We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa d'Akhdar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa d'Akhdar to your Saves list
Villa d'Akhdar
Secteur de Sidi Youssef Ben Ali, Cercle El Bour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a wonderful, relaxing and very private place to stay. Extremely comfortable and a great place to go with a few couples and or families or a romantic getaway for two. A great respite from the craziness of the Marrakesh Medina.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at the Domaine for 5 days this October. We were undecided as a family of 4 (teenage children) whether to go for a small boutique hotel in the Palmeraie (highly rated on this site) or for a Villa at Domaine Akhdar. Also, we knew we did not want to stay in Marrakech as was looking for peace and quiet. So, if you are also looking for quiet (only 30 mins from the Souk anyway) and a relaxing holiday....forget the hotel and come here.
I found some of the reviews useful but not detailed enough given the Domaine is an unusual arrangement so hopefully this helps.
DA is actually a private (walled with security as is often the case in Morocco) group of 20 beautiful villas all of which are owned by individuals (mostly Brits) who use them occasionally but rent them out most of the time. The management company is Sejour Maroc which runs a number of villas around Marrakech (mostly very grand) and key to the process is the fact that they are very good and have a manager, Philippe, on site. As a result, standards are quite high and the grounds, which include a number of Andalusian gardens, a tennis court, a common pool and a club house, are well looked after. As all villas are self-contained with a walled garden (very safe for kids) and a pool, the club house and main pool are often empty.
They will organise airport transfers (take this - it's difficult to find and all their drivers are authorised by Sejour) and day trips in the are if you want. There is also a free shuttle into town 4 times a day (we did not use it as we had no interest in it).
There is a small spa with a hammam which we tried once and it was ok, but clearly limited in scope. Staff very polite at all times.
Likes
The villas are very nice although they can differ slightly in shape and size. All have 3 ensuite bedrooms, a living room, dining room, kitchen and courtyards as well as the garden and pool. Simply furnished but very spacious and comfortable...think 2 hotel suites in 1..or better. The garden is well maintained as is the pool which we paid to have heated.
The villa is looked after by a maid/cook/attendant who is very discrete and will look after you most of the time. Ours was lovely (villa n. 6 so you know).
We paid for full board and it was a true feast. Breakfast is prepared on the terrace at a time of your choosing and includes a huge jug of freshly squeezed orange juice (the real thing not Tropicana) and various pancakes and pastries as well as eggs/omelettes. Lunch and dinner are served in the other courtyard or in the dining room and a lady-chef would turn up with fresh ingredients to cook something new every day. Huge portions and very nice indeed...petals and candles made the evening meal even more special. We hace been to Marrakech before and have tried several of its more famous restaurants....this was better.
No wifi in the villa but wifi in the club house. Perfect for a relaxing time. There is satellite tv with 50 odd channels including the truly appalling BBC World. Dvds are an option too.
Very clean throughout with lovely big bathrooms (although shower not great).
Full privacy at all times...no atmosphere perhaps as all residents stick to their villas but we were ok with that.
Very quiet...the occasional donkey and barking dog...not a problem at all
Dislikes
Hmmm....distance from the city if you are that way inclined i guess. Also, they only take €s so dont bother with dirhams if you are just staying here.

We had a really good time here and plan to return. Given the area is littered with half-finished developments, it's good DA can maintain such high standards. You keep your souk hotels...me i will always come back to this small marvel. We booked via Rob at Marrakech Villas in the Uk and he was helpful throughout. Thank you all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our villa was beautiful. The rooms were huge and great to have a big garden to relax in with our own pool. The housekeeper Karima was fantastic and really took care of us. the place was spotless and being away from the busy centre in Marrakech was brilliant as we got a chance to really relax in the gorgeous, private villa. The clubhouse had a spa where we had quite a few massages - sooo good! There was also transport to go into town everyday which was really handy and we hired a car for the day, which they arranged for us so that we could go to the atlas mountains and i'd definitely recommend that! I was really glad we went for the half board option, the food was delicious - loved the lemon chicken tagine - and having a chef to prepare the food for us in the villa was amazing!

This was a fab place to stay, we came away feeling really relaxed. all the staff were lovely and so i'd definitely recommend these villas.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed here with my partner, his partners and his sister and boyfriend for 4 nights prior to then staying in the Medina.

