We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good riad for a lovely Marrakech experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Anyssates

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Anyssates to your Saves list
Riad Anyssates
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Derb El Bomba | Arset Ihiri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good riad for a lovely Marrakech experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We really liked this riad and in particular found Nicholas very kind and helpful although there are more authentic and charming riads available. For the price it was a great choice and had a lot of good points, but was not exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    30
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
84
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We got picked up by a driver from the Riad at the airport and everything kept going smoothly from there. Nicholas and the team made us very welcome and nothing was to much bother. Myself and my partner stayed 4 nights and found the position in the Medina very handy as its a peaceful area near the Medina wall making getting around town very easy. Our room was spotless and well appointed, cleaned every day the breakfast is very good and sets you up for the day. The roof terrace is very nice and has plenty privacy for those wanting to lie in the sun. Also handy that they sell wine and have a small bar as not many Riads do. Would go back and recommend others enjoy the hospitality and peace. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Riad Anyssates for a week. It is located in the middle of the hustle of the medina but when you walk in, it feels like you have entered a quiet oasis! Paradise! We stayed in 2 of their rooms. The first was on the terrace. Beautiful! When we walked out of the room we were surrounded by panoramic views of the city, It was extremely quiet and CLEAN! We then moved to the room by the pool which was also beautiful and quiet! The staff at the riad are some of the nicest, personable staff I have ever met at a hotel. When we arrived, Nicholas took the time to sit down with us and go over the map, recommending places to see and what paths to take. He also took the time to make a reservation at a very nice restaurant for us for Valentine's Day. The little touches that he added to the hotel made it one of the best places we have ever stayed in, He speaks English fluently and knows the area backwards. He was always helpful and available if we needed him. Patrick was equally helpful and always there to answer questions. We ate breakfast every morning on the roof top looking over the city. Everyday there was something different in the breakfast along with fresh yoghurt, fruit, and baguette with an assortment of jams and fresh orange juice. We ate at the hotel 2 nights and the food was amazing! We had 3 course meals by the pool that were delicious! Best tagines that we had in Marrakech! We also had the hammam at the hotel that I HIGHLY recommend followed by an hour massage that was wonderful! They booked us a day in the mountains and desert with mule rides up to the villages which was phenomenal and I would recommend to anyone wanting a day out. There are little touches that set this Riad apart- the friendly personable staff, the cleanliness, the robes in the room, the unique decorations, really set apart this Riad. We had a few glasses of wine by the pool and they always brought hors d'oeuvres which was a nice touch. If we didn't finish the bottle, they would gladly keep it for us for the next day. The Riad is located in the medina about a 15 minute walk to the square. There are taxis close by, although we never used them. It is located in a very safe area and the locals around are very friendly. I will be coming back to Riad Anyssates and can not recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the suites, especially the one on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale49, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thanks a lot for your very kind words, patrick and I are really moved by it. Knowing that you had a pleasant stay and reading is basically what fuelles us! I look forward to seing you again at the Riad.

On behalf of the whole team, thanks again for appreciating your stay and thanks to all our guests who showed their enthusiasm before and will later on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Why do people go on holiday to stay with their own kind and eat the same food they eat every day. Stay at home and use fake tan.
What was so wonderful about this place was the you were in the most stunning hotel which was a peaceful haven, yet, step outside the main doors and you were living with the locals which was fantastic.
the hotel itself was simply lovely, candles, lanterns and beautifully decorated rooms throughout. Really good taste and thought has clearly gone into this place. The spa at the back was an added bonus where amazing massage, facials and scrubs were done to real quality.
We went in Feb and the sun shone down on the roof area, which by the way was superb!
the staff - could not fault and Nicolas the Manager was simply wonderful. Would I come back - Yes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for one week with our group and had the whole riad occupied ! The place is fantastic, an ideal location (straight south to the markedplace Djemaa-el-fna) to start exploring downtown Marrakech (medina/souks/markedplace) and close to the new town too. The service is amazing, there is always someone at your disposition! Nikolas is a great manager and takes care of the guests and the place like its own home. We all felt very welcome and at home from the first day. It is a very clean environment and the food at the Riad is excellent ! We had some wonderful evenings in the cozy livingroom with fireplace, and we used the swimmingpool even though it was very cold because of the winterseason ! Again, this place is so recommendable, I don't have words enough to describe it ! Next time we will for sure visit the same Riad ! Oh, and don't forget to try out the Hamam with massage, you will regret it if you don't try it ! Very professional handling and the masseuses adjust to your personal needs !
I'm looking forward to come back here !

Room Tip: The room on the terrace is perfect for sunbathers as it exits directly to the sunbeds ! Other than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Despite being located in a quite chaotic part of the Medina, when you enter you are instantly transported to a tranquil and serene place. Shielded from the noise and stress of Marrakech you can enjoy the excellent atmosphere in this traditionally decorated Riad. Whether you are sunbathing on the roof or enjoying a hot beverage by the fireplace in the lounge, the level of service and comfort is fantastic. The staff, lead by the very accommodating Nicolas, took care of our group in every way they could and were especially helpful with arranging excursions and recommending restaurants. Hopefully we will come back sometime in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in June. I was slightly dubious after reading some of the reviews on here, however it turned out fabulous. Our room was the one with the roll top bath. It was gorgeous and the bath was lovely. I was concerned prior to arrival about the Curtains between bedroom and bathroom rather than a door (often the way in morocco) but after 4 days in the desert it didn't bother me. Beautiful small pool in the main courtyard perfect for relaxing. We had dinner here one night which was lovely on a table set up especially in front of the pool, we had the place to ourselves, and the delicious noodles were a welcome change from tagine. We were able to have a bottle of wine up on the rooftop terrace in the evenings, excellent value and very relaxed. Nicholas the owners nephew was very friendly, and spoke good english (although we spoke in french the majority of the time and only french to other members of staff so we cannot comment on english skills with other staff) We would stay again - desperate to test out the bar with the open fire- perfect for chilly winter nughts

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Anyssates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anyssates

Address: 144 Derb El Bomba | Arset Ihiri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#97 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Anyssates 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling, trueness, shift, these are what you shall enjoy at Riad Anyssates.As well as our “Table dhôtes” and our fill hammam services.The riad is between the exciting section Bab Doukala and the Riad El Arouss and the city remparts.The riad is ideally located between the souks, the famous *place Djema El Fna and the new city Guéliz with the taxis and guarded parking.The riad provides you with toplevel comfort, with a charming, warm and family atmosphere.With large volume and huge 380 m2 superficies, the riad provides each host with intimacy and friend meeting facilities up to 20 with exclusive reservation.To day the riad offers 4 rooms and extended terrace and space devoted to hammam and care services.The bar Lounge is open to 2 galleries, one in front the swimming pool, the other opening on the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Anyssates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Anyssates Marrakech
Riad Anyssates Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Anyssates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.