We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place in an amazing city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Azoulay

Save Saved
You added Riad Azoulay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Azoulay
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing place in an amazing city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spent two nights at Riad Azoulay in February 2013. It was an excellent stay all the way around. Communications with Massimiliano were outstanding (I needed to change dates and this was all done quickly and easily; I also changed arrival times at the train station--again, flawless). I was met at the Marrakech train station and again at the entrance of the spice market--friendly and efficient. The Riad is beautiful and very comfortable--I had the Favorit room, which was great. Excellent breakfast (baked goods, coffee, fruit and yoghurt) and a wonderful Tajine and egg plant dishes for dinner. Even took in the Hamman and massage--outstanding. Very relaxing after two long days of walking in the Medina and the souk. The Riad was a really great place to come back to after a trip out to busy Marrakech. Location is excellent. Very, very close to Palace Badia and Bahia, adjacent to the spice market, near the Saadir tombs, a pleasant 15-20 minute walk to Jemma el Fna. Moroccan staff were pleasant, friendly, helpful, low key.

Room Tip: Favorit room was very nice. Had WiFi from the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    26
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
90
204
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Behind a rather small door in the heart of the medina lies a paradise that made me wanna stay forever. This is the place you want to be at if you enjoy a beautiful setting, confortable rooms, delicious breakfast and the kindest, most welcoming staff that will do anything to make you feel just perfect. I don't have anything but appreciation words when I tell people about my experience in this riad. It has magic going on!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

An beautiful riad with service that was the best I've experienced in years of travelling.

You will step out of the colourful craziness that is the medina through a little wooden door, and in to absolute cool, calm.. trickling water from the pool, and always welcoming smiles.

Owned and run by Massiliano (Italian) everyone is warm and friendly, and will go to whatever lengths necessary to ensure that you have a great stay! You will be welcomed with mint tea and bags whisked away to your room while you unwind by the pool and get shown around: Lounge (lovely fireplace for winter), pool with chairs to chillout, hammam, massage room, beautifully decorated rooms (huge attention to detail), and a great roof terrace with loungers, canvas umbrellas and large sitting area.

To give you a flavour of the service..
- They were in touch by email prior to arrival, organised our airport transfers, suggested excellent restaurants and booked for us (and which one of them escorted us to through the many alleyways that make up the medina),
- brought us breakfast (each day with different homebaked breads, cakes, omlettes, pancakes, yogurt, fruit, excellent coffee) when ever and where ever we desired, on the roof terrace, or downstairs by the pool, and made a beautiful and delicious (!!) cake especially for my friend's birthday and surprised her with it singing happy birthday arabic at breakfast,
- organised our day trip to Imlil in the Atlas Mountains (70euros for both of us - own car, driver/tour-guide) - worth it,
- arranged for massages and henna tattoos at the riad at a time that suited us,
- we got in from a day of trawling the souks exhausted and requested dinner in at very late notice - no problem - table set and an entire 3 course meal laid on! I thought the various starters were the main meal as they hadn't had time to prepare.. no no! I had to make space for two more courses. It was 23 euros I think, and 110% worth it. The food out of the kitchen is all fresh and wonderful! (and offer cooking classes),
- we exchanged mobile numbers with the staff so that if we ever got lost, they would come and find us.

The location is great.. just off a spice market in the medina, (taxis will drop you 1 min walk away), 2min from Bahia Palace, 5min walk to Bab Agnaou, 10-15min to El Fna. Highlight was El Fna by night! Amazing. And we felt safe walking home from there.

I have seen other reviews about the noisy call to prayer. This is Marrakech, there are mosques every 100 yards, you will always hear the call to prayer a few times a day, its simply all part of it.

We were sad to leave. It felt like home very quickly and we were very comfortable and taken very good care of. Certainly good value for money. I will be coming back here, and the ultimate test: Yes, I would recommend it to family and friends!

Enjoy your stay in Marrakech!

Other tips:
- Head to the Beldi Country Club for lunch outside, rose fields, Atlas Mountains in the distance, followed by lazy afternoon by the pool.
- Cafe de France on Djemaa El Fna - excellent views from top floor terrace - watch the sun go down over El Fna
- Haggle - ignore their starting prices (extreme chancers) - decide in your head what you would pay in your own currency, convert to Dirhams, start below, and don't go much over before walking out. They will cave in. Otherwise you will walk away feeling like you've been taken..
- While we felt very safe in Marrakech (they have plain clothed policemen so no one knows who they are), DO NOT let anyone come into your personal space and distract you with 'where you from' while trying to sell you 28 things at once - they are pickpocketing you. (this was en route to Imlil, and luckily had unzipped an empty pocket).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimiliano R, Proprietario at Riad Azoulay, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Matt and Gina, Thank you very much for your beautiful review.
It 'been a pleasure to celebrate with you, Gina, your birthday!
See you soon, Massimiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I got to know this Riad in my first trip to Morooco and staying there for the second time just proved me what I had initially experienced :there is nothing better after a long day of discovery and sensations around the city to have a place that you really feel like home.
A very lovely gentle staff, refined services and an unique cosiness made of simple elegance ... just like old times!Excellent!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I ve been at Riad Azoulay for 4 days in february 2013 and it was wonderfull. This is the best Riad in Marrakech. Good rooms, wonderfull service, great food, fantastich terrace with breakfast. Really good!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

lovely place and the room exceptionally nice, the staff very attentive, the food excellent. One was made to feel that this was your home from home . from there you can reach on foot the most important touristic attractions they are so near

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've traveled to more than sixty countries across the world and have stayed at all sorts of hotels from basic hostels to five star resorts, but my experience at this Riad was one of the best places I've ever been.
I visited this Riad for three nights and it was one of the best decisions I have made.
Massimiliano made made my stay, every morning he would welcome me by name and would arrange any thing that needed to be done and checked how the previous day events went.
Excellent!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Azoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azoulay

Address: 3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Azoulay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Azoualy is located in the Medina of Marrakech, in the middle of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech, a few steps away from the Bahia Palace and a 10 minute walk from the legendary Jemaa-El-Fna square. The Riad Azoulay combines the comforts, the traditional ambiance and the charm of old riads. The building has been restored to its former splendor of the past using the traditional materials, finishes and techniques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Azoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Azoulay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.