We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable fine dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fouquet's Marrakech

Fouquet's Marrakech
Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 (0)524459050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy our delights...Elegance and sophistication. The Parisian glamour of Fouquet's. Discover flavours from French and Moroccan Cuisine by Chef Issam RHACHI.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Affordable fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

When you have tired of eating at street stalls, pizza and pasta and Morrocan cuisine, then Fouquet's is well worth a visit.
At first impression it may seem considerably more expensive than other places in Marrakech, but the prices are really equivalent to UK provincial city prices. We paid £65 for a main course and dessert dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine and really enjoyed it on 2 occasions.
The food was lovely and of high standard, the service excellent and unpretentious, and the restaurant itself was of high quality.
If you have sampled the local fare and want to be pampered for a night and dine well then it is worth a visit. It is sited within easy walking distance of all the evening atmosphere in the square.



If you are willing to pay this

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Un grand merci d’avoir pris le temps de partager votre joli commentaire sur Trip Advisor.

Toute l’équipe du restaurant Le Fouquet's a été ravis de vous accueillir et espère vous revoir très bientôt en d’autres occasions.

Cordialement,

Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    44
    19
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not quite there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Our first night in Marrakech also happened to be valentines day.
After travelling we wanted somewhere near the hotel - so why not in the hotel.
The restaurant is very smart, and was pretty busy.
The food was excellent but Dailey expensive. Our choice of wine wasn't available so of course we ended up having to pay more - when we got the bill they had charged for both so this had to be amended.
Unfortunately the 40 minute wait for deserts
and coffee (despite chasing up twice) spilt the evening, especially as we were tired after a long day. The coffee by the way was very poor, and to be fair they took it off the bill due to the long wait.
We have eaten out from the hotel for dinner every other night and think there is better value in Marrakech, but the quality here was good even if things were a bit hit and miss.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I feel very sorry you didn't enjoy at all Fouquet's Marrakech during your last visit.
First of all, thank you for giving us your feedback. Please note I did make a point with my staff in order to improve the cuisine, the service as well as the ambiance.
We hope to see you agin for your next visit in Marrakech in order to show you how we take care of your comments and our willingness to mek you feel more confortable with our restaurant.
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love the new dishs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

new card, new chef, nice and luxury place

we enoyed our diner ane had fun after at the lounge bainside the restaurant, a private place

Allam

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for visiting Fouquet's Marrakech during your stay in the city of lights.
We open the "Lounge Fouquet's" one year ago and it is a real success for the clients. A nice private place near our main restaurant for wine tasting, cigar or coffee time in a different surroundings.
We hope to see you in the future.
Sincerely,
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“good quality food in beautiful surrounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We decided to have a meal here on the last night of our stay in Marrakesh although we were actually staying in the hotel and would normally be more adventurous for diner. However we were a little tired of the usual ( but very tasty) local cuisine which we had tried in every shape and form and so wanted something different.
The surroundings are of course very beautiful and comfortable, which you would expect from a 5* hotel, but I do agree with a few of the comments about some of the waiting staff there perhaps needing a 'little polish' shall we say! For us this was not a problem, as we were there in low season ( early June), and sadly were one of only about 4 couple in the restaurant; but perhaps during busy periods the service could become an issue.
The food and the wine were however excellent. We had the beef tartar and marinated fillet of beef on skewers followed by the cheese and palet au chocolate. All were really delicious.
We much preferred it here to several of the highest rated restaurants that we had tried during our holiday. Although the food here is simple the quality was excellent and not such a strain on the wallet as others higher up in the ratings! Give it a go if you want good quality in nice surrounds and can forgive service that is a little clumsy, but well intended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I thank you again for your comments after visiting Fouquet's Marrakech.
Please note we are training again and again our staff in order to improve the service issue and we are well aware of the improvment we need to do.
Thank you again for trusting Fouquet's Marrakech, the place to visit with good quality for money we want to keep on the long term.
Sincerely,
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

The sort of place where they make a fuss that you haven't made a reservation - even though it was never mre than 10% full in the 2 hours we were there.

Decor is good - food and service is average at best. Starter course was carpaccio - nicely arranged - and haricot verts with duck lardons, but the lardons seem to have been bolied and not fried.

Veal Millanese was good, but moules were the worst I have ever seen or tasted, Size of a thunbnail and cooked to the texture of bullets. The sauce for the moules was a very uninterseting grey......

Desserts were ok.

Sevice was slow, with the main waiter seeming to spend most of his time sat at a table by himself. My complaint about the moules seemed to create much discussion and surprise amongst the waiters - but no response to me.

Bill was wrong - in our favour. Would normally have pointed this out - but not this time.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for visiting Fouquet's Marrakech and making comments about your last experience.
Your comments are very usefull for us in order to improve the service, the quality of food as well as "the missing products on the bill......."
Please note i did make a point with my staff and we would like very much you give us a second chance to prove you how we managed to improve the Fouquet's Marrakech restaurant quality and service.
I hope having the pleasure to welcome you again.
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fouquet's Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Fouquet's Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fouquet's Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;