We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really should stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Azoulay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Azoulay to your Saves list
Riad Azoulay
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You really should stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Riad Azoulay is situated in a warren of streets in the south of the Medina near the Spice Souk. The place was chaotic as we arrived, and we were glad to be met by our dapper Italian host Sandro who guided us to the door of the Riad.

It really is an extraordinary experience stepping out of the chaos and through the big wooden door into the beautifully restored Riad. It is immediately clear that a lot of care and pride is taken in this place as we sat by the little pool and were offered mint tea as we got the formalities of check-in out of the way. Sandro was welcoming and engaged and took evident pride in showing us the photographic record of the extraordinary task of restoring the building to its former glory.

I found my stay here to be the perfect antidote to process-engineered business hotels. The rooms were beautifully furnished using local techniques and materials It was a refreshing experience to arrive into a room with no lock on the door but a simple bolt. The message was clear: "we're looking out for you."

This was borne out in a rather touching conversation with one of the young staff members. "We are like a family, here", he said. I believed him.

The staff are engaged and attentive, and provide great service with a genuine earnestness that shows that they care very much about their place of work. I almost felt bad at making poor Raida run all the way up the stairs to the terrace each morning with our breakfast, but he carried out his task with much good humour and grace.

This is a great place to stay, run by lovely people, and the deserve to do well. I very much hope to have the opportunity of returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    26
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
94
205
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Riad was in the bustling Jewish quarter called Mellah, but on entering, it was like stepping into a haven of peace and serenity! It was beautifully furnished with an eclectic mixture of modern art and old Moroccan artefacts with a lovely central courtyard and plunge pool. Our room was in fact a grand suite (we were upgraded!) and was fabulous; a sitting room where we had an evening meal, our bed chamber with a luxurious four-poster bed, a second bedroom where another family member stayed, and a spacious, well-equipped bathroom with separate WC/bidet. Our dinner was delicious, superbly prepared by their own cook and served in our room and breakfast next morning on the sunny terrace was also excellent. Sadly we did not meet the owner Massimiliano who was visiting Italy, but Alessandro and the staff made us very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This a beautifully private and relax Riad. The place is just gorgeous full of magic and crafted details. The staff was very welcoming and super fun. We travelled with our dog - Pancho - who was totally welcomed and catered for. Overall a beautiful experience I am definitely coming back.

Room Tip: We were going to book a suite but the rooms are so amazing there is not need to pay for the extra, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My family had such a wonderful time and experience. All of the staff were lovely, professional and willing to help at all times. They were also very helpful to guide us to find the best experiences outside of the riad.
The rooms were divine and we felt that it was exceptionally good value for money.
We would definitely go there again and recommend Riad Azoulay.
Our entire experience exceeded our expectations and if you have a chance get Safar to cook you a tagine and eat on the rooftop listening to the sounds of Marrakech whilst sitting in your beautiful haven - pure heaven. Thank you to all of the staff at the riad and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The riad and staff were extremely accommodating to our children however all activities for the child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Riad Azoulay exceeded all of our expectations. The owner, Massimiliano, went out of his way to make sure that not only was our stay at the Riad perfect, but our time in Morocco was enjoyable too. From making dinner reservations, spa reservations, and booking us a car and driver to take us to the Sahara, he went above and beyond with everything. The Riad was beautiful and all the staff were so warm and friendly, it felt like coming home every day, it even has pet turtles that roam around the bottom floor of the riad! We stayed in the Suite Royal, which had a large bathroom, an additional sitting room, and even a little loft. It felt like a little apartment. It was quiet and we didn't hear any noise from the street.

Thank you Massimiliano for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Staff very welcoming and attentive. The building has been carefully restored and upgraded to offer very comfortable accommodation. Breakfasts excellent. Situation was amazing - riad is accessed via the spice market. When we arrived we were given a very welcome mint tea and petits fours and the staff took time to help us to orientate ourselves in the medina and find a good restaurant for our first dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

What a divine experience this was, our near week at the Riad Azoulay. The riad is the most beautiful and peaceful place, an oasis in the busy-ness of the surrounding medina. It is such a pleasure to enter the spice market, with the buzzing motorcycles, loads of pedestrians, merchants touting their wares, and then to round that last corner into the narrow, quiet cobblestone street leading to the door of the hotel. 

Two raps of the heavy brass knocker on the ancient metal door and it is opened by one of the many smiling faces at this beautiful place. We are ushered inside to quiet, cool beauty, offered mint tea and every possible luxury along with fine, smart conversation, old jazz and show tunes, the scents of incense, roses, and mint.

I was in the Syria room with a friend and it was perfect. The fully equipped bathroom was a treat, and it was stocked with deliciously scented creams, gels, and soaps, plus enormous white cotton bath towels.

Breakfast, included in our stay, was another treat at the Azoulay. Well served on linen, with silver, china, and flowers, our breakfast of coffee, yogurt, croissants, assorted breads, juice, fruit, and, most days, a small omelet with cheese, was a great way to start the day.

It's the staff, though, who are the icing on the cake of this elegant riad. Rida, Yassime, Massimiliano, Sandro, and the host of kitchen and room ladies were so warm and welcoming. My friend's birthday dinner at the hotel was finished off with the talented Massimiliano's Salome de chocolate, dramatically presented in candlelight and preceded by one of the local ladies ululating her happy birthday wishes.

Did I say this place is magical? It is. We loved the Riad Azoulay and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Massimiliano is very prompt in answering emails. He will work with you to find the perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Azoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azoulay

Address: 3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Azoulay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Azoualy is located in the Medina of Marrakech, in the middle of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech, a few steps away from the Bahia Palace and a 10 minute walk from the legendary Jemaa-El-Fna square. The Riad Azoulay combines the comforts, the traditional ambiance and the charm of old riads. The building has been restored to its former splendor of the past using the traditional materials, finishes and techniques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Azoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Azoulay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.