We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ma'ab

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ma'ab to your Saves list
Riad Ma'ab
23 Derb Chentouf, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer 2015 Special Rate
Ranked #143 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elm Grove, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We just returned after a week at Riad Ma'ab. So many wonderful memories to last a lifetime. The owners, John and Cindy, and their gracious staff catered to our every wish. The food was delicious and the accommodations were outstanding. The location couldn't be better! We took a cooking class along with a day trip to Essouria... and then there's the shopping.... and the hammam... and the barber shop... and the... on and on!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a lovely experience! Walk in the door, and you're in a quiet, enchanting open courtyard leading to spacious rooms, each with modern bathroom. So quiet all you hear is the burble of the fountain in the garden. Walk out the door, and you're steps from the hustle and bustle of the souks. There's a lovely roof top terrace. with great views, places for sun and shade, and tables to enjoy the freshly prepared breakfasts. The entire building is elegantly decorated and designed.The staff is professional, English/Berber/Arabic speaking and extremely gracious and helpful. We stayed here for ten days, exploring the medina, and also using it for a base to venture out to the surrounding sites. Manager Houssain Abaach graciously helped plan excursions to a traditional Berber village, with lunch with a local family; a trip to the coast, Fez, and onward.Taxis are 5 minutes away. The food is great, too. We would recommend this to travelers, business people, or anyone who wants to experience an oasis of peaceful beauty in a terrifically convenient location. Did we mention free airport pick up and drop off?

Room Tip: Ground floor room has a huge bathtub. There's another bathtub upstairs, too. Quite a luxury for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in September. Riad Ma'ab is a wonderful oasis in the heart of the Madina. The riad is beautiful, Houssain and the staff are excellent, and the setting is very comfortable. Breakfast on the terrace was delicious, and our lunch was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech. We climbed the falls at Ourika with Houssain, a memorable adventure. Riad Ma'ab was a great place to come home to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here in April for a few days, its so peaceful and relaxing, the rooms are decorated with local crafts. Great location to explore the souks. Breakfast is delicious and freshly prepared. Manager Hussein is a great asset and is so helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July and had a great time. Marrakech was quiet as it was off season so just ourselves in the Riad which was lovely. We were picked up for free from the bus station and airport as we ere coming from different places which was fantastic. The Riad is beautiful, really comfortablly decorated with gorgeous fabrics and spacious bedrooms. The roof terrace is gorgeous and a great place to take breakfast every day.
The main asset of this Riad is the manager Hussein who is really friendly, helpful and has brilliant English. From arranging a day trip with a drive for us, to advising us on taxi and shopping prices, he was great for information and a really friendly guy. The rest of the staff were really pleasant and ensured our stay was very relaxing. Location is really close to the souks and easy to walk to get a taxi also. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrizozo, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Riad Ma'ab has a great location within the medina in Marrakech, so you are entrenched in the vibrant life of the souks the moment you emerge each day. It is beautifully decorated in a traditional style with lots of local and regional flavor. Simple yet sublime. The riad is a peaceful oasis from which to begin (and end) your Marrakech experiences. The staff, and especially Houssain, are wonderful -- all questions answered, tours and cars arranged easily. We had them do one dinner for us during our stay and the food was marvelous. This is a perfect riad for a gathering of friends -- and, like the name implies, it is most certainly a place to which we hope to return. Highly recommend booking the entire riad for family and friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This Riad was highly recommended by both my daughter and nephew who stayed here a few years ago. It exceeded my high expectations!
It is located very near the square where you will experience the culture, excitement and craziness of inner Marrekech.
The riad is authentic and beautiful. It is comfortable, clean, spacious, and decorated with local lighting, rugs, blankets, etc. We enjoyed lovely breakfasts and dinner on the rooftop terrace.
John, Hussein and Senna went out of their way to make our stay exceptional.
Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#73 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#120 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Soundouss
Riad Soundouss
#48 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Chamali
Riad Chamali
#103 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#19 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ma'ab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ma'ab

Address: 23 Derb Chentouf, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English speaking B&B located in Riad Laarousse Medina Marrakech. Riad Ma’ab is a fully renovated riad in traditional Berber design and furnishing from local artisans. We have 4 bedrooms with private bathroom, two rooms with full bath and three with shower. We proudly use ecological cleaning products as much as we can and try hard to provide responsible low impact tourism. Raid Ma’ab is a place to which one returns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Ma'ab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ma'ab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.