We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People make this riad a very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alboraq

Save Saved
You added Riad Alboraq to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Alboraq
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   49, derb taht sour lakbir | zaouia al abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“People make this riad a very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

I am just back from a family trip in Marrakech and I cannot say enough about the attention and kindness that Marie-Josée and the staff of the riad showed to us. They really made our stay very special.

It was my parent's first time in Morocco. The riad is located in a tiny alleyway in the north of the medina. Arriving at the riad was a bit of a culture shock for my parents as the neighbourhood is very local and authentic. However, the area is very safe and they got used to it very quickly. An advantage is that taxis can access a street that is very close to the riad. This is convenient specially if you go back by taxi at nightime. All taxi drivers know the address and Smirho can scort you from the taxi.

The riad 10 min walk to the medersa and the zouks and 20 min walk to the main square. If you want to be right in the middle of the touristy sights maybe the riad is located a bit too north of the medina but if you prefer to experience a more authentic stay within short stroll from the buzz then the location is very good. It is very easy and cheap to get a taxi to the square or the south of the medina if you wish.

The rooms are nice and very clean. The beds are very comfortable. My parents stayed in the suite Ivoire and my sister and myself stayed in the tourquoise room. They split the double bed in the tourquoise room into two single beds. The single beds were comfortable but a bit too small for two adults. There is a sitting area right outside the suite Ivoire so I guess that if the riad is busy it can be a noisy room. The rooms on the first floor are perhaps more private. But this is the same for all riads.

The food was excellent. Tasty breakfast served on the rooftop (creps, bread and jams). The only thing that I missed was having some fresh fruit. We had dinner in the riad the last night and the lemon and chicken tagine that Saida cooked for us was the best meal that we had on the trip.

Marie-Josée gave us useful information and directions to ensure that we did't get lost and it was nice to see her around and have a chat with her before leaving in the morning or when we came back in the afternoon. Usually I like doing my own thing when I go to a hotel but this time It was very nice and helpful that she was around. She's great!

I recommend this riad. We all had a very nice stay here. It is affordable and offers excellent service, rooms and
kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    32
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
159
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Wonderful Riad, beautifully presented with lovely and helpful staff. We went to Marrakech to celebrate a birthday and the experience in the Riad certainly added to a great trip. Marie-Josee made sure that we found our way around the city and helped us to book any restaurants or activities that we wanted to do. The night porter helped us to get taxis if we needed them and was often waiting for us in the car park when we got in for the evening to escort us back to the Riad. We ate in the Riad twice and they were the best meals we had of the whole trip - definitely worth staying in for! Overall a wonderful trip and we would recommend Riad Alboraq to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The most amazing staff we ever met! The Riad was very nice, beautiful room, seperate bathroom, and excactly as magical and maroccan looking as we hoped for. But what really makes the Riad what it is, is Marie-Joseé and her colleagues. Marie-Joseé showed us around, recommanded ans helped us book our acctivities, and gave excellent service over nice cups of morracoan tea. It really made the riad very homly and the oase you need in this city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Our trip to Marrakech was made by our stay at Riad Alboraq. We were met at the airport by Abdou who transported us to the square near the riad. There waiting was Marie, who showed us to the riad to settle in and then to the main square to begin our adventure in Marrakech. It is said many times, that it is the people that make a place special, and this could not be more true in the case of Riad Alboraq. The highlight of my trip was the night that Sieda allowed me to help her cook the nights meal. The gesture meant so much to me and I will always remember cooking with her. I had read in earlier reviews that the riad was in a seedy part of town. The main thing to know is that everything inside the medina could be concidered a seedy part of town simply because the people living there are poor and live in second/third-world conditons. However, the people of Marrakech are very sweet - albeit sometimes extreamly pushy. To get the true experience of the area, staying within the medina and in the maze of streets is a must.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We can't say enough praise for Riad El Boraq and it's owner Yves and manager in training, Marie-Josee`. We stayed for 4 days in November of 2011. We were pleasantly surprised by the warm greeting by the driver who picked us up from the train station ( gratis) even though our train was almost one hour late. Upon arriving at the riad we were greeted by Yves and Marie-Josee` not as paying customers, but as long lost family. The Riad which has been beautifully remodeled by Yves and his wife , reflects both Moroccan and French decor. The riad is spotlessly clean, the staff was friendly and very accommodating and the service was impeccable.
Needless to say we highly recommend Riad El Boraq to anyone who is planning a trip to Marrakesh.

Room Tip: I will be posting a video of Riad El Boraq on my youtube channel very soon. Just do a search on y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

the riad is very nice and clean even though not very big. our room was very cosy, not too big but very stylish. the riad is situated in medina but in the quiet part, so not far from the main turist attractions but with no disturbance from the streets.
the swimingpool is lovely, it still might be cold in spring (my son didn't care). the roof terrace is awesome! perfect place to relax.
the staff is amazing! yves gives lots of good advice.
totally recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Riad Alboraq, which provided a wonderful base from which to discover Marrakech. Yves was particularly helpful with a number of appropriate dining recommendations to take our 5 children. The Riad itself was an oasis of calm, and we were very well looked after by the Ayesha also. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alboraq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alboraq

Address: 49, derb taht sour lakbir | zaouia al abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alboraq 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By opening our doors, we open the heart of the Medina with its mysteries, its magnetism and its friendly hospitality. Riad Al Boraq will give you a genuine experience in the heart of the Medina just 15 minutes from the famous “Djamaa El Fna”, in the Sidi Bel Abbes' neighborhood which was one of the seven saints of Marrakech ...The pure Zen style of the riad combines with a friendly and professional service to ensure you a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Riad Alboraq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alboraq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.