We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality food in beautiful surrounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fouquet's Marrakech

Fouquet's Marrakech
Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 (0)524459050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 581 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy our delights...Elegance and sophistication. The Parisian glamour of Fouquet's. Discover flavours from French and Moroccan Cuisine by Chef Issam RHACHI.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good quality food in beautiful surrounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We decided to have a meal here on the last night of our stay in Marrakesh although we were actually staying in the hotel and would normally be more adventurous for diner. However we were a little tired of the usual ( but very tasty) local cuisine which we had tried in every shape and form and so wanted something different.
The surroundings are of course very beautiful and comfortable, which you would expect from a 5* hotel, but I do agree with a few of the comments about some of the waiting staff there perhaps needing a 'little polish' shall we say! For us this was not a problem, as we were there in low season ( early June), and sadly were one of only about 4 couple in the restaurant; but perhaps during busy periods the service could become an issue.
The food and the wine were however excellent. We had the beef tartar and marinated fillet of beef on skewers followed by the cheese and palet au chocolate. All were really delicious.
We much preferred it here to several of the highest rated restaurants that we had tried during our holiday. Although the food here is simple the quality was excellent and not such a strain on the wallet as others higher up in the ratings! Give it a go if you want good quality in nice surrounds and can forgive service that is a little clumsy, but well intended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I thank you again for your comments after visiting Fouquet's Marrakech.
Please note we are training again and again our staff in order to improve the service issue and we are well aware of the improvment we need to do.
Thank you again for trusting Fouquet's Marrakech, the place to visit with good quality for money we want to keep on the long term.
Sincerely,
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

The sort of place where they make a fuss that you haven't made a reservation - even though it was never mre than 10% full in the 2 hours we were there.

Decor is good - food and service is average at best. Starter course was carpaccio - nicely arranged - and haricot verts with duck lardons, but the lardons seem to have been bolied and not fried.

Veal Millanese was good, but moules were the worst I have ever seen or tasted, Size of a thunbnail and cooked to the texture of bullets. The sauce for the moules was a very uninterseting grey......

Desserts were ok.

Sevice was slow, with the main waiter seeming to spend most of his time sat at a table by himself. My complaint about the moules seemed to create much discussion and surprise amongst the waiters - but no response to me.

Bill was wrong - in our favour. Would normally have pointed this out - but not this time.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for visiting Fouquet's Marrakech and making comments about your last experience.
Your comments are very usefull for us in order to improve the service, the quality of food as well as "the missing products on the bill......."
Please note i did make a point with my staff and we would like very much you give us a second chance to prove you how we managed to improve the Fouquet's Marrakech restaurant quality and service.
I hope having the pleasure to welcome you again.
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
“A good alternative while in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We decided to include this French cuisine restaurant in our itinerary while in Marrakech as a break from delicious though slightly monotonous Moroccan cuisine.

The hotel is very elegant, especially the exterior, a modern interpretation of a walled Berber village we thought. The restaurant was very international in its decor (elegant and smart - slightly clubby), not a hint of the kasbar, or Arabian Nights! We could have been in Paris or even New York or London. It actually made a nice change for the evening. The china and glass wear was particularly elegant.

Service was a little disappointing - the main waiter we had brought the wrong wine and was a little clumsy in his serving. We had two other waiters as well who were much more polished. The restaurant was not very busy either.

The food was good international fair - the starters were good (beef carpaccio and a goats cheese salad). The mains were good too if unremarkable (chicken and fish). However, the desserts were exceptional, a perfect hand crafted mille feuille and a rich chocolate and coffee torte.

The bill was not overtly expensive (not a budget option either) and it was a refreshing alternative in menus.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Fouquet's Marrakech, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for visiting Fouquet's Marrakech.
Your comments are very important to us, the enable us to improve the service and the missing points to give you the impression of a perfect place in Marrakech to have a good time.
We hope having the pleasure to welcome you again during your next visit.
Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fouquet's Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Fouquet's Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fouquet's Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.