We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alboraq

Save Saved
You added Riad Alboraq to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Alboraq
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   49, derb taht sour lakbir | zaouia al abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Riad Alboraq, which provided a wonderful base from which to discover Marrakech. Yves was particularly helpful with a number of appropriate dining recommendations to take our 5 children. The Riad itself was an oasis of calm, and we were very well looked after by the Ayesha also. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    33
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
161
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

My partner and I, together with two other friends, spent four nights at Al Boraq on our first visit to Marrakech.

The riad is very comfortable and decorated in a traditional and stylish way. It is only 10-15 minutes walk from the Museum and one of the main entrances to the Souk. The short walk provides the opportunity to see a more "real" and less toutistic area of the city with lots of local shops and a small local market every afternoon.

Yves, the owner, and the entire staff is extremely kind and helpful. He gave us a very nice introduction to Marrakech on our first day, walking to and through the souk with us. He helped us with restaurant bookings and taxis. Smiro is always smiling and always there to help day AND night (we tested it when our friends due to arrive in the evening arrived at 8 the following morning because of a delayed flight and missed connection - he stayed up all night to wait for them and give them advice on the phone). Aicha ensures that the rooms are impeccable and Saiida makes the best chicken and lemon tajine.
Last but not least, the transfer from the airport to the riad on arrival is offered by Yves.
The only thing we could not enjoy was the terrace, but it was nobody's fault - it just rained most of the time. So we will have to go back and will definitevely stay at Al Boraq again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Situated in the middle of the Medina, this little 6 bedroom riad is just perfect. Inside you have everything you need. The rooms are beatutiful and luxurious. We stayed in the suite which is quite big. The personnel was kind and sweet and was always there for anything we needed. Then there's the surroundings. It's the heart of the medina with little or no tourists so we felt like we were part of this ancient area of the city. Much better than staying in a modern hotel in the new part of Marrakech. And maroccans are really kind. The personnel of the riad took us anywhere we wanted to go in the medina.

We felt like home.

Room Tip: Take the room suite ivoire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The hotel that we stayed in was like a home away from home, everyone was so friendly and welcoming.
The rooms were lovely and clean and very well presented.
The service is what i found to be the best about the place. whilst we were out on holiday my friend fractured her arm in a motorbike accident, the service and help we recived from Riad Al-Boraq left us amazed. They went with us to the hospital as we would have issues in explaining ourselves, and then took us to the pharmacy and constantly checking up to see if we were ok.
As we were 3 girls alone, we would give them a call from the square by the hotel and they would come and escort us to the hotel.
They also recommended some excellent restaurants and helped us reserve tables and helped in every possible way.
We could not have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

This was our first trip Marrakech, and it was an extraordinary experience. The Riad is small but well kept with full attention by staff and owners. Room was cozy and practical- each of the six rooms is essentially different, with a local touch.
Location is practical, in the center of the old city (Medina), in easy walking distance from major must-see attractions and local markets.
We very much enjoyed the dinners in the Riad, always being surprised by quality and quantity of the food. Free WiFi was a great experience and convenience. Although not the hottest season, there still was enough sunshine to get on the secluded roof terrace.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We have a had a wonderful week at this pleasant riad, as:-
- its staff is as friendly as can be
- the rooms are spatious and clean
- the roof top terras serves as a great spot to read a book, sleep or enjoy the sun
- it is close to the souk, the Jamaa el Fna and Jardin Majorelle
- and therefore its really value for money

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Look no further - Its clean, spacious, lovely interior and near all the action. Its 10 mins walk from the Medina. Yves who runs the Riad and his staff were incredibly friendly and really helped make the most of our stay by booking dinner reservations, providing directions and supporting us gettng the best deal going with taxi drivers! We had a magical stay and have memories we will always treasure. Book now!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alboraq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alboraq

Address: 49, derb taht sour lakbir | zaouia al abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alboraq 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By opening our doors, we open the heart of the Medina with its mysteries, its magnetism and its friendly hospitality. Riad Al Boraq will give you a genuine experience in the heart of the Medina just 15 minutes from the famous “Djamaa El Fna”, in the Sidi Bel Abbes' neighborhood which was one of the seven saints of Marrakech ...The pure Zen style of the riad combines with a friendly and professional service to ensure you a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Riad Alboraq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alboraq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.