We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Azoulay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Azoulay to your Saves list
Riad Azoulay
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“Amazing Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

When we arrived in Marrakech we were picked up at the airport, which Riad Azoulay arranged. Upon arrival we were greeted at the door by Max, the owner. He made us feel very welcome. The staff are courteous and polite and made us feel at home straight away.
The Riad itself if stunning. Tastefully decorated, with each room having its own character. Cooking class and dinner not to be missed.
Stefano

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    26
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
92
205
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our first stop in Morocco was in Marrakech and we stayed at Azoulay for 3 nights. Everything was fine, it was clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly- showed us around the medina, and provided us with tips about how much to pay the taxis. The cookies and tea were so nice when we would come back from a long hot day of exploring. Unfortunately, it was too hot to enjoy the balcony. We were upgraded to the Royal Suite, probably because no one else was staying there at the time - it is July in Morocco. The only thing I would criticize is the breakfast, some eggs or fruit would have been nice, besides all the bread. The location is fine, we didn't feel it was too far from anything. All of the merchants definitely let you know that you were in the Jewish part, each time you passed by. Unfortunately, we did explore the synagogue or the cemetery.

BTW, the beds are very hard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Riad Azoulay located in the middle of the old Jewish spice market of Marrakech in June 2013. Our stay there was first rate in every way. The Riad is a tranquil little island in the sea of humanity that is the Medina. Accommodations were comfortable and suit’s appointments were tasteful with an authentic local feel. The staff took great care of us from the preparation and serving of breakfast each morning on the roof top terrace to booking tours and excretions. We had dinner at the Riad two evenings. Safa the Chief prepared delicious meals using fresh local fruits and vegetables. Younes, and Reda provided incredible service and were charming and delightful people. We would highly recommend the Riad Azoulay for anyone looking to stay in the Medina, immerse themselves in the Moroccan culture and have a relaxing place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Market.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After going through a crowded market of fragant spices, you arrive to a small street, in the middle of the ancient Jewish quarter, and a wood door it’s opened to take you to a place of calm and peace. The patio, surrounded by columns and palms, counts with a small pool and a fountain that helps you to relax with the sound of water falling. In Riad Azoulay, everything is ready to make you feel well and, if something goes wrong, the complete staff looks for the way to solve the problem. And if you’d like to impress your couple, ask for a dinner in the romantic patio and enjoy the combination of international and moroccan kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

With the rating that this property has received -- I can safely say that it is deserved. I stayed here with a couple of my friends for a long weekend. A couple highlights from our stay:

• The staff was absolutely incredible and could not be more helpful. Whether it was helping you plan your day or deliver breakfast, the service was exceptional.
• The location was very tranquil and the building was very comfortable and serene - not 5 star luxury but very nice all the same
• The morning breakfast was delicious with an assortment of pastries, eggs, and yogurts. The freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee was especially good
• The only quasi negative is the location, since it is not central and the immediate surrounding area (about 3-4 minute walk to a main park) would leave some nervous to walk alone late at night

The only other thing that I should warn people about, (but surprisingly did not really bother any of us) was that at ~4am the Mosque next to the hotel broadcasts prayers at a very loud volume. However, once it is over we would all just go back to sleep. From walking around all day we found we had no problem falling asleep.

Overall, an excellent Riad with exceptional service (cannot emphasize enough how great the service was) - great for couple or groups. I would recommend booking car service to and from the airport.

As a side note -- on Saturday night we went to Montecristos and had an amazing time -- shisha, plus live music and even a club upstairs. Good drinks, very good setup and it made my friends and I realize how much we miss good live music.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I hesitate to say anything critical about Riad Azoulay as we received such wonderful, kind, friendly service from the staff. They went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was comfortable and were attentive and super helpful. I wish I could provide separate reviews based on the staff alone. The rooms were nice and clean. The toiletries and towels provided were spa quality. The entire place was very tranquil, with a very chilled out spa like atmosphere. That is the good. The bad is the awkward location, which cannot be helped. The street on which the Riad is located is not accessible by car, but is down a narrow alley deeply imbedded in the winding spice market and is beside a mosque. Should you choose to stay here, you should be aware that you will be woken up at 4:00 am every night with a loud call to prayer. The ugly is the area surrounding the Riad which is quite slummy and dodgy, although you need to adjust your expectations in poorer countries like Morocco. I would not feel comfortable walking back to the Riad alone at night, and, unfortunately, through no fault of the management there, is not the sort of place I would want to return to just based on the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this peaceful & elegant riad, situated in a side street just off the bustling spice souk. The riad arranged transfer from the airport for us, which was very efficient and comfortable. On arrival, after a very welcome mint tea, we were given a choice of rooms, all of which were simple but comfortable and elegant.
Our hosts were most helpful with information and directions to get us started.
Breakfast was tasty & plentiful - the homemade cakes quite special. We ate one night in the riad and the menu was agreed with us beforehand. A 3 course meal was around 30 euros a head plus wine and was lovely.
The plunge pool was very refreshing after a hot day out in the city & the sun terrace on the roof a lovely place to relax. Look out for the tortoises!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Azoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azoulay

Address: 3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Azoulay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Azoualy is located in the Medina of Marrakech, in the middle of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech, a few steps away from the Bahia Palace and a 10 minute walk from the legendary Jemaa-El-Fna square. The Riad Azoulay combines the comforts, the traditional ambiance and the charm of old riads. The building has been restored to its former splendor of the past using the traditional materials, finishes and techniques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Azoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Azoulay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.