We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Azoulay

Save Saved
You added Riad Azoulay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Azoulay
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing time in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Well, used of being around in Arabic countries, I was actually very surprised with the quality of service and warmness from Massimiliano and his staff, who have made us feel entirely at home at this beautiful restored Palace in Jewish quartier.

From the arrival until the departure, everything went smooth and beyond our expectations with our transfers and excursions in the desert and south of Morocco, also provided by the riad.

Last but not least, the little pet "Meti" will be definitively missed as she became a constant presence during our very well home cooked meals!

Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
83
187
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bulverde, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I have Tripadvisor to thank! After a change in plans, we had to quickly find a Riad and this was my choice. The hotel was happy to have a sweet man (Youssef) meet out car to help us find the hidden door. The location is fantastic, the hammam and massage with Zahara was superb, the beds were comfortable and the food was great! My friends live in Rabat and plan on returning they were so happy I found this place. Thanks Max for a great visit!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

When wie arrived, the Taxi driver dropped us in front of the spice souk and said "It's down there, just 5min", then disappeared. We were totally lost and decided to ask another taxi driver for the way, but no one seemed to know the way. Luckily a man said he knew, so we had to trust him and follow him into the dark, crowded souk with 3 suitcases, which was not really fun. After 5min we arrived in a side alley that wie would have never found on our own and a little sign said "Riad Azoulay". A pity that no one told us before our arrival that it's so difficult to find. You have to arrange a pick up upfront.
The Riad is in the Jewish quarter, approx. 15min walk from the main square. A nice area.  The hotel management were lovely, very helpful. Breakfast is served in the sun where one can watch the storchs nest and the mountains can be seen from the rooftop terrace. They have a lovely puppy as well. Breakfast was good, eggs upon order.
As the mosque is next to the Riad, every morning at 5am there is the call for prayer which would wake us up, but the rest of the night was quiet.
All in all, we would probably not return, as we think that Marrakesh has many more beautiful places and riads, but we'd recommend it for a short stay in case you've got them pick you up and show you the way.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
methimax, Direttore at Riad Azoulay, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Morocco is a Muslim country, and the prayer call is an important part of the Muslim religion. No doubt non-Christian visitors to Venice or York probably find the constant pealing of church bells a little disconcerting at first.
The majority of our clients love the fact that our riad is off the beaten tourist track, and thus comparatively quiet, except fo the afore-mentioned call to prayers!
As regards the transfer or lack of transfer: we offer all our clients a transfer from or to the airport; this naturally includes being met at the airport drop by one of our staff, whose duty includes carrying the luggage, and at the end of their stay being accompanied back to the airport pick up point .Only a very few clients choose not to use this service; clearly the guests in question formed part of that very small minority.
We are sorry that these clients were unhappy with some details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have stayed in only one other riad in Marrakech, so my experience is limited, but I have to say that our stay at Riad Azoulay was marvelous from start to finish. From the moment we were picked up at the airport to our departure four days later, we were made to feel that we were the most important guests there. I can't praise the staff enough for their attention to our needs and desires: making restaurant reservations, arranging transportation to the Ourika Valley and to Essaouira, helping us find our way through the neighborhood souk, serving mint tea (with sugar on the side!), providing a memorable hammam and massage experience, and giving us a mini cooking exhibition and a complimentary dinner. That dinner was the best meal we had in our entire week in Morocco. Although a riad in the Marrakech medina is not expected to be the quietest experience, we quickly adjusted to the street noises and the muezzin's early morning call to prayer from the mosque across the street -- we just rolled over and went back to sleep. The riad is in a good location, near the Bahia Palace, the gold souk, and a quick and highly entertaining walk to the Jemaa el Fna square. There are hundreds of riads in Marrakech from which to choose, but if you decide to stay to stay at this one, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: From what we could see, all the rooms were nice, though the ones on the upper floor are probably bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

AMAZING place to stay!! The accomodation is beautiful and they have paid attention to the smallest details. We were offered tea as soon as we arrived and given a brief history of the building's restoration. The room we stayed in was the Oriental room and accommodated three of us. We were able to look at the suites as well and they were beautiful! Breakfast was incredible every morning and served on the roof top terrace with fresh juice and coffee. We even booked a day tour to the Berber village of the Atlas mountains through them.

We were offered the hotel transfer to this lovely Riad, and I would highly recommend this! We had a driver waiting at the gate as soon as we arrived with our name on a sign. He took us to meet a representative from the hotel who walked us to the Riad. There is no way we could have found this place on our own since you have to walk through the spice souks to get there.