We stayed in villa number 18 - there are about 18 villas on the complex. It is about 5km outside of Marrakech and is very isolated - however for us that was part of the charm - we were going to be staying in the heart of the Medina after this, and really wanted a relaxing few days to catch up with everyone. I cannot comment on the trips offered by the villa - however am fairly certain that if you did not use one of the villa's drivers, then I suspect any other taxi driver would have problems finding the complex!.

The villa we stayed in was simply luxurious. It is beautifully designed and furnished, with elegance being the underpinning word througout. The gardens around the villa are beautiful. There is a very good proportioned pool, with part of it covered to protect from the sun. The sun loungers are very comfortable, with ample shade provided. The communal gardens are way above what I expected (frogs included!).

We chose the breakfast/dinner option which was more than adequate. Had some communication breakdowns in trying to organise dinners that everyone could eat, and this led to one disaster where the vegetarian couscous option was under the lamb tagine!!!. However apart from that, our other 3 dinners were excellent.

The villa doesn't provide wine - but can give you a phone number to a wine shop that will deliver, and they speak excellent English.

Only criticism was that the kitchen is not very well equipped. Given the money that has been spent on the rest of the villa, and the design of the other rooms, the kitchen is very basic. As we choose the option with the chef, it wasn't much of an inconvenience, but if I had wanted to cook substantive meals in the kitchen I would have expected more.

The wifi did not work - but Tomas, to his credit, provided us with a mobile internet USB drive (although connection was hit and miss).

Overall we found it an excellent location to relax, soak up the sun and be pampered.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We spent 5 days at villa #9 with some friends and had a great time. The villa has a luxurious atmosphere with comfortable accommodations. It is very well equiped with all you need and you have the option of requesting first class food served at the villa. The shuttle service to downtown Marrakech, including the medina and sorrounding areas, was very useful when our tour operator gave us time on our own. The place is very well designed, located in a secluded place that provides a quite environment to relax.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

What a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech - the contrast could not be greater! Just a few km out of town, but it felt like a million miles away. To actually get the chance to relax properly in your own ultra-private villa with lovely swimming pool and yet also take advantage of the various communal facilities as and when you wanted to was a rare opportunity indeed. We were there as a couple but I would strongly recommend these villas to anyone (couples, families, groups, wedding and other occasions) - other than those looking for noisy nightlife as it is somewhat (and thankfully) away from it all. We used the villa as a base to explore the region, and for that it is very well suited. There is excellent golf nearby, and either getting into the Marrakech markets or up to the mountains is easy from here. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

The turn off to the villas d'Akhdar (there are about 20 villas together) is about 5 miles from Marrakech centre. We were a bit surprised at first by the track from the road to the villas as it was bumpy 5 minute drive, but it quickly became a running joke & it kind of added to that 'exclusive & off-the-beaten-track' feeling.
When we arrived at the villas we were really impressed with the way they had been designed - all the villas each had a good privacy wall all the way round - but a communal feel to the area was retained.
Our villa was absolutely fabulous, with every day bringing another design feature that had just been noticed (more arches & curves than you can shake a stick at!) - all 3 bedrooms had en-suites and were furnished to a high standard. The gardens & pool were exceptional and very private (which meant we didn't have to worry too much about the noise our 2 children were making in the pool).
The villa comes with a housekeeper who made us breakfast every day (which was a small amount extra but well worth it). The management company also arranged for 4 or 5 meals to be cooked & served for us at the villa and, without exception, the food was excellent & plentiful.
We ventured into Marrakech a few times, which is a fascinating place. We also went to the waterpark (an afternoon's visit) and a drive upto Lands of Amanar (near Asni), which was similar to Go Ape - including the longest zip wire in Africa (350m at a speed of 40kms per hour - yikes) - my daughter loved it but as she is only 10 she still knows no fear (unlike her dad).
We also tried out the facilities at the villa's 'club house' - good massage & pedicure, a nice pool and a couple of games of tennis (when it cooled down in early evening).
Overall, the villa was outstanding, the development was exceptional and the service received from the housekeeper, the cook & the staff at the clubhouse was first class.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#114 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#152 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Akhdar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Akhdar

Address: Secteur de Sidi Youssef Ben Ali, Cercle El Bour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a very pleasant area, only few minutes from the two most beautiful Golf of Marrakesh, the Akhdar's Villas (Private Domain/Estate). Private swimming pool, TV LCD-DVD, Air conditioning, Clubhouse, Tennis court, ... Everything is ready for great holidays. Free shuttle for Marrakesh city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa d'Akhdar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa d'Akhdar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.