We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine de L'Ourika

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Domaine de L'Ourika to your Saves list
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   km 9 route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #164 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Polegate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We got back from Le Domaine de L'Ourika on Saturday. And what a fantastic, relaxing time we had too. We went here for a 'mini moon' with plans to go to Cambodia at the end of the year.
On arrival we were made to feel very welcomed, and a tangible was cooked fresh for us so we had time to settle in before eating. There are about 10 two bed apartments around a beautiful swimming pool that was surrounded by luscious greenery.
It was a beautiful setting, and a very calm place to be. The food at breakfast and dinner was always amazing, the service was consistently friendly and accommodating. It was also my birthday while we were out there and the staff made a beautiful arrangement on the bed and even bought me a birthday cake. They made us feel really special.
The hotel is only a 20 minute drive from the centre of Marrakech and also only 20 minutes from the airport. But once you get to the hotel it feels like you are in the middle of nowhere, which was perfect for us!
This place was so calm, quiet, relaxing and such a beautiful place to be we would definitely go here again!

Room Tip: All rooms are around the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    23
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We went for our honeymoon in June- the apartment is lovely- yet sadly lacks ALL amnemities! No hair dryer, no spoons, no kettle, no plates , no glasses! NOTHING!

so although you get a fridge and a wonderful living space- any crockery needed to be borrowed from the kitchen- and it is a kitchen with a terrace, not a restaurant

- there were no menus, no prices available to view and if you did want your evening meal there (there is nothing in walking distance) then you had to give 4 HOURS notice in advance of what you wanted.

No alcohol - yet they would open your wine etc at the table if you asked and lend you a corkscrew which we found out after asking on day two.

I wouldnt agree with the family theme as if we had taken the girls they would have been bored senseless- as was the hubby as he doesn't read that much and there was nothing else to do- yes, it's touristy of us yet a table tennis table, a libary, or something would of helped.

It's very peaceful and the grounds are beautiful, clean and you do get sahampoo and body wash and clean sheets-

taxis were not taxis- they were Mehdi's pals and the price was always the same despite where you went, with no real arrangements made for picking up etc - yet I must admit they did come and find us at the supermarket when it was time to head back.

The most disappointing thing for us was the breakfast- on offer was 3 x different types of pancake, jam, honey or cheese spread- tea, coffee or oj.
THERE WAS NO FRUIT, NOTHING ELSE ON OFFER, EACH DAY WAS THE SAME OFFERING DIFFERENT WAYS- CARBS AND SUGAR. THAT WAS IT , NO HAMS , CHEESES, FRUITS OR DIFFERING JUICES. So stock up in your room - although dont forget you have no utensils , no cooker etc and anything you want has to be ordered well well in advance.

Overall dsiappointing and I do not feel the reviews I read gave a true insight in to the service you received.

Peaceful and clean- yet avaoid if you like to take a walk, grab a beer, play a game etc.

Room Tip: wifi available at the seating in the restaurant but not the rooms. no english tv .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We really enjoyed every seccond of our stay there! The place looks like a fairytale, the staff is very focussed and helpfull, the food is great if you like Moroccan food and you are 15min from marrakech.

Minor drawback: no alcohol in the hotel. But I would suggest you lunch at this hotel and at night you go out discovering the wonderful restaurants this city has to offfer

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herk-de-Stad, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The domaine was wonderfull to stay, when you come Back from a crowdy, busy day in the city, it is a place tot come home to.
You feel calme, it is very quit, there still is ambiance in the evening with a litlle music on the terras. the manager Hicham is excellent, we called him Monsieur ne pas de probleme!
His younger staff Co. Worker Medhi was also very politie, helpfull, friendly, they were allways at our service, whenever you want. They do their very best to make you feel welcome and chilled.
They are also very genereus! Thank you Guys.
Your security is granted by the large wall surroundings and large gates that can open from the inside only, on the outside only by the manager or staff.
One negatieve point is the cost of the taxi. The organisation from the domaine is great but because it's a litlle to far out of the center it Will cost you 150 dirham just to go and than again to come back. If you have a good realtion with other quest, you can split the cost.
We did with our British friends Nisha and Michael, thanks Guys we are greatfull!
Be carefull on There website says each room has a blowdryer but they don't, that 's a litlle uncomfortable and not pleasant.
The area around the domain is in full expansion, so Le Domain can grow furter in a even more positive way! good luck to domaine de L'ourika and Hicham en Medhi keep up the good job you Guys do!

Much love, Sandra and Moniek from Belgium

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have recently returned from our day at La Domaine, in terms of service from the staff is it 5 * but I thought it best to list positives and negatives for a balanced view.

The current owners have only been running the place for 6 months and I think they are still not what sure of their identity , it is neither a hotel or a boutique B & B.

The villas are all two bed and beautifully set around a central pool. Beds are comfortable and towels are provided but only one small bath towel each and one hand towel for whole villa. So they need took look at larger and more towels. Pool towels are available every day and they are huge. There are no hairdryers not a problem for me but can imagine it might be.

The villas has a kitchenette which consists of small sink and fridge however there is no crockery, cups knives forks or kettle. You can ask for some but I would suggest that if you are offering a kitchenette it should be equipped as there is a Carrerfour down the road and we stocked on basics for lunch/snack water etc.

The restauarant isnt really a restauarante there is no menu and no price list however we established that all drinks are 2e and all meals 12 e.

Breakfast is very basic and if you have a wheat allergy you are in trouble. Unlike the pictures on the website we didn't see any fruit all week. It is a selection of breads, fried pancaked things, Jam, honey, laughing cow cheese and butter. I would have liked to seen some melon, etc every day as an alternative.

Dinner is available in the evening you have to order at least two hours before hand as its all cooked fresh - the food is excellent a selection of Tagines and grilled meats but again a menu would be nice.

The service from all staff is fantasticv Mehrde who has only been there two weeks is a complete star and quite frankly made the holiday for us.

If you want to be on top of things this is not the place for you - you will need a taxi into the medina 150 dihrams in and 150 dihramns back 200 at night. If we were to go back we would probably stay in a Riad in town for 2/3 nights and then come out here for peace quiet relaxtion and trips into the mountians.

The hotel are yet to offer arranged excursions so you will need to book in town.

The taxi service was random and a couple of times they tried to rip us off so putting 4 of us in the taxi but trying to charge double fare (this is the taxi co not hotel). It would be better if the hotel had their own taxi and said it went into town at 10, 2, 4, 6 and back at 11, 3, 5, 7 etc as so many times we were all going in around the same time but in different taxis. Also the taxis from town actually dont know where the hotel is!!!!!!

Dont get me wrong this is a fantastic place to stay with wonderful staff they just need to get themselves better organised and lay out their stall so to speak

Also they dont take credit cards but there are plenty of ATMS in town.

The town is fab and will writ a different review. Would I stay there again definitely but only for a couple of nights .

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A complex of villa's in a beautiful walled garden with a pool at the centre. Each villa has two bedrooms, a shower room and a lovely large sitting room with patio doors out onto a terrace and access to the garden and pool. Our room was very comfortable and although its not brand new it was always spotlessly clean. The complex is a little way out of Marrakech so you will need to ask the owners to order you a taxi to get into the city. We used the same guy every day who spoke excellent English and we were able to call him on his mobile and he would come at get us with 30 minutes notice. It was lovely and quiet at night and the night sky was full of stars. The owners and staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful and we felt very welcome. The pool was fabulous and was always sparkling!! Breakfast was served on an outdoor covered terrace with views of the pool and garden and you could order other meals with a couple of hours notice. We ate twice at the complex and both meals were outstanding and excellent value for money. We loved our stay here and were sad to leave. The only thing that they could have improved was to provide hair dryers in the rooms. They didn't have any so we had to air dry for the few days we were there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Ten apartments surround the swimming pool and set in beautiful, gated gardens.
Apartments have two bedrooms,(one double, one twin), bathroom with shower, air conditioning, adequate wardrobe space and relaxing lounge. Kitchen area includes a fridge.
They are very clean as cleaned daily and towels provided for both personal and pool use daily.
Each apartment has private garden space with table and chairs, accessible from each room.
The staff are willing to assist in any way they can. Organising taxis, trips or room service and nothing appears to be too much trouble. (any concerns are addressed immediately)
Dining is al fresco, well prepared and nicely presented. (No alcohol served)
This was a relaxing location but near enough to the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine de L'Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Ourika

Address: km 9 route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Ourika 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden of Eden in the middle of one hundred year old olive and date palm trees with flourishing rosebuds and bougainvillea all year long. Le Domaine de l'Ourika creates a peaceful environment situated only a few kilometers from the exciting city center of Marrakech. The estate is extended around a lovely swimming pool and there are three villas that have been architecturally designed in a Moraccan style that has 10 suites to welcome and accommodate you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Ourika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine de L'Ourika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.