We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-time Marrakech visitors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alboraq

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Alboraq to your Saves list
Riad Alboraq
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   49, derb taht sour lakbir | zaouia al abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
MD, USA
1 review
“First-time Marrakech visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Loved the old neighborhood; could walk to the sites and museums of interest. The staff were all a delight and cooking superb. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed; lounges and cable TV nice to have, but particularly enjoyed the large terrace. We would happily return to this Riad whenever in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    35
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
170
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Marie-Josée and the rest of the team make Riad Alboraq a very special place. During our trip in August, they were all extremely welcoming and helpful providing endless tips and suggestions, along with a personal guided tour of the Medina when we first arrived! A tasty breakfast of Moroccan pancakes, breads, jams, coffee, fruit etc. was served on the roof terrace each day. The rooms are beautifully decorated and we felt at home straight away. Another bonus is the pretty pool, which we made use of daily as a refreshing treat after the hot medina. Marrakech is a fantastic place to explore and we would highly recommend Majorelle Garden (Jardin Majorelle) as it is a cool little spot to relax. Thank you to everyone at the Riad for making our stay such a memorable one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We booked the whole Ryad with 8 other friends and were very impressed with the quality of the service. In brief:
*good value for money
*very well decorated
*very nice staff
*perfect location in the Medina
*small swimming pool in the patio
*very good cook, i would recommend to try the tajine and have diner on the terrace
*Air con, wifi, tv, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed on the recommendation of friends and we thanked them every day of our stay. The pluses are it's friendliness, cleanliness, and the sense that we were in the Medina of Marrakech, but not where all the other tourists are. The Riad is extremely pleasant with all the rooms opening onto the main courtyard, though that does mean that sound travels easily when there are a lot of people around. The rooms are comfortable, cool, (though each room has it's own air conditioning) and pleasantly decorated.

The first night Marie-Josée wrote directions to get to the main square, and then took us out to show us the way (after mint tea and small cookies). Then Smiro, the main help there,pp went out and purchased a sim card for my phone and put it in and worked out setting it up (my lack of French would have stopped me doing it). And the next morning we had breakfast on their fabulous roof. We didn't use the beautiful pool in the courtyard, but knew it was there if needed.
Breakfast was good, coffee or tea, bread with honey and jams, and the round and square pancakes, but they offered more (eggs and fruit) if we so desired.
My major complaint was that there was a lot of smoking. They were happy to lessen it, but it was difficult.

Room Tip: The suite on the ground floor, although delightful, can be noisy and smoky if there are people talki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

I am just back from a family trip in Marrakech and I cannot say enough about the attention and kindness that Marie-Josée and the staff of the riad showed to us. They really made our stay very special.

It was my parent's first time in Morocco. The riad is located in a tiny alleyway in the north of the medina. Arriving at the riad was a bit of a culture shock for my parents as the neighbourhood is very local and authentic. However, the area is very safe and they got used to it very quickly. An advantage is that taxis can access a street that is very close to the riad. This is convenient specially if you go back by taxi at nightime. All taxi drivers know the address and Smirho can scort you from the taxi.

The riad 10 min walk to the medersa and the zouks and 20 min walk to the main square. If you want to be right in the middle of the touristy sights maybe the riad is located a bit too north of the medina but if you prefer to experience a more authentic stay within short stroll from the buzz then the location is very good. It is very easy and cheap to get a taxi to the square or the south of the medina if you wish.

The rooms are nice and very clean. The beds are very comfortable. My parents stayed in the suite Ivoire and my sister and myself stayed in the tourquoise room. They split the double bed in the tourquoise room into two single beds. The single beds were comfortable but a bit too small for two adults. There is a sitting area right outside the suite Ivoire so I guess that if the riad is busy it can be a noisy room. The rooms on the first floor are perhaps more private. But this is the same for all riads.

The food was excellent. Tasty breakfast served on the rooftop (creps, bread and jams). The only thing that I missed was having some fresh fruit. We had dinner in the riad the last night and the lemon and chicken tagine that Saida cooked for us was the best meal that we had on the trip.

Marie-Josée gave us useful information and directions to ensure that we did't get lost and it was nice to see her around and have a chat with her before leaving in the morning or when we came back in the afternoon. Usually I like doing my own thing when I go to a hotel but this time It was very nice and helpful that she was around. She's great!

I recommend this riad. We all had a very nice stay here. It is affordable and offers excellent service, rooms and
kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Wonderful Riad, beautifully presented with lovely and helpful staff. We went to Marrakech to celebrate a birthday and the experience in the Riad certainly added to a great trip. Marie-Josee made sure that we found our way around the city and helped us to book any restaurants or activities that we wanted to do. The night porter helped us to get taxis if we needed them and was often waiting for us in the car park when we got in for the evening to escort us back to the Riad. We ate in the Riad twice and they were the best meals we had of the whole trip - definitely worth staying in for! Overall a wonderful trip and we would recommend Riad Alboraq to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The most amazing staff we ever met! The Riad was very nice, beautiful room, seperate bathroom, and excactly as magical and maroccan looking as we hoped for. But what really makes the Riad what it is, is Marie-Joseé and her colleagues. Marie-Joseé showed us around, recommanded ans helped us book our acctivities, and gave excellent service over nice cups of morracoan tea. It really made the riad very homly and the oase you need in this city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alboraq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alboraq

Address: 49, derb taht sour lakbir | zaouia al abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alboraq 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By opening our doors, we open the heart of the Medina with its mysteries, its magnetism and its friendly hospitality. Riad Al Boraq will give you a genuine experience in the heart of the Medina just 15 minutes from the famous “Djamaa El Fna”, in the Sidi Bel Abbes' neighborhood which was one of the seven saints of Marrakech ...The pure Zen style of the riad combines with a friendly and professional service to ensure you a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Riad Alboraq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alboraq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.