Absolutely highly recommend this and I'm an avid traveler!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are amazing, but if you can spend a little more get the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay whilst in Marrakech. If you are looking for an authentic place to stay, offering quality, great service, a beautifully restored traditional environment in the heart of life in Marrakech then look no further.

Booking - just email the Riad and arrange everything with them. The rooms are all individual so have a look through them and then try to book the one you want. For example, we like a large bed so booked a room with a king size. We were fortunate to be staying in the Riad when no-one else was there one night so we looked in every room and I have to say that they all offer personality, charm and are unique in their design.

Airport transfer - in a nut shell, you need to arrange this with the Riad. We have travelled widely but no matter how good your navigation skills are you'll not find this Riad. The airport transfer was great. As you come through the airport there is your taxi / mini bus driver holding a sign with your name on it. The transfer takes around 20 minutes depending upon traffic. As you get closer to Marrakech it is almost like being on a ride at a theme park. I would imagine there are some rules but you try to work out who has right of way on a round-a-bout. Once you arrive in Marrakech you are then greeted by one of the Riad staff who takes you through the spice market to the Riad - even this is eye opening.

Riad Azoulay - 9 bedrooms arranged around a central courtyard with a roof terrace, central plunge pool, hammam and lounge / breakfast room. As stated previously, we went in every room and they all are beautiful.

Noise - Be prepared for a relatively noisy local environment. You are staying in a vibrant, close knit community were local people live and work. This is (thankfully) not some faceless all inclusive resort on the outserts of a the city. On our first night it took a little getting used to however the second night we slept very well and woke to the sound of our alarm clock. The beautiful mosque next door opens for business at 5.30am......its all part of the experience so smile as you listen!!!!

Hammam - We were not quite sure what to expect with this and booked it when we arrived rather than prior. What an experience. Many people take this experience at various Riad's throughout the city however having it at your own means that after it was finished you can just relax rather than having to get dressed and walk home. After the Hammam (body scrub, black butter and gallons of hot water) we then had a 30 minute, all over body massage which again was wonderful - highly recommended

Dinner - following the Hammam we had booked dinner and just asked for a traditional Moroccan meal. The three courses were served in the breakfast / lounge area as it was cold on an evening outside (February). The food was delicious, piping hot, tasty and beautifully presented.

Service - The staff couldn't do enough for us but were also discreet. For example, on our first day Rida walked us back through the spice market, making sure we knew our way back to the Riad before we headed off into souk. The staff will arrange day trips, advise you of places to visit and even the typical prices to pay. Rida also offered to come with us to haggle the price down if we wanted him to......but that would have spoiled the fun!

Lounge service - one thing we found very enjoyable was having a little time around the plunge pool in the late afternoon. After a hard day shopping or sight seeing we would return to the Riad, have a beer, glass of wine or just some mint tea and there was always a tray of 'nibbles' to try, something different every day. You can also use the free wifi connection as it didn't work in our room through the thick walls and doors.

All in all a fantastic place to stay, great service, very clean, comfortable, relaxing and very quickly becomes an 'Oasis' in what is just a fabulous place to visit - Marrakech

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Riad Azoulay is quite frankly the best holiday accommodation that I have EVER stayed.
The staff especially Rida and Bushra who were absolutely delightful and went out of their way to make our stay truly memorable.
On our arrival Max the owner surprised us with a free room upgrade which was very kind.
The room itself was gorgeous with a huge queen size four poster bed. The bathroom/Shower room was very authentic and the complimentary shower gels and lotions were simply lovely.
Complimentary authentic mint tea is served daily in the riad along with yummy morrocan pastries. I have tried tea in many locations in marrakech, but I must say the tea served in this riad is by far the best!
I will definitely be revisiting Riad Azoulay on my next visit to Marrakech without a doubt and would recommend this is anyone thinking of visiting Marrakech especially for couples who fancy a romatic getaway!

Room Tip: As the occasion of our visit was a birthday Max (the owner) kindly gave us a free upgrade. To be hon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Azoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azoulay

Address: 3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Azoulay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Azoualy is located in the Medina of Marrakech, in the middle of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech, a few steps away from the Bahia Palace and a 10 minute walk from the legendary Jemaa-El-Fna square. The Riad Azoulay combines the comforts, the traditional ambiance and the charm of old riads. The building has been restored to its former splendor of the past using the traditional materials, finishes and techniques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Riad Azoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Azoulay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.