We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not shabby chic just shabby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Amina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Amina to your Saves list
Residence Amina
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3 rue ibn oudari | hivernage, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not shabby chic just shabby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went to the Residence Amina last year in September (2012). We had not paid very much as it was an exchange deal. We were okay as a party of adults but would not want to take young children as not sure if many aspects of the Hotel such as the wiring are particularly safe. There were only a couple very tatty sun beds on the roof, and everything was very shabby. Its a shame as the area of the Hotel is very safe and comfortable.
With regard to taxi fares, just get to know what you should pay to various locations and do not pay more, negotiate before you get in the cab, if its too much walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The first bit of advice I would give is book your taxi via the hotel 180dirhams. We paid 300 at the airport, however it was late and we were tired. You have to fill in paperwork to get in to Morroco and again at the hotel, and at the airport when you leave. So get this filled in ASAP or you wont progress through customs. We paid 50€ deposit for the remotes ( you do get back) when we arrived we were not aware that an inventory of the apartment had taken place and we had to wait for cleaners to confirm all ok before we could leave. We also had to pay 430dirhams for electricity etc before we could leave.
The hotel is very tired and is in need of some TLC, we stayed in room 521 which was a large spacious partment with 2bedrooms, bathrooms etc with a small kitchen (not that we used it). We had 3 balconies so had sun all day, cleaners came in every day (it seems that a tip is required to be given to them). The swimming pool is small and gets very little sun and in poor condition, the jacuzzi was not working on our visit. WiFi is only available in the reception, so our 19 year old daughter was very uncomfortable as several reception staff kept severly flirting with her and inviting out for drinks. The lads about the roads are the same so be careful with teenage daughters, as they did not seem to care that she was with her parents.
Away from the hotel PLEASE be aware of pick pockets and young kids on moped, my wife and I was crossing a road and a moped came along 2 kids on it reached out and stole her gold cross necklace. So my advice is dont wear jewellery or take wallets etc. after this incident we were very nervous and split what money we took out. My daughter also caught a young kid trying to pickpoket her, she had nothing on her luckily. The taxis can be a pain with bartering and trying to get you into what they call petite which can only take a max of 3 (party of 4) so grande taxis is the prefered option. We were told that Morrocans are very welcoming, most were OK how if some one offers directions be aware they will want paying, in one instance a man demanded 300 dirhams.
So would we ever go back, I can speak for my whole family in that we would never ever, it was just not what we expected and found people rude and unfriendly.
Around the the corner was a great restuarant called LE 6, we would recommend this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had three couples and three different reservations through RCI to stay at this location for one week. We had two rooms with two bedrooms each. The location is nice but I wasn't too happy with the place. It's O.K. Clean and tidy. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were too. The water is hot ... which it's good at this time of the year, especially when taking a shower. The staff is friendly and and they make an effort to help you. We had mint tea at the terrace and it is pretty good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Clean and tidy and spacious accommodation, cooking facilities very limited
Safe broken and was not fixed all the time we were were there
Swimming pool very small
Nice residential area handy for bus tour of Marrakech
Did not use trips or restaurant
Can be expensive travelling into the centre of Marrakech on a regular basis

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in Residence Amina for the first 4 nights of our South Morocco trip. Good place to start, well located in Hivernage area. We had a huge family room with 3 bedrooms at a very reasonable price. Swimming pool was small and we suspect one of our kids got an ear infection - it's a good thing to clean the ears with a mix of 70% alcohol and vinegar (a surfer's trick) every night when you're swimming in Morocco, also in the sea.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The staff were very helpful and courteous and made great efforts to help us find our way around. The resort arranges tours and we found this very useful in helping us to get to see something of this large country. We had a large, comfortable, clean one bedroom unit with living room and half kitchen. There were some English speaking western t.v. stations. The supermarket was walking distance but a challenge in the oppressive heat, you had to take a taxi back and negotiate the fare before entering it or be overcharged. The resort offers a shuttle service to the Souk and some other spots at a cost.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Comfortable and basic. Excellent location for restuarants, ATMs, taxis and proximity to the Square, station, Medina, souks and other places of interest. Serviced daily - but no dish washing and NO kitchen sink or bath plugs!! Minimal kitchen cookware - no kettle - takes ages to boil water on 2 plate cooker, rotisserie grill - no microwave. Fridge needed cleaning and defrosting. kitchen stuff - enough. Jacuzzi /spa out of order. Daily tour schedule available - recommend the half day orientation on 1st day - ask for Aziz - very informative and helpful especially if you don't speak French. Most desk staff very friendly and helpful. . Would go back for location and price.

Room Tip: top floors for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Amina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Amina

Address: 3 rue ibn oudari | hivernage, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Amina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a backdrop of the snow-clad peaks of the Atlas moutains and dominated by the magnificent Koutoubia minaret. Marrakesh conjures up images of desert caravans and colourful souks. Residence Amina will be an ideal centre for a memorable holiday, located near the exclusive Avenue de France hivernage, only 5 minutes from the centre of Marrakesh. The resort has a bar on the rooftop which offer breathtaking views of the Atlas Mountains, as well as a outdoor swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, CityZen, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Amina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Amina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Amina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.