We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect oasis in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ma'ab

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Ma'ab to your Saves list
Riad Ma'ab
23 Derb Chentouf, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect oasis in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner and I looked long and hard to find a Riad that would be our home for over a month while we were in Morocco.
We were very wary of staying anywhere for such a long period of time without having any prior knowledge of the property.
John (The Owner) made things very easy from the start and communicated quickly and effeciently to any of our queries. This along with the pictures and previous reviews convinced us to take the plunge and book Riad Maab for our extended stay.
We could not have made a better decision.
We are on a round the world tour and have visited many hotels, B&B's and lodgings throughout the world and nowhere have we felt as at home as here.
The property is sublime, a perfect roof terrace to eat the fantastic breakfasts on or just relax in the sun with a view of the Atlas mountains. The cool boule and salon in which to take a break from the sun and enjoy the great coffee always on offer. The bedrooms with large comfortable beds and nicely appointed bathrooms. It is situated a short walk from the main square through a friendly hassle free souk.
For us the biggest plus points are Houssain and Sana. Houssain is the Riad Manager and Sana the housekeeper. Houssain speaks perfect English and has a wealth of knowledge not only about Marrakech but the whole of Morocco. He is on hand at all times for whatever you may need but he has mastered the art of not being intrusive or bothering you when you just want to relax. He is in short the perfect host. Sana is always smiling and works very hard to keep everywhere in dusty Marrakech spotless. She is an excellent cook and the meals at the Riad were the best we ate in Marrakech.
I am sure anyone reading this can appreciate that over a month in one place could become tiresome and repetitive but not so here. Houssain's advice and guidance on places to visit and where to eat, shop and experience in Marrakech and beyond meant that we were always entertained and did not wish to leave this wonderful place.
We feel like this riad is a part of us and our travels now and I guarantee if you visit you will too. We will not hesitate to tell our friends and family about this special place and our time here will never be forgotten. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Any they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Just exactly what we needed in Marrakech, lovely building and all mod cons but also character. The staff really made our stay though, Hussein and Sana are really helpful. Oh and breakfast was carefully prepared.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I cannot say enough about Riad Ma'ab. Hussein was the most amazing host. So helpful and welcoming. The riad itself is such a beautiful and tranquil oasis in the middle of the chaotic medina. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, and clean. Even the breakfast on the terrace is delicious. I don't know how this riad is not #1 in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Been there in June, we were the only one in the raid and had a fantastic time! The raid is hard to find in he medina, make sure to ask that they pick you up at the edge of the medina or at the airport.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just returned from the most fantastic weekend at Riad Ma'ab. It exceeded all expectations. The Riad is beautiful and as soon as you step through that big wooden door you are in a different world. Our group had the whole place and we all felt as if it was our home for the weekend. The service was outstanding and it is definitely the manager, Hussein that makes this Riad stand out from the rest. He arranged a wonderful trip to the mountains and recommended and booked restaurants and also made sure that we got there and back safely. Nothing was too much trouble. It was wonderful to have this oasis of calm in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fashionflyer1
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We took over the whole place for a friends birthday and had the most fantastic time. From our airport collection we were spoilt non stop for 5 days. The place is beautiful and the hidden roof terrace is a great get away from the busy streets of the Medina. You'd never know you were in the centre of everything once you've closed the beautiful wooden front door.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

As a flight attendant, I have the ability to see much of this world. Recently, 2 of my colleagues and myself decided to visit Marrakesh. I researched many Riad's and decided on Riad Ma'ab, and am SO glad I did! The owner communicated in a very timely manner, the manager, Hussein was an ANGEL-fantastic person and extremely accommodating! Sana, made us some wonderful meals! The RIad is very clean and safe and reasonable. The only complaint I would make is the wine is $$ (for Marrakesh), about $18/bottle. Very tasty and they have it available for guests. A full breakfast is included as is transportaion from the airport. Can't wait to visit again! Thank you John, Hussein, and Sana! Shane :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ma'ab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ma'ab

Address: 23 Derb Chentouf, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English speaking B&B located in Riad Laarousse Medina Marrakech. Riad Ma’ab is a fully renovated riad in traditional Berber design and furnishing from local artisans. We have 4 bedrooms with private bathroom, two rooms with full bath and three with shower. We proudly use ecological cleaning products as much as we can and try hard to provide responsible low impact tourism. Raid Ma’ab is a place to which one returns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Ma'ab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ma'ab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.