We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Azoulay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Azoulay to your Saves list
Riad Azoulay
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 1,125 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Simply Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My stay at Riad Azoulay was more than I can express in words. The kindness and attentiveness of the staff, the cleanliness of the facility and the magical experience that was created each and every day for all of their guests. I felt more of a family environment than staying at a traditional hotel. Breakfast was served in the open courtyard where I met other guests from all around the world trading our stories on the "must see's" of Marrakech. The smells of fresh flowers, the sound of tranquil music, and the experience of eating traditional Moroccan food was always on display at the Riad. I will definitely be coming back to Riad Azoulay with my family because this experience was one that I want all of my loved ones to experience. It was truly a magical experience!
-Aminata, New York, NY

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    27
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
104
225
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caylus, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in three riads during our stay in Morocco and this was a firm favourite. The location is right on the edge of the spice souk and arriving at the Riad we were not prepared for the impact when the door opened - just like passing through the back of the wardrobe into Narnia! The staff were just lovely - attentive and friendly without being pushy, our suite luxurious and the food superb. The superb roof terrace affords great views and good stork spotting. Any return trip to Marrakech we would certainly look no further than Riad Azoulay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife and I escaped here after our wedding in October 2012 (please ignore chosen date of travel). A marvellous place, perfectly relaxing and a delight to be part of real Morroco. Staff, excellent and helpful and generous, particularly the night manager Rada. Owner Mass, superbly helpful, nothing was too much. Tucked away this is a real gem!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The staff at Riad Azoulay are attentive and very gracious. The riad is clean and fresh with lovely flowers placed through out the hotel. The scent that floats in the air is luscious. Azoulay feels more like visiting family that waits on your every need. Pleasing guests is their daily goal and I certainly experienced the result of that promise. I celebrated my 70th birthday at the Azoulay and was thrilled with the attention to my day! Sandro prepared for me a Risotto and Max made me a cake. It was delightful. So, go to Marrakech and stay at Riad Azoulay. It was a blissful time I will never forget. Most important too, I felt totally safe even at night walking through the Medina after Souks had closed their shops. Thanks Azoulay!

Room Tip: Be prepared to waken early for a few moments when the call to prayer is sung from next door Mask. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulloxhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had originally booked another riad, but a fault on their booking system meant that they were double booked and so they booked us into Riad Azoulay instead. Initially I was disappointed at this, as I didn't like the look of it, but the website doesn't do it justice - it is lovely!

Do book the airport transfer (30 Euro return for 2 people) as you'll never find the place otherwise. Location is perhaps not the best, down a very 'real' street in the Mellah district, and you go through the spice souk to reach it. However, very conveniently place for the Badi And Bahia Palaces and Saadian Tombs, a 10 minute walk to the main square, and some nice restaurants and bars are close by.

The riad itself is cool, calm and tranquil. Rooms are well equipped and nicely decorated. Service is outstanding yet discreet.

Dining in the riad is worth it, and was our best meal in Marrakech. A selection of salads to start, a delicious meatball and fig tagine, chocolate cake. No choice, so if you don't like something or have any requirements then let them know in advance. 36 Euro/head, so not cheap, but delicious. Wine is available.

We had a hammam - a good black soap scrub and clay bake in a steamy room - good authentic experience but be aware that when the lady asks whether you want a massage afterwards it is an additional cost. However, hammam and half hour massage is 45 Euro, so pretty good value.

Overall, a really excellent riad in the approx £100/night price bracket. Yes there are more opulent places with proper restaurants and bars, but you will pay at least double the price for them.

Room Tip: Superior rooms re definitely worth the slight upgrade cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed three nights at Riad Azoulay and love every minute. The Riad is well located in the fragrant spice quarter of Marrakech and a short walk from the main square / bigger souks.

The Riad is spacious, beautifully decorated with excellent service - friendly and attentive staff - and was such a lovely tranquil haven to return to away from the hustle bustle of the city. The rooftop terrace is a nice spot for breakfast and to soak up the call to prayer with a mint tea.

We'd also highly recommend the food at Riad Azoulay, dished up by a Moroccan 'mama' chef - it was the best food we had by far during the three days we were there, much better than nearby tourist traps and overpriced restaurants. It strikes a balance between authentic and reasonably priced.

Room was very comfortable and we were upgraded on the final night.

All in all, a fantastic stay and we couldn't recommend this Riad highly enough - outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this beautiful riad and would highly recommend it. The location is perfect with many of the main things to do in the city within walking distance. We were greated from airport and safely driven/walked to the riad to be warmly welcomed with mint tea and shortbreads. The riad is tucked down an alley but the staff took us out the riad the first time to help us get our bearings and provided us with a map. The breakfast was varied each morning and delicious. The rooms were spacious and traditionally designed with a comfortable bed. Marrakesh is a busy place and this was a perfect retreat at the end of the day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Azoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azoulay

Address: 3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,125 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Azoulay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Azoualy is located in the Medina of Marrakech, in the middle of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech, a few steps away from the Bahia Palace and a 10 minute walk from the legendary Jemaa-El-Fna square. The Riad Azoulay combines the comforts, the traditional ambiance and the charm of old riads. The building has been restored to its former splendor of the past using the traditional materials, finishes and techniques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Azoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Azoulay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.