We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic French in the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fouquet's Marrakech

Fouquet's Marrakech
Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 (0)524459050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy our delights...Elegance and sophistication. The Parisian glamour of Fouquet's. Discover flavours from French and Moroccan Cuisine by Chef Issam RHACHI.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Classic French in the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Arriving at Hotel Du Naoura Barriere for dinner at Fouquet,you are ushered into the smart and stylish hotel bar beforehand,where a cool DJ is playing the soft early evening music to the beautiful people warming up for the night.Then we go down to the large and open plan restaurant,which on an early February night, is quiet.The staff are attentive,and the menu broad,so lemon chicken tajine for me and sea bass for the missus,both of which 'panned' out well!
We shared THE best mille feuille I've ever had - well,it's a classic French dessert,so it ought to be.With more time in Marrakech,we would have gone again to venture further into the menu,but on first tasting,this is a must for visitors with money to spend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for visiting Fouquet's Marrakech during your stay in the city of lights.
We open the "Lounge Fouquet's" one year ago and it is a real success for the clients. A nice private place near our main restaurant for wine tasting, cigar or coffee time in a different surroundings.
We hope to see you in the future.
Sincerely,
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The food was great, the service too slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had dinner with some friends in December. The food was divine and the live music excellent. However, we found the service too slow. We had to wait quite a while for our main meals after our starters.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.
I am genuinely disappointed that the quality of our services did not meet your expectations.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our restaurant on another occasion in order to be able to regain your confidence .

Sincerely yours,

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lunch on the patio - food great, athmosphere ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stopped at the 5 star hotel that houses this restaurant and had lunch on the patio.

The food was OK, all a bit pretentious for my linking and I am one for five star travel. The service was OK to a point and the food was great, expensive, but could not fault taste nor presentation.

But the atmosphere in a place that attracted the worst of pretentious people was awful and the staff unfortunately deal with customers with with the distain they deserve for being so pretentious and they do not have the sophistication to tell when a client is not one of those.

Very unlike Marrakech, it was like walking into a 5 star hotel in Paris, not marrakech at all.

It's not on my list to return to this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taking the time to share your feedback on this website.

The Chef and the entire team of the restaurant had been advised about your comment and feel very sorry about your experience.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our restaurant on another occasion in order to be able to regain your confidence in our quality.

Best regards
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Affordable fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

When you have tired of eating at street stalls, pizza and pasta and Morrocan cuisine, then Fouquet's is well worth a visit.
At first impression it may seem considerably more expensive than other places in Marrakech, but the prices are really equivalent to UK provincial city prices. We paid £65 for a main course and dessert dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine and really enjoyed it on 2 occasions.
The food was lovely and of high standard, the service excellent and unpretentious, and the restaurant itself was of high quality.
If you have sampled the local fare and want to be pampered for a night and dine well then it is worth a visit. It is sited within easy walking distance of all the evening atmosphere in the square.



If you are willing to pay this

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Un grand merci d’avoir pris le temps de partager votre joli commentaire sur Trip Advisor.

Toute l’équipe du restaurant Le Fouquet's a été ravis de vous accueillir et espère vous revoir très bientôt en d’autres occasions.

Cordialement,

Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not quite there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Our first night in Marrakech also happened to be valentines day.
After travelling we wanted somewhere near the hotel - so why not in the hotel.
The restaurant is very smart, and was pretty busy.
The food was excellent but Dailey expensive. Our choice of wine wasn't available so of course we ended up having to pay more - when we got the bill they had charged for both so this had to be amended.
Unfortunately the 40 minute wait for deserts
and coffee (despite chasing up twice) spilt the evening, especially as we were tired after a long day. The coffee by the way was very poor, and to be fair they took it off the bill due to the long wait.
We have eaten out from the hotel for dinner every other night and think there is better value in Marrakech, but the quality here was good even if things were a bit hit and miss.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I feel very sorry you didn't enjoy at all Fouquet's Marrakech during your last visit.
First of all, thank you for giving us your feedback. Please note I did make a point with my staff in order to improve the cuisine, the service as well as the ambiance.
We hope to see you agin for your next visit in Marrakech in order to show you how we take care of your comments and our willingness to mek you feel more confortable with our restaurant.
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fouquet's Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Fouquet's Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fouquet's Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.