We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Moroccan atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Azoulay

Save Saved
You added Riad Azoulay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Azoulay
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #27 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Padova
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Moroccan atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lovely place for those who want to taste a fantastic Moroccan atmosphere. The Riad Azoulay is placed in the heart of the old town and from there you can reach on foot the most important touristic attractions: the Souks, Palais Bahia, the Old Muslim School ...The staff is very kind and they prepare a fantastic breakfast with Moroccan cakes and typical dinner by the fireplace.
The rooms are clean and very charming and during the day you can go into the Hammam, take a massage or lay in the sun in the quiet terrace on the roof. From there in the evening it's fantastic to rest and enjoy fresh air as well.
Wonderful experience! Surely I'll come again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    457
    26
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
87
202
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed one night at this Riad and it was such a beautiful and pleasant place to stay especially compared with other riads i stayed :-( The location was also good, especially when you want to follow the Lonely Planet's 'Walking Tour' because it's not too far from 'Palais Bahia'. The staff service and kindness was impeccable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have just returned from a great stay (if a bit damp!) at Riad Azoulay. I can't recommend it highly enough. The setting is perfect, an oasis of calm and tranquility. The room (we got an upgrade as its low season) was far nicer than anything I've stayed in for a long time and very tastefully decorated. Mohammed, Eunice and Reider (apologies if I spelt your names wrong!) couldn't have been kinder and more helpful, the breakfast perfect. The cook makes delicious food! All in all, a top choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimiliano R, Proprietario at Riad Azoulay, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Max and Matthew, Thank you for the generous compliments. Looking forward to welcome you again in Marrakech. Massimiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Riad Azoulay and we’re so glad we chose it – it is such a large part of our memory of the trip! Behind the easily missed front door, is an Oasis of calm, a perfect retreat after a day in the bustle of the Medina. Sip your mint tea beside the splash pool and let your feet recover. We stayed in the Favourite room which is a great size and very comfortable. There is some noise here from the street if the windows are open but otherwise not a problem. We had a peek inside the suite which was very spacious. Max and the team provide a professional, friendly yet un-intrusive service. Breakfast each morning was delicious and served with a smile – fresh fruit and delicious pastries. They helped book tours and served the best tagine of our trip. One tip, there are 2 options for walking from the Riad to the main streets. As a female traveller I much preferred taking the route requiring you to turn left when you first step out of the Riad (through the spice souks) as opposed to turning right down the narrower roads. Get the airport transfer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We loved the Riad. We were met by a member of staff from our taxi near the entrance to the Spice Souk which he walked us through to the Riad - an amazing introduction to Marrakesh - a fantastic collection of beautiful colours and smells. Then a lovely warm welcome at the Riad with mint tea and cakes. It was a haven of peace and quiet after a day's sight-seeing, Max and all the staff were lovely and most helpful, and the food was delicious. The 5am call to prayer is rather close and loud, but part of Marrakesh life. We would definitely recommend Riad Azoulay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I booked the Riad Azoulay as a honeymoon surprise. Neither my wife or I were in any way dissapointed. The care, kindness and hospitality from Massimiliano, and his staff was above and beyond anything we could have imagined. Met by Mohammed and walked to the Riad we were offered advice from haggling to taxis, mint tea was a welcome treat as we settled in. Our room, 'favourite', blended luxury and simplicity and we instantly felt relaxed and welcome as we sat reading on the roof and courtyard terraces. But, it was the little things that really shone out.

The Riad's night manager Rada served our dinners and breakfast offering explanations on the food we were eating and Morrocan culture, we were also deeply touched when he knocked on our door and presented us with a set of tea cups.

A journey into the market and a cookery lesson with Miriam and Mohammed was a real treat and highly recommended for any foodie. We look forward to practising all that we were taught!

I had also booked a surprise trip into the desert, which, unfortunately was cancelled due to inclement weather, Max, Rada and Mohammed worked tirelessly to organise alternatives and it was this attention to detail that sets this Riad apart from anywhere else we have stayed.

Being set in a local community was another plus as it allowed us to immerse ourselves truly in Marakech. The call to prayer was truly enchanting and the 5 am call couldn't be heard with the outside windows closed. Everything was in easy reach, the Jemma El Fna square a 7 minute walk the Bahia and Badi palaces 3 - 5 minutes away.

Staying here was a wonderful way to spend our first week married. Don't even hesitate to book.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent four nights last week at the Riad Azoulay, in the Sultane Suite (we are a middle-aged couple travelling with our teenage son). On our first night (having opted for the airport pick-up service), we were met at the entrance to the Mellah area of Marrakech by a member of staff who brought us to the Riad, then explained all about it's history, showed us around and served us the most delicious dinner.

We spent two nights in Marrakech, then Max, the owner, helped us arrange transport for a trip down to Essaouira, where we spent three nights. We then returned to the riad for another two days. This time, Max was pretty much running the place on his own, as it was Eid Al Adha, so he had given his staff the time off to be with their families.

The riad was very clean, beautifully decorated and very friendly. We felt entirely at home, reading in the lower courtyard or up on the roof. We couldn't escape hearing the muezzin's call to prayer at any time of the day as the mosque is indeed right on top of the riad, but it was a lovely feeling to be part of the city's spiritual life for a few hours.

We enjoyed the company of Meti, Max's Bichon Frise dog, and the house tortoise, who spends his time beetling round the pool.

The Mellah area can seem quite run-down if you haven't travelled much outside Europe, but it is very friendly and you feel that you are living in the middle of a 'real' community.

If I were to suggest any changes, I might have wanted a softer mattress - I personally prefer my bed quite soft - but that is just personal preference.

We thoroughly recommend Riad Azoulay for those looking for something that is so much more than a bland, hotel-chain experience. Thanks to Max and his charming team, for a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimiliano R, General Manager at Riad Azoulay, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Friend,
Thank you for the generous compliments. looking forward to welcome you again in Marrakech.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Azoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azoulay

Address: 3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Azoulay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Azoualy is located in the Medina of Marrakech, in the middle of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech, a few steps away from the Bahia Palace and a 10 minute walk from the legendary Jemaa-El-Fna square. The Riad Azoulay combines the comforts, the traditional ambiance and the charm of old riads. The building has been restored to its former splendor of the past using the traditional materials, finishes and techniques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Azoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Azoulay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.