We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the good with the bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Azoulay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Azoulay to your Saves list
Riad Azoulay
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Take the good with the bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I hesitate to say anything critical about Riad Azoulay as we received such wonderful, kind, friendly service from the staff. They went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was comfortable and were attentive and super helpful. I wish I could provide separate reviews based on the staff alone. The rooms were nice and clean. The toiletries and towels provided were spa quality. The entire place was very tranquil, with a very chilled out spa like atmosphere. That is the good. The bad is the awkward location, which cannot be helped. The street on which the Riad is located is not accessible by car, but is down a narrow alley deeply imbedded in the winding spice market and is beside a mosque. Should you choose to stay here, you should be aware that you will be woken up at 4:00 am every night with a loud call to prayer. The ugly is the area surrounding the Riad which is quite slummy and dodgy, although you need to adjust your expectations in poorer countries like Morocco. I would not feel comfortable walking back to the Riad alone at night, and, unfortunately, through no fault of the management there, is not the sort of place I would want to return to just based on the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    26
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
92
205
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this peaceful & elegant riad, situated in a side street just off the bustling spice souk. The riad arranged transfer from the airport for us, which was very efficient and comfortable. On arrival, after a very welcome mint tea, we were given a choice of rooms, all of which were simple but comfortable and elegant.
Our hosts were most helpful with information and directions to get us started.
Breakfast was tasty & plentiful - the homemade cakes quite special. We ate one night in the riad and the menu was agreed with us beforehand. A 3 course meal was around 30 euros a head plus wine and was lovely.
The plunge pool was very refreshing after a hot day out in the city & the sun terrace on the roof a lovely place to relax. Look out for the tortoises!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

An immaculatey refurbished RIad in one of the old parts of the city. We arrived late at night and our pre-booked taxi stopped in a busy street. Fortunately, help was on hand to bring our bags and negotiate the narrow streets through the ancient spice market to the Hotel. Staff were exceptionally helpful and attentive. They helped arrange a tranfer to Essaouria. Great rooftop terrace from which we could see the snowtopped High Atlas. The food was excellent and served in a traditional Morrocan way. Our family, including our three teenagers/young adults all enjoyed the stay. Great locaiton for visiting the old palaces and close to Djamaa El Fna square where all the action is. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Brabant, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Royal Suite with our 3 children and felt like a royal family ... the building, the interior, the perfect service of Massimiliano and his two assistents, the tastfull breakfast, everything smouth and calm ... heaven !

Room Tip: the royal suite is perfect when you are travelling with small childern and even with teenagers, like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just returned from 4 very enjoyable nights spent at the elegant and stylish Riad Azoulay. From the start, we were welcomed by our very attentive, polite hosts, who immediately made us feel at home. The location is perfect from which to explore central Marrakech. The Riad is a calm and relaxing haven from the busy whirl outside; it feels as if you are stepping into a different world on entry. The accommodation is very clean and elegantly decorated, but best of all is the quality of the service from the young assistants. They are impeccable in their manners and attitude; nothing is too much trouble. They convey a calm, gentle manner that sits well with the overall atmosphere in the riad.
We particularly enjoyed the authentic Moroccan evening meals prepared for us; much the best food we had whilst in Marrakech. Also enjoyed a massage, which was very good value. Altogether a wonderful experience-many thanks to all at Riad Azoulay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just returned from a memorable, 3-night stay at Riad Azoulay. From the very beginning, Massimiliano and his two assistants took very good care of us, including seamless meet-and-greet airport transfers and coordinating our schedules with the perfect mix of tours-- the guided city tour, camel ride, and Atlas Mountain treks were all so memorable. And we even squeezed in some shopping time in the souks!

Upon check-in after a long flight, we were served relaxing mint tea and snacks and pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite. More importantly, the Riad was safe, impeccably clean and well-maintained, as well as elegantly decorated (not excessive). We especially enjoyed the authentic and delicious Moroccan dinner prepared by the Riad's kitchen after a long day of touring. Also the in-house hammam/massage is a must-try!

But what really distinguished Riad Azoulay was their exceptional service and attitude. A big shout-out to Max's two young assistants, who were like our personal butlers and as accommodating as could be throughout our stay.

We have so many memories from this trip, made possible by the special team at Riad Azoulay. A big thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wonderfull position in the Jewish area, close to Marrakech center. Perfect service with local employers and elegant taste inside the building. We have tried some tastefull dinner in Azoulay restaurant. Massimiliano and his partners are really polite and friendly. A really nice contest . Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Azoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azoulay

Address: 3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Azoulay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Azoualy is located in the Medina of Marrakech, in the middle of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech, a few steps away from the Bahia Palace and a 10 minute walk from the legendary Jemaa-El-Fna square. The Riad Azoulay combines the comforts, the traditional ambiance and the charm of old riads. The building has been restored to its former splendor of the past using the traditional materials, finishes and techniques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Azoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Azoulay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.