we had they did.

I can see why the occasional review is not good - I don't think the decor does the place justice - a bit 90s really. You might say minimalist but I would say more 90s....and I could see that the food might occasionally not work or perhaps more likely that people just don't get it. It sort of requires and deserves a bit more attention. We thought it was great.

Service here was excellent - we had a really nice friendly waiter. We had two toddlers with us and they gave us some tasters for the kids for free. They also sent an escort with us (for directions, not safety) to get us back to the main road.

Would highly recommend this place. Good value too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Fantastic french food with a moroccan twist. Very quiet when we went on a wednesday night - almost had the place to ourselves. Decor not very special with little atmosphere as we were alone, but the food was to die for. Very reasonable at 230 dirhams for a 3 course set menu (choice of 2 per course). Go - if you can find it.....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food - fantastic staff!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went to Mama Ti Lee for an early dinner. We were pleasantly surprised by the welcoming atmosphere behind the rather anonymous door in the little alley way. Unfortunately our young son happened to become ill as we were about the order. We made our excuses and were about to leave, when the lovely staff gave us a bowl of vegetable stew for him. They asked us to stay to see if he might eat a little bit. They made every effort to make sure we were comfortable. As we happened to stay in a Riad literally around the corner from the restaurant, they were able to offer to bring us our dinner later that evening after we put our son to bed.

The food was was fusion between western Europe (mainly French) and traditional Moroccan. We thoroughly enjoyed the dinner, which was brought to us by a lovely waiter.

Anyone who has travelled when being ill (let alone travelled with an ill child), will understand how fantastic is was to encounter such kindness and lovely service. We would certainly recommend eating at Mama Ti Lee - it is well worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Ti Lee also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Mama Ti Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Ti Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.