We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am allready missing Marocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amiris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Amiris to your Saves list
Riad Amiris
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rue | Angle Rue Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #459 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“I am allready missing Marocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Like the word says (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moroccan_riad). this is the perfect way to expirience Maroco!! Located only 1 minute walking to Jemaa el Fna where all the action takes place and only 20 minutes walking to the "new" Marrakech centre. Eventough it was near the very busy square we did not have any hassle with noise but really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere inside. You will find a CarreFour supermarket in 30 minutes walking where you can even buy alcohol (which is ofcourse not allowed in an islamic country).

We did not expect any luxury but everything we needed was there; good local breakfast, traditional diner on request, a good shower, airconditioning, a very nice bed, a place to chill out both inside aswel as on the roof and wifi. They could even arrange a very nice bottle of local Rose. However their hospitality topped everything!! Fati and her Mother should be conciddered an example when it comes to service and hospitality. They arranged fabulous trips for us that we will NEVER EVER forget!! They invited tourguides to tell us about the trip we would like to take. They work very hard and keep smiling eventough they had very little sleep during the 6 days we spent there.

Their prices were perfect for us, we got the feeling they gave us a lot of discount when we paid upon departure.

If I ever go to Maroco again then Riad Amiris will be the first to contact!

And should you choose to stay here. You are crazy if you do not book the Zagora trip (very long drive though the beautiful Atlas Mountains but absolutely worth it). We rode on a camel in the Sahara Dessert and spend the night in a Nomad Berber tent to see the sunset.

I'm allready missing Marocco :-)

Lots of love Dani (Hogendoorn Group)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    38
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
104
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

This is a good place to stay for a few days if you are visiting Marrakech. It is very close to where you really need to be. If you are going in winter, be aware that water in showers from our experience was always cold; plumbing problems; the Riaf did not feel like a comfortable place to be after a long day sightseeing. It is however a beautiful Riad.

We had an issue with the travel agency we booked through paying the balance for a 2 week stay, and the owner rather than dealing with this himself, despite us presenting confirmation of full booking and payment, left it to us the guests to deal with it and insisted we cannot check out. It was a significant amount covering 2 weeks so did not want to pay it twice. It got sorted by us calling the travel agency back home. This should have been the owner's problem with the agency. it is best to pay hotel directly from my experience. They do not deal with agencies well.

If you order dinner there, it is great. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.



  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed 5 wonderful nights in the 'birds' room of the riad. In spite of a bit of a heat wave the air conditioning kept our room comfortable. The special service that Rhadija and Fabienne offered when we had a small personal emergency turned a trip threatening experience into a vacation memory. The atmosphere is calm and peaceful and provides a wonderful respite from the hectic pace of the medina and Jemaa El Fna. The terrace is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine before resting up for the rigors of the activities in the nearby square.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at this riad for 4 days. Khadiaja and Fatima have been extremely helpful and polite. They always tried their best to accommodate our requests and give us advice. They helped us with directions, shopping advice, sightseing info.. Something needed fixing in the shower and was fixed within 10 minutes.
Khadiaja also taught me how to cook morrocan food and gave me tips on tajines! DInner was fantastic, hearty tasty and traditional. I would definately recommend dinner for all visitors. Candlelit dinner was very romantic and atmospheric too.
Practically talking, the rooms are of a good size, are clean and water was always warm. Linen was very clean as well. Decoration was traditional. I loved how we had little windows facing at the courtyeard. The riad was always cooler and quieter than the outside. It is a great place to relax too and plan the day ahead with lots of guide books. It is conveniently located just 5 minutes from Jamma el Fna Also, even though it was unusual for us, the rooms do not have locks or keys. At first i felt a bit insecure, but i soon realised that all my stuff was safer in there than in my own home! Eventually this made me feel as if I was part of the family. Plus it was a great way to experience morrocan culture (architecture, decor, traditions)
Overall, to be honest I do not understand why some people rated this riad negatively. Yes, it is not the sheraton. Hospitality is much more important than a shiny staircase for me, so I definately rate it higher than any other hotel i have visited, even some 5 star ones. Of course I would definitely visit again.
My love and best wishes to Khadiaja and Fatima!:)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Michel and his staff were very helpful and welcoming. The whole place was delightful. Our room was Oiseaux and it was beautiful. Air conditioning was very useful, wine and food were good. Don't miss the roof terrace for breakfast and last thing at night with a bottle of wine. We recommend it highly, its a shame we couldn't stay longer!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

just returned from short stay, the amiris is a traditional riad that is in the middle of the medina and 5 mins away from the main square.
the tangines cooked by Khadija are lovely, and you will be welcomed with a mint tea and maderia cake,
the rooms are all different, 3 on ground floor off the innercourtyard, and others up stairs. mine was on ground floor and was long but narrow, but very pretty and rustic, no windows or locks on doors, but felt safe and comfortable in beautiful bed.
the roof terrace was fantastic, and recommend having your breakfast up there, breakfast was breads,crepes and jams, with fresh juice and coffee.
the amiris is traditionally decorated, comfortable and clean, it may be shabby chic in morrocan standards, but i feel it has its own special ambience, and depicts standard that is favouable in this price bracket.
mant thanks to the in house staff, Khadiaja and daughter fatima who catered for my requests for extra coffee and mint teas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We booked this riad on the back of the very positive reviews. One word would sum it up - disappointing! We stayed in the etoiles room. The paint was peeling off the bathroom walls, the sink was grubby with loose taps, when I dropped some clothing behind a chair and picked it back up it was covered in dust, the room was never serviced during our stay and we had to request new toilet rolls etc. If you like breads and jam then breakfast is fine but this was all that was on offer and it was the same offering every day. Rahdija etc were courteous and responded to specific requests but did not go out of their way to help. You are not able to lock your rooms and you do not have a personal key to the riad. The location of the riad is fantastic, very close to the main square etc. We had a really great time in Marrakech but it certainly wasn't due to staying here.

Room Tip: Do not choose the etoiles room - it needs a makeover. I think the rooms upstairs would offer more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amiris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amiris

Address: Rue | Angle Rue Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Amiris 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional location. Our Riad is a private house that reflects tradition, elegance and authenticity. Discover a warm interior space conceived for your comfort; be privy to a professional and discreet service; relax on our terrace and its solarium; resource yourself in a world of water and steam thanks to our oriental hammam and take advantage of our skin care and massage space. Guarantees of hotel know-how, we wish that each moment of your stay be unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Amiris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amiris Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amiris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